We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay over the Fourth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay over the Fourth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 4 Nights at this Sheraton, and was very impressed with the location. Walking distance to Rittenhouse Square area, with ample dining option. $6 cab to Historic District. Hotel ballrooms are under renovations, but noise was minimal, and didn't impact stay at all. Staff were helpful and courteous, accommodating our request to have adjoining rooms. Pool went from dead to busy to stiffling. Didn't use the workout room, but it looked very modern and clean.

Nice bonus on last night was the view of the Art Museum, and the Fourth of July fireworks, from our room. Saved having to compete for space with a hundred thousand friends on the Parkway.

Room Tip: High room overlooking Art Gallery will present you with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey_Von_Schnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    772
    582
    289
    214
See reviews for
437
490
131
905
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I only stayed in the hotel for one night - so I don't have much to comment on. But I did use the Concierge, and Mary Mastrobuoni was a phenomenal help! I just wanted to give her a shout out b/c I really appreciate her help in the midst of not having a phone charged, needing to store my luggage, having to book bus tickets and grabbing a bite to eat nearby. Thanks Mary!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_S60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

From the check in, I had a bad feeling about my 5 night stay. The extremely slow pace at the front desk was only matched by their indifference. The manager, who sauntered through periodically to interrupt, and delay any progress being made led the wore the same scowl, every time I saw him. There was NEVER a time, day or night, that someone wasn't waiting at the front desk with an issue.
The rooms were as tired as they were dirty. I now know why they hype the views of the city from many of the high floors. It's to keep you from looking at the rooms.
The staff, housekeeping, and bellmen must take their cues from the front desk as the attitude is just awful. It's like watching zombies work. It was obvious that, save for a couple of folks, no one wanted to work there. My co workers best described it as feeling like we were in an old age home, and not one of the nice ones.
Can't wait to not stay there again

Room Tip: tip would be to stay in a room that overlooks this hotel from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Check_Please123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Highlights: Room is clean and bed is nice, location is close to meetings I have tomorrow. On the downside...no real restaurants in walking distance, the lobby restaurant is under rennovation, common areas are beyond a bit tired. Check in service was poor, at best. For single travellers I would for sure not exit the hotel after dark, likely you would not feel comfortable alone outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: minimal views, i would say be above floor 10 to have any view, lower floors may have obscured views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and am in the U.S. Navy. I have frequented many Sheraton Hotels and this was by far the worst experience. The hotel was undergoing renovations and most of the elevators were in-operational therefore forcing most guests to use the stairs. This is quite a feat with luggage. The breakfast buffet featured hard pancakes, rubbery sausage, and cold scrambled eggs. I checked out and received a printed and emailed invoice. Upon my return I discovered I had been double charged for my stay. I have called the hotel over 20 times and have left several messages with the front desk. I was hung up on 6 times and "disconnected" 4 times. My credit charges have not been refunded. I have 2 invoices that were emailed to me that reflect my correct charges and the extra night charge and additional parking charge. This has been my worst experience with customer service at any hotel, in any city, and any country. I was so dissatisfied that I will endeavor to post my remarks on Trip Advisor, Expedia, Booking, Hotels, Yahoo, Facebook, and Google Plus.

Room Tip: Be wary of staying in higher floors, the elevators are not always operational and you will have to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a coworker and I was disappointed in the lack of cleanliness standards of this hotel. Both my coworker and I requested new room immediately (the only reason this is a 2 and not a 1 overall) after walking into our rooms. Between the two of us there were multiple stains (of Lord knows what) on the walls and carpet. There was a section of about 6 feet of carpet in my coworkers room that was visibly coming up off the floor, her comforter had a grease stain like it had gotten stuck in a bicycle chain, my bed looked like it had been made up by a 5 year old, and smelled like smoke. The rooms we were moved to were better but not as far as what I have come to expect from Sheraton and in particular from being a Starwood member. On my last day after the room had been "made up" by the staff I found two dirty bath towels (not mine - I never used that particular size towel) that reeked left on the too desk and chair. How does that happen? It happens by a staff who doesn't care - that's how.

Disappointing stay at a tired hotel with in an unengaged staff. I will not be stayin here again and I would advise you not to as well. Starwood/Sheraton you can do better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Living in Jersey City, NJ we were forced to evacuate the day after Hurricane Sandy. Given the large number of people displaced by the storm, we were late in the game as our neighborhood was evacuated more than 24 hours after the storm.

The Sheraton was gracious in not only accepting us, but our two dogs that also needed to travel with us.

We truly had a remarkable experience here, not only was it great to have a warm place with hot water and my whole family could be together but it also provided us the opportunity to really have a stay-cation of sorts and casually stroll Philly during the day and night.

Our unfortunate situation turned into a pleasure because of the Sheraton and their high level of attention provided us. They were very gracious about extending our stay (and discounted rate) as we needed until our neighborhood was available to us again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing