We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dirty Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The room smelled of hot grease. The furniture had a film of dust on it. The mirrors weren't clean. The pullout bed had sheets that had hair and lint on them. The next day after the maid came, the same problems existed. I had to call and ask for the sheets to be changed on the pull out bed.

The lobby tables in the bar area as well as the lounge (all glass) had a film on them from being wiped with a dirty wet towel.

The pool was a mess!!!!

Very disappointed and will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gibauer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,172 - 2,178 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

I am an SPG Platinum member and stayed here on points on a family vacation. For Platinum guests, the hotel parking rate is reduced from $38/day to $25/day (only $8 more than the lot across 16th street), and as an amenity, they waived my parking for the entire week. We also got club level room and (on Saturday when the lounge is closed) comp breakfast downstairs.

Overall value was not bad considering breakfast every day. The fitness center and pool need work; it's not that they are in disrepair, but they are neglected. As is much of the rest of the hotel. It needs an overall facelift. The Club Lounge was O.K. Breakfast in the a.m. was typical continental; happy hour hors d'ouevres were nothing special and drinks at the honor bar were outrageous. Service was good in the lounge and generally elsewhere in the hotel but as an example, when I wanted a gin & tonic, they had no ice out, no rocks or double old fashioned glasses, and no lime slices.

Realized 1/2 way through the stay that the Sheraton Society Hill is literally on the corner of the historic district; it's more points but we suspect we would have been better off booking there vs. here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

By far my best hotel stay I've ever had. The place was immaculate, beautiful and beds were so comfortable. The views from the room were awesome! But above all else, the staff was exceptional. Very very very helpful, with whatever I needed. Whether it was recommendations on where to eat to questions about parking, they were there to help and did so with a smile on their face. A special thank you to Crystal and Briana at the front desk. I honestly can't wait to go back to Philly just so I can stay at this hotel and plan on doing so for more than one night. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, whether for business or pleasure. If I would have paid double what I did pay, I'd still feel like I got a great deal. Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenenfueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

spent one night in this hotel. It was just OK.
The lady at the front desk was very friendly and the concierge was very nice and helpful with directions.
The hallways while not obviously dirty, had a used and dirty feel. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable, and the nice lady at the front desk gave us a room wtih a view of the art museum.
Parking was THIRTY EIGHT DOLLARS per night!
Internet was not included in the room
Breakfast buffet was nothing special, but had hot options at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The rooms look like they have been used by rugby teams for the past several years. Old, 70's decor with crummy TVs, stained carpeting and sheets.

Just plain worn out, needs an overhaul. Best considered as an overflow hotel when the better choices (Marriott, Meridian, Westin) are sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaybeMoreNextTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton on our vacation. The location was "safer" than normal (any where you stay in Philadelphia will have it's "dark" streets and homeless people. The hotel is near the Franklin Institue and Phil. Museum of Art. There is a subway (red link) a and a Philly Phlash stop (cheap public transport that shuttles to all major attractions - HIGHLY recomment), a half a mile away. We stayed in the deluxe standard room. It was average. Parking is expensive, so research parking garages close by for cheaper rates (we saw some for $10/day). All in all, the accomodations were OK, however I will note that I expected more because this is a Sheraton hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCNM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for the 4th of July and choose this hotel for its location near the party on the parkway. It's proximity to the festivities was great, but we missed a large portion of the activities since the hotel was not equipped to check in the large number of guests it had for the weekend. Along with many, many others, we waited in line for over an hour and a half to check in. Though it may be understandable to have a wait due to the holiday, I expected the hotel to be able to deal with the influx of guests since they knew how many people would be checking in and had even offered deals for the holiday weekend. When we finally arrived at our room, we found many of the bathroom fixtures to be falling off the wall. This included the shower head, as we found out the next morning, which was not functional at all. In addition to the problems in the bathroom, the hotel itself was quite noisy. Every time a shower turned on we heard the water. Before 7 in the morning, the cleaning staff began knocking on doors, which of course not only woke the occupants, but woke us, as well. All in all, not a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathrynschwartz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,411 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $119 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing