We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, loved walking to the beautiful parks in the morning!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed August 20, 2004

We often come to Philly to see a concert, play or just for a weekend away. We were a little apprehensive about the area, but once we got settled in and were able to walk around the city, we just loved the location. The place is updated, clean and the staff were very accommodating. We had breakfast at this hotel, and although it was somewhat pricy, it was terrific...we are planning on coming back for our quick getaway..

Thank JanetMarie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,482 - 2,488 of 2,735 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
16
Reviewed July 21, 2004

What a nightmare! The Wyndham Hotel at Franklin Plaza in downtown Philadelphia was the worst experience I’ve ever had in 20+ years of vacationing. We stayed during July 4th 2004 weekend. Here are just some of the things that happened:

§We took advantage of a “Buy one night, get one night free” offer from their website. Upon checking in, the counterperson had no knowledge of it.

§We reserved a King size bed but were given two doubles instead. The counterperson never acknowledged their mistake, he just rudely said “we’re full’.

§The internet offer stated we would receive free tour info, tickets, maps, CD etc., which we never received at check-in. After asking a mgr about it, she said it would be in our room within 30 mins. A day and half later still not there and never received it.

§Requested extra towels in room but never received them.

§Called the front desk to ask a question about the area. The female who answered was laughing loudly into the phone. When I asked my question she hung up. When I called back she gave me the information I asked for but didn’t apologize.

§Noise from the hallway kept us awake both nights.

§The hotel looks fancy on outside and in lobby, but rooms are aged, smell musty and have wallpaper/furnishings from the 70s.

§At checkout, we were double charged on our bill ($265 error). When I approached the person at the counter, he rudely interrupted, yelling we would have to wait in line behind 10 customers waiting to check in. After waiting in line, he turned out to be a mgr. He stated he took the charge off but didn’t apologize for their mistake.

§Of course, upon getting home and checking my credit card, the extra charge was still there. I called to ask for a mgr and ended up leaving a voicemail, no return call. I called back and spoke with another to no avail. Two days and 3 messages left later, the second mgr called back and sarcastically asked how could she help me and what was my name. She put me on hold and then the first mgr picks up begins to defensively argue that I didn’t have to call back, she had to research it. She said the charge would be taken off today, 3 weeks later. We’ll see if it is.

The hotel mgmt and people I spoke with on phone not only failed to correct their deficiencies, but were rude and unapologetic. I travel a lot and can tell you they have no clue what customer service is. They are a very diverse hotel… take from that what you will. The employees I interacted with were incompetent and uncaring. Definitely not worth the money. If you want a nice hotel downtown, try Embassy Suites or Four Seasons across the street.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Murphy, NC
441
Reviewed July 16, 2004

Absolutely fabulous!! Amazing stay!! All staff we encountered went out of their way to assist us. Bellmen, front desk clerks, everyone was really great. The room was great, the view was incredible. Even left us a complimentary bottle of chardonnay in our room. This place is a wonderful place to stay.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2004

My husband and I stayed here in June while he attended a conference that was held at the Wyndham. This hotel has a lot going for it:

1) Great location! It is a short walk to the PHLASH pickup on which you can ride around to all the "touristy" places with unlimited on/off privileges for $4.00 a day (or $1.00 for each ride, if you are using it less than 4 times). It is the best deal in town! If you prefer to walk, it is not a bad walk to the museums, restaurants and shopping. We flew in and didn't rent a car and that was the best decision we made. No need for one here, and the times that we did take a cab, they were very inexpensive compared to those in other cities we have visited.

2) Great front desk staff and concierge. Check in was a breeze. The staff members were attentive to their guests and really quite helpful. They stayed patient even when they were swamped.

3) Our room had a great view of the Center City area.

4) Great price.

And a lot going against it:

POOR ATTENTION TO DETAIL IN HOUSEKEEPING!!!

Our room smelled bad (I couldn't quite figure out what it was though). One of the pillowcases had makeup and mascara stains on it when we checked in. It didn't look like it had not been laundered, just that the stains didn't come out upon laundering and they just went ahead and used it anyways (we didn't!).

It was anyone's guess how many towels would be in the room in any given day. One day we arrived back in the room to only one towel, and that had a huge mascara stain on it. Another day, to no towels! In their defense, though, when I called housekeeping they immediately sent up a stack of clean towels on both occasions and even followed up with a phone call to make sure that we were satisfied with the response. (It was no longer than a 10 minute wait, probably closer to 5 minutes.)

I ordered a cup of coffee at the lobby lounge and it arrived with a lipstick stain. I had to wait 20 minutes before the waitress came back around to ask for a fresh cup, and another 10 minutes for it to arrive.

The room itself showed signs of wear, so I am sure that we were not in one of the renovated rooms. It didn't look "dirty", but there were things like coffee stains on the chair and carpet, etc.

We chose to not eat at any of the restaurants of the hotel, there are several other local places within walking distance, all with very good food.

To sum it up, I have to say that even though there were some problems, the hotel staff was very responsive to any complaints that we had, they did make things right for us, and in a reasonable time period. The bad thing is that these were all things that could be easily prevented with just a little more attenting to housekeeping procedures, they were the types of things that as a hotel guest you shouldn't have to "ask" for, especially not at a "Wyndham", and that made it disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sometimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
28195
Reviewed June 29, 2004

I can't understand the recent glowing reviews of this hotel--it makes me wonder. Front desk was nice, I asked for and received one of the renovated rooms on a high floor with a nice view. The renovation was poorly done--unattractive plum colored carpeting and uncomfortable easy chair. There were crumbs under the chair and many hairs around the sink. Although the view is nice, the windows are high, so you can only enjoy it when standing. Phone charges are the worst I've ever encountered-- 95 cents for local and 800#calls for 5 minutes only--after each 5 minutes you are charged another 95 cents. This makes connecting to the internet very expensive. Lobby and hallways are cold looking, unattractive, and uninviting. Although my 1 night stay was fine, I would not choose this hotel again--there are too many better hotels in Philly.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stuarts Draft, Va
11
Reviewed May 30, 2004

My family stayed at the Wyndham Franklin Plaza on May 27 and 28. Our room was spacious, newly refurbished, spotless and had a great view. All parts of the hotel that we saw were clean and well maintained. Although, the elevators were very busy, we experienced no long waits. The staff was friendly and helpful. I felt this hotel was very good value for cost and I would stay there again.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2004

The good: friendly staff in all areas, bellman was helpful, front desk went out of their way to enure a pleasant stay, concierge always pleasant and knew the answers, and some of the friendliest housekeeping staff ever. The Bad: average location several blocks from anything a leisure traveler may want to see. Also, video check-out did not work on a morning when there were large group movements in and out of the hotel. The Ugly: the rooms were bland, depressing and generally dirty (guess that's why the housekeeper was so friendly - to compensate). But all in all, the price was substantially lower than other center city hotels and ultimately you get what you pay for!

Thank Ryan.W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing