We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel location is within central Philly and nearby many items of interest. Cleanliness of hotel room was very question - hair in shower, stained carpets, etc.. Hotel beds were extremely comfortable. Gym was clean and had 24 access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear RoadRunner1515,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our central location, Sheraton Fitness and our Sheraton Sweetsleeper beds. We are dissapointed you had any cleanliness issues and look forward to using your feedback to address them. We hope to see you again if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    791
    598
    294
    218
See reviews for
449
500
135
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a great time! Friendly, courteous greetings at check-in (thumbs up Dean for welcome and throughout stay) followed by wonderful room, suggestion to get discount coupon from concierge for dinner, good breakfast, and easy in and out parking. We plan on coming back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear D A,

Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and look forward to congratulating Dean for making an impact. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedan, France
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable. I'd like to mention in particular a young man, Dean Griffin, at the front desk, who was very friendly. He helped me find what I expected, with a deep sense of humor and efficacity. Thanks to him, my stay at the hotel was very pleasant. Please tell him.

Room Tip: The view from the 19th over the cathedral was splendid and the elevators very fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Bernard H,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! As you can see from many other reviews, Dean is one of our best, and we look forward to recognizing him for making sure your stay was great. We hope to see you next time you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stella from starbucks counter, Mary from the concierge and Dean from the check in/out area are the kind of people you want to deal with when staying in a hotel. They are nice, attentive and very profissional. We want to thank them for making our stay at Sheraton a much nicer one.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Eduardo P,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are thrilled you had such a pleasant stay and look forward to recognizing Stella, Mary and Dean. We can't wait to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hallways leading to the rooms are very different from the lobby area. The lobby is a typical Sheraton experienced - nice and clean. Once the elevator doors close, it's another story. The carpet is not only dirty, but needs to be vacuumed - seems simple enough. The wallpaper down the halls is in disrepair with scratches and holes all over the place. The doors along the hallways are also badly scratched I travel once to three times a month and this is a new one for me - smelly and dirty experience!

The service was fine and the rooms were just okay. The water nozzle was difficult to turn off to the shower and the water was barely warm. The prices for the food are outlandish compared to other similar hotels as the food here is of minimal quality.

I typically do not rate experiences unless they are great or really bad. You know where this one is on the scale. A lot of times I'm not sure what reviews to follow; perhaps people are just being extra critical or... Believe me, this is not the case. I feel like I'm staying in a tenement building.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Veda G,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are dissapointed that you did not find your accomodations clean, as cleanliness is certainly one of our top priorities. We certainly look forward to using your feedback to make any necessary improvements. We hope you give us another chance if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Got in after a stressful drive from Boston but my day was completely turned around by the exceptional service here at the Sheraton Downtown. Dean at the front desk was extremely helpful and personable, both in terms of managing the reservation and making sure things were taken care of down to the last detail. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Philly, and if you can ask for Dean!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear David T,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to note our exceptional service, that is certainly our priority. Dean is truly a shining star on our team and we can't wait to recognize him. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family of 8 arrived last Saturday morning without the reservations we needed for lunch and dinners. Long story why, but in any event Concierge Mary Mastrobuoni stepped in with her outstanding and friendly help to immediately assist us. When I called one well known restaurant in Philly, the staff informed me they were "sold out." However, when Mary stepped in when had an immediate reservation, and when we showed up at the restaurant, the Manager of the restaurant came and greeted our family and we were immediately seated (although a line when clear outside on the sidewalk). Mary has the knowledge and skills and connections at the Sheraton downtown Philly to really make your trip a great occasion. Thanks Mary Mastrobuoni

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jeff J,

Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are so glad that Mary was able to help you enjoy Philadelphia. She helps lead the best concierge team in the city, and we know how fortunate we are to have her on our team. We look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing