We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have now stayed twice at the Sheraton downtown hotel. Our daughter is a junior at Penn and we come out for parents weekend. We could choose another closer hotel but we come back to the Sheraton due to their great staff. First of all, the concierge Mary Mastrobuoni, is one of the main reasons we return. Mary makes us feel as if we are family!!! She is truly blessed with an warm engaging personality!!!! I do not believe I have ever met someone that upbeat before.
She is truly a treasure at the Sheraton.. Well worth staying there just for her ... Also, Ed, a waiter at the restaurant (breakfast) is great!!!! What a personality!!! Speaks Russian/Ukrainain and is fantastic with his customers.. There are others but unfortunately, do not know there names. Keep up the great work Sheraton, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear shoden,

Thank you for your excellent review on the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are thrilled our staff is what keeps you coming back to visit; these kind reviews are very encouraging for them! Thank you for singling out Mary and Ed, we'll be sure to recognize them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I were in Philly for Penn's Parents Weekend and returned to the Sheraton Downtown. Our stay at the hotel was excellent as it has been in the past. My family arrived before we did and had request two rooms on the same floor, which the front desk staff was glad to accommodate. Thank you, that meant alot to us.

Mary Mastrobuoni was right there at the concierge desk to welcome us when we arrived with her usual smile and excitement to see us. Mary did an outstanding job in arranging our sightseeing plans and always inquired how we enjoyed our experience. For dinner plans, Mary always recommodended great restaurants that we enjoyed thoroughly.

Thanks for helping to make our visit to Philly wonderful, as always!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Lisa P,

Thank you for your wonderful review on the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are so delighted that our front desk staff and Mary were able to provide you such a memorable experience. We look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dean Griffin at the front desk was very accomodating! I was celebrating a birthday and he made sure it was a great stay. The "but" part is for me getting sick due to the air conditioner. The hotel does not have a hot tub even though the fitness center is impressive. WiFi is not free. The hotel book with info was hard to find. The room phone didn't work. Much desired for the price.

Room Tip: The building is a rectangle so one side of the building has rooms with spectacular views and the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear C C,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced at our hotel. We do charge for wireless access in the guest rooms in order to keep prices low for those who would not use it. However, we do have packages that include internet and also have alternative options, such as the free Link @ Sheraton. We are glad that you had great interactions with our team!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My company booked about 8 rooms here for a recent meeting. Not enough for a "group" but Alyssa in the group sales department was super nice and helpful. We all enjoyed a comfortable stay. The fitness center is great - spacious and a lot of cardio and other equipment. There is an indoor pool as well. Rooms are on the older side, but clean. A few said the AC unit was loud.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear smep013,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and our staff. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

So let me get the bad out of the way. I stayed here three nights on a business trip. The rooms need some major updating however the beds are comfortable. The Club Lounge for elite members is terrible. In the evening they don't offer you a beer or wine, you have to specifically ask for it. The breakfast was boring and the exact same thing every day. The eggs have nothing to go with them. Kinda weird.
On another note the customer service from the staff was great. Front desk with Avril and Abbey was awesome. The excellent attention from Mary Mastrobuoni was great. She in particular went above and beyond for me. The staff is the only reason I would return. Great job.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear MIAcubby,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Thank you for recognizing our team members, it looks like they saved us in this case. We certainly value your feedback on the Sheraton Club and look forward to addressing your concerns. We hope to see you again next time you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just checked in after a long day. It was so nice to have Shakera take care of me. She is so knowledgeable and very helpful. Above all she was NICE! And a great smile like hers goes a long way to making us road weary travelers feel good!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank johninwhiteplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear johninwhiteplains,

Thank you for your great Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are so pleased you took the time to recognize Shakera, she is one of our finest! We look forward to connecting with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our group of 18 stayed here last weekend for the Susan G. Kolmen 3-Day Walk. Our visit had a lot of moving parts, with folks checking in and out at different times. The staff, updated facilities, and location made our experience VERY enjoyable. There are great views onto Logan Circle, a nice Club and Fitness Center, and the Sweet Sleeper beds. It's a shame the restaurant has shuttered, but we had a nice dinner in the lobby lounge. The front desk, bellmen, concierge, housekeeping, waitresses, and maintenance folks all were extremely friendly and helpful. I recommend this facility highly!

Room Tip: Get a room facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear mcbtraveler,

Thank you for your stellar review on the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations in all of the areas mentioned. We can't wait to connect with you the next time you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing