We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Location is great! Rooms have nice view of the city! Being an Spg member I was upgraded to the lounge club, not great selection of things but it is a pleasant place to meet someone.

Reception staff is professional and helpful! Cabs outside the hotel do take you out for a spin if you don't know your way around. Over all a good property

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarlok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Tarlok M,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and certainly look forward to addressing your feedback on the club lounge. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location is a little on the outskirts of downtown however it is ideally located for those who have no problems with walking more than 8-10 blocks. Balancing the location is it's very convenient to route 676, easy on - easy off. You can easily access the museums, historic areas and good dining choices. My 6th floor room nice overall but the carpets need to be replaced and my bedding had what appeared to be food stains that did not get laundered out. I was there for a seminar and the hotel facilities were very good, ranging from courteous valet parking attendants, clean elevators, friendly front desk staff and the foyer is bright and airy. Regarding the parking fees, it's in line with the rest of the city. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justvisiting_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear justvisiting_9,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and extremely nice staff. You certainly highlighted a few cleanliness areas for us to look into and we look forward to making any necessary improvements. We look forward to connect with you soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked this room for a special occasion on a random Wednesday in may. The room was $200 for a standard room. I then called explaining it was a special occasion only upon check in for them to book me in a double bed room for a special accommodation for my boyfriend and I. I would've thought that after explaining the situation they would remedy it yet I was confronted with hostility.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Alexis K,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You certainly didn't experience a stay that is to our normal standards. I would like an opportunity to discuss further with you - I invite you to please connect with me at jennifer.tang@sheratonphiladelphiadowntown.com

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a three day conference and can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff is from the moment our taxi pulled up to the time of our departure. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. It was wonderful to be able to walk out the door and venture to many sights on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Luann D

Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are delighted your had such a great stay - we can always count on our team to make our guests more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Best thing about this hotel is it's location, and the staff are very nice. After that - you get what you pay for. Sheraton needs to make a significant investment to this property. The parking garage - dirty and poorly marked. Don't put your bag on the ground when you get it out of the trunk. Check in - took more than a half hour to get through the line and then there was a line to get on the elevator so about an hour from the time you get into the garage to get to your room. Lobby area is nice and was probably an architectural first in its day. Gym has been recently renovated, and was amazing for a city hotel. We paid to be moved to a higher floor, with a free breakfast. The view was great - looked at the Museum of Art, fountains etc. The breakfast was one of the worse I've had and the breakfast area was just dirty. Best thing there is the coffee - but you can get buy Starbucks in the lobby. Rooms, hallways, and elevators are tired and worn - from the carpet to the wall paper to the furniture - scratched, pealing etc. Rooms are fairly large for a city hotel, bathrooms pretty standard. Price was very reasonable for a city hotel at about $150 (that includes the upgrade to the higher floor). So as I said at the beginning - you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for a room looking at the Phil Museum or Art. You can hum the Rocky theme while loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Kathy I,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in our restaurant. We will certainly share your feedback with our Food and Beverage team. The hotel will begin renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few months and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope you give us another chance if you return to Philadelphia in the future.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had an average experience. Rooms need renovation. Room service was slow. Food was average. Staff was responsive to carry out required changes in the room. Did not have a good experience when trying to reach room service/guest services on the phone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Dinesh9702,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on you in-room dining experience. We look forward to using your feedback to address any deficiencies. We hope that you give us another chance if you return to our city.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend and had a great experience. Mary Mastrobuoni is a concierge at this hotel and went above and beyond to ensure all of our needs were met. From setting up a car service, to coordinating a crib for our son in the room, and making dinner reservations, she was outstanding and very helpful. Also, the restaurant staff was very friendly and the head of security was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Tarah S,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! Mary is truly one of our superstars and we'll be sure to recognize her for her efforts! We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,425 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $117 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing