We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shawn Zenzer, Club Lounge Concierge - Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Shawn really made us feel welcome. He spent time explaining where things were located in relation to the hotel and where to go when. This was especially helpful as it was a snowy day and I live in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elzhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed those snow flurries. Shawn is a great ambassador to our property. He genuinely cares about each and every guest that he encounters. In the spirit of hospitality, thank you.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,627)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 2,627 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came up from Baltimore for the night for a Flyers game and dinner. I got a great rate on priceline for the room. We checked in after the game...around 4:15PM. I was shocked at the size of the check-in line, but it moved quickly and we were settled in our room within half an hour. Check-in was very friendly. The desk clerk provided a room with a great view after learning it was my birthday. (see pictures)
Yes, the elevators are slow. Very slow. We were on the 18th floor and didn't do too much up/down while we were there, but I'd imagine it could get frustrating on the lower floors as the elevators would fill up quickly. The room was a nice size and comfortable. In-room Starbucks was a great touch.
We parked in a garage across the street for $5 instead of at the hotel.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating....I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGirlinBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you had an amazing birthday. Our Guest Service agent must have given you a room that had a west view. That view overlooks Logan Square, which is surrounded by several museums in the Philly area. Our elevators are a work in progress. We are currently in the process of renovating each and every guest elevator. Some are already in service. I always like to recommend the Philly Overnight Package. That rate includes complementary parking with the rate. We hope you are able to join us again soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here overnight after coming to Philly for a concert at the Electric Factory. The hotel is in a great location, close to shopping, and restaurants. It was a $5-$7 cab ride to the concert venue and 30th street station (Amtrak) The rooms were a nice size, had a 2 double bed room. The furnishings are up-to-date the room comfortable and basic. The restaurant in the hotel had great food. Paid $109 for the night and that was a great value. We ordered room service they were fast and the food was good. They even called up after we received our order to make sure we received everything we ordered and that all was well. Great customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit. We hope you will make us your preferred hotel when traveling to Philadelphia. In the spirit of hospitality, thank you for staying with us.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms at the City Center Sheraton were large, but a bit tired and the lobby could definitely do with a makeover. The breakfast selection was ok and the volume made up for, what in my mind was the average quality of the food on offer.

If your budget will extend the extra $80 go for the Philadelphia Four Seasons, for a much more luxurious experience, which, in my mind is worth the extra cost.

As a low/mid end conference venue I can see the attractions, but I would go elsewhere you are not attending a conference here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

This is not a review of our hotel. It may belong to the full service Sheraton City Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a great time. The hotel was close enough to the main downtown area to walk to everything. I pre-ordered a surprise snack to be placed in our room upon arrival and the room service staff was very accommodating. At check-in, we needed to switch floors and the staff - even late at night - ran up and moved my surprise so it was in our new room when we got there. Best hotel gym I have ever seen/used. All staff excellent - concierge, front desk, manager, room service, valet

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraLevengard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to make you weekend trip enjoyable. We hope the floor change worked out in your favor. We will make sure that we pass along your gracious review to all the team areas you mentioned. In the spirit of hospitality, thank you for staying at The Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a groupon for my stay, so I feel that I had a great value for the money. Very clean hotel, very friendly, helpful staff. The parking is kind of pricey, but if you are there on a weekend there is a lot across the street that is only $5/day. Fitness center ellipiticals had television screens, but no cable hookup, so you are forced to look out of the window while exercising unless you bring an ipod with you. Overall, a nice, clean place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. It seems that our Sheraton Fitness by Core Performance scores again. I will have our chief engineer look into the television screens to make sure they are functioning properly. On behalf of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown thank you for being our guest.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from a conference at the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown. Hotel was fine, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there for a vacation. Room was a decent size, but I was disappointed the room lacked both a safe and a minifridge. I was really upset that a business oriented hotel had such terrible Wifi - barely any bandwidth. On the upside, every staff member - check-in, room service, housekeeping, concierge - was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Location was convenient to transportation and activities, particularly museums.

Room Tip: Request a high floor or otherwise might be staring into the offices across the street like I did.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. There are a few items we don’t have as a standard in our rooms. We do provide mini refrigerators for our guest upon request. Safety deposit boxes are also available at our desk upon request. I’m sorry that wasn’t made clear to you. We are pleased to know that even though we lack with some items, our staff still made you feel welcomed. In the spirit of hospitality, thank you for staying at The Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,384 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $119 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing