We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Sheraton Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel itself is well located and convenient to be reached. The rest is an average experience. The staff is correct but far from "Sheraton friendly". The lobby is a nightmare. It's huge, it's windy, it's "cold". We tried to have a drink or dinner at the restaurant but first of all nobody was interested into us as a customer and secondly it felt like the wind was blowing through the hall and restaurant. The rooms of course are OK, spacious, clean and typical american style. Depending on the floor and which side your room is located, you might have a view. If not then you might look to the highway or to the neighboring house and the aircon outlets with all the noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Horst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear 2Horst2,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are dissapointed that you found your stay average, we certainly strive to provide an experience that exceeds our guests' expectations. We hope that you will give us another chance if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed on recent business trip, chose Sheraton based on very reasonable price for downtown Philadelphia and for it's proximity to meetings elsewhere downtown. OK but underwhelming. Building is typical 70s slab, fortress-like and a bit hard to get into. Lobby is not too bad, but otherwise the hotel is very dated. Rooms and upstairs common areas were pretty beat up, I'd say the hotel is due for an overhaul.

Upside - Desk team was super nice, friendly, helpful. Put me in a big room with a nice view. Downside -- room wasn't super clean (trash in cans when I checked in, bedspread had some concerning stains on it). A/C was super loud, ended up having to turn it off at night so it wouldn't wake me up when it clicked on. No hand soap in the bathroom. I will be fair -- I didn't complain about any of the issues, so front desk may have been fully capable of addressing them.

Overall -- workable, decent location (though in kind of a dead area, but a short walk to City Hall and to transit), but wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get up high, hotel has nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear PlannerGeek,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We hope that you will enjoy the new multi-million dollar renovation we are finishing shortly. We are glad you found our staff friendly, but are dissapointed that you had any issues in your room. We will certainly use your feedback to address them. We hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Whenever I visit Philadelphia, I always stay here. It helps that I have gold status to get access to the upper floors, but I wish that the rooms were more updated. The wear and tear shows in the rooms and along the hallway.
I still like the location as it is close to the parkway and center city.

One tip - I usually bypass the indoor parking lot for street parking since it is free after 6 pm and on Sunday.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear T W,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad that we are your home away from home in Philadelphia. We will certainly look into any issues regarding wear in the hallway. We hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was a great hotel for our first two nights in Philadelphia. Many historical landmarks are within walking distance and the hotel staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions/maps to wherever we wanted to go. We couldn't beat the view and the room was big with a very comfortable bed. Another thing, the building is tall so it is easy to orient yourself when walking around. We would stay here again even though the parking is $38 for week nights and $20 for weekends. The birth year rate is a great deal. Become a rewards member. It helps to get a better view. Check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Lynn S,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are thrilled you had such a great stay and enjoyed our beatiful views. We cannot wait to connect with you when you return to Philadelphia!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The condition of the hotel does not live up to what is portrayed in the photos. It seems old and a little run down. We ate in the lobby bar and that was a pleasurable experience. The room itself is decent but the best part of the stay by far was the service we received by the staff. The check-in experience with Shakeera was excellent. She was extremely helpful, friendly and polite. She went above and beyond to make our first impression very favorable. This was followed, however, by a not so favorable experience. We were assigned a room that had a strong odor of cigarette smoke. This was promptly remedied thanks to the bell hop. In our newly assigned room we had difficulty with the phone handset and the tv remote control, both of which were not functional. Engineering was called and both items were fixed. Although we had some challenges, overall the staff was very helpful and friendly!!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Steve C,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad that you found the team to be so helpful and accomodating. We are dissapointed that you experienced the issues mentioned, but look forward to using your feedback to address them. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a long day on the road, I pulled into the hotel. Right off the bat I was made to feel most welcome by front desk clerk Dean Griffin. His friendly demeanor set the tone for my short but excellent stay. Convenient self parking, efficient elevators, spotless room, excellent wireless, quiet. Not an especially glamorous hotel, but that's not really high on my priority list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenoftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear queenoftheroad,

Thank you for your outstanding review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! Thank you for mentioning all of the great things about our property, we certainly agree! We are so pleased you took the time to mention Dean, he is one of our brightest stars! We hope to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had an amazing experience at the Sheraton for the week. Had breakfast and a free drink every night bc of my corporate rate and the staff was always so nice. I had to add a day onto my reservation and it wasnt available on line so I went to the front desk and it wasn't available there either. The next day as I walked by, Dean Griffin, at the front desk recognized me and pulled me over to show me that a room became available. Very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rzg2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear rzg2102,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are so glad that you had such an excellent experience. Thank you for recognizing Dean, as you can see from many other reviews he is one of our absolute best. We look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing