We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. It was convenient to downtown attractions, restaurants. The room was very nice and large. It was very comfortable The staff was professional and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sam B,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad that you had such a great stay. Thank you for pointing out many of the factors that make us a wonderful selection in Philadelphia. We hope to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

love this hotel! Walking distance to the city center, nice staff (especially Shakera!) that makes you feel at home. Large rooms, nice and clean. Big TV and good Wi-Fi reception, which is critical if you're on business travel.
I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Tom V,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! On top of the great location and amenities you mentioned, we are also very proud to have a wonderful staff. Thank you for recognizing Shakera, she is one of our finest team members. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room in the Sheraton was extremely clean and spacious. It is within walking distance from many restaurants and shops. On weekends the hotel parking lot fee was $20 with in/out privileges. The only downfalls of the hotel are the lack of a mini fridge in the room and the fee to use the hotel wifi. Despite these minor issues, I would definitely stay here again as it was well worth the price.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Vincent S,

Thank you for your review on the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad that you were so happy overall. We do offer free internet options in the lobby as well as at The Link @ Sheraton. We hope to see you again soon if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel, we were a bit wary but were pleasantly surprised. Pluses are that the room was clean and comfortable, and the location is pretty good. Minuses are that the carpet in the hallway outside our room was filthy, which doesn't give a good first impression. Also, there is no free internet and parking at the hotel is really expensive. But, we found a city parking garage about a block away with parking for half the price, so I would recommend that if you drive to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Katie W,

Thank you for your review on our hotel! We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the corridor; we pay close attention to our hallways to ensure these high traffic areas stay tidy and clean, but obviously didn't do a great job in this case. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Internet not included, uncomfy bed, put a couple in a room with 2 double beds, so a bit uncomfortable with not much room. Nice view of the Cathedral, central to nearly everything. Didn't feel like it was worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sara H,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our spectacular views, but are also dissapointed that we didn't fully meet your expectations. We hope to have another chance if you ever return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a frequent business traveller and have stayed at the Sheraton in Downtown Philadelphia several times. Though the rooms aren't anything to write home about, the service is topnotch and is a true value for its prime location in downtown.

And though I don't usually feel compelled to write a hotel review - having stayed at hundreds of hotels in my lifetime - I was very impressed with the service I got from Sheraton front desk employee Dean Griffin. The first room we booked had a slight cigarette odor. I went to the front desk and Dean was amazing and so friendly! Despite the fact that the hotel was booked solid due to an NFL footbal game, he was very accomodating and bent over backwards to help me find a new room. It's difficult to impress a road warrior like me but Dean did! He truly made my hotel stay with Sheraton memorable! Will definitely be staying hear again the next time I'm in Philly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanMessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear LanMessam,

Thank you for your wonderful review on the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! As you can see from many other reviews, other travellers share your sentiments on Dean and the rest of our staff. We look forward to recognizing Dean and inspiring the team with your review. Although our hotel is 100% smoke-free, we unfortunately do have occasional violators, and we are glad that Dean was able to resolve your temporary inconvenience. We can't wait to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I understand that being in the city things will be a little more expensive which it was almost $200 for a room with a queen bed. The carpet was dirty and needed stretching. The shower head leaked. Besides that I had to pay $38 for overnight parking. In order to internet service, you had to pay for a package. I can't believe that with the money paid that it would not be free. I was overall disappointed with this stay and will not stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watsonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear watsonma,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. The condition issues you mentioned certainly aren't normal occurrences, and we look forward to using your feedback to address them. We also apologize if the charges for parking and internet were unexpected; we do charge for the amenities in order to keep our room charges as low as possible for those who may not choose to use them. We hope that you consider staying with us again if you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $115 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing