We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here with some girlfriends - we were having a night out in the city and they had a good rate. The lobby is nice and re-done. Hotel staff is helpful. The room seems old and smelled like smoke. Beds were ok, bathrooms small. Shower head was horrible. Not Sheraton quality I was expecting. Others were having a party in a room across the way which kept me up and smelled like more smoke! Nothing amazing but would stay again when I need to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travelw2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Luv2Travelw2boys,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you found the team helpful but dissapointed in some of the room issues you mentioned. We look forward to using your feedback to make improvements. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Hotel Lobby / Restaurant was under construction when we were there so it was kinda not nice as a big part of the Lobby was covered. Had to change rooms because the door to my suite wont lock. Breakfast was so so. The location was right across a Cathedral so it was quiet. Nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Ems_501,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We took advantage of a special rate offering and stayed in this hotel several days between the recent holidays. We were given a large room on a high floor with a lovely view over the city. The beds were quite comfortable and the bathroom clean with plenty of hot water but just basic in design. There is a city parking garage across the street which is convenient and offers some savings over the hotel parking. The very high extra charge for internet connection is, as others have noted, ridiculous.

Room Tip: High up, looking toward the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Veronica B,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We're delighted you had such a great stay and can't wait to share your feedback with the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I must have had a much different experience than the other reviewers. My stay was pretty good. The check-in was seamless and quick and the room was nice and clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable too.

The showers seemed fine to me, but then again I don't expect the massage therapy shower heads when I travel unless I'm staying at a top rated hotel. This hotel was by far the cheapest in the downtown area by far and

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquidmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear liquidmj,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We're so glad we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our shower had no hot water. It took over an hour to get that repaired. The numbers on the phone to call to the front desk did not work. The internet connection was ridiculously expensive and did not deliver the speeds they promised. Stay elsewhere. The DoubleTree is pretty good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Acgnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Acgnyc,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. You certainly highlighted a few areas for us to look into and we look forward to making any necessary improvements. We hope we have another chance to host you in Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first time during a conference in Philadelphia. Parking in the below ground lot was pretty easy with well marked signs to get to the lobby. The lobby area is breathtaking. Check in was easy but was disappointed to learn that Wi-Fi is extra - you'd think with as much as the rooms cost and the upscale nature of the hotel that Wi-Fi would be a must, considering many professionals stay here. Our room was fine - clean and comfortable. Concierge was fantastic. They gave us advice as to how to get to a tour we had scheduled and called us in a taxi. They were also very knowledgeable about local restaurants and gave good directions. My husband loved both the morning and dinner buffets in their own on-site restaurant, other both were near $20 per meal. We had to leave the premises for lunch, as not much to offer during this time of day. My conference rooms were clean and well lit. The staff was friendly too. I'd give more than 4 stars if it weren't for the lack of free Wi-Fi. When we travel, we expect free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: If you go for a conference or during a busy season, ask to have a lower floor. It took forever for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCStover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear JCStover,

Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad that you had such a great stay! We do have complimentary Wi-Fi available in the lobby as well as at the Link@Sheraton, and apologize if that was not sufficient for your needs. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to connect with you soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would just like to just say the customer service from your Security team and the Concierge front desk were excellent. Doing my stay at your Sheraton I found someone's wallet from out of town, I returned the wallet to the Security Supervisor on duty, who made sure it was returned to the out of country visitor. Also doing this time this security supervisor was pulling an double shift. But he was friendly and even with all that was going on, he made sure the wallet was returned to the happy young man. As a Director of training in Customer Service, this is the first thing I always looked for in team player. On the other hand the front desk team for the day shift, they did everything correct, they just need to smile more.

Room Tip: Park across the street if you can It's cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear CDT22,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad that our team was able to positively impact your stay. We'll certainly address your smiling comment, we are generally all smiles! We hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $111 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing