We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does anyone working here know what's going on?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were in town for the Philly triathlon and chose the Sheraton because of its location, price, and pet-friendliness. While the hotel itself is fine, the service left a lot to be desired. Although check-in time is 3pm, our room was not ready until after 4pm, with little explanation for the delay and the vaguest notion of when a room would be ready. Our room connected to the adjoining room through a shared door, through which the noise from guests next door traveled freely. In sum, it's a perfectly fine hotel, but you stay here for the location and price, not because you want a memorable hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to pets, be sure to request a room that's NOT on a pet-friendly floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We apologize that you encountered a delay in your check in process. We understand how frustrating it is with noise coming from the guest next door. We do have Security patrolling the Hotel 24 hours a day. We hope to have you back with us as our guest and we are able to change your experience into a memorable one.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Mary Mastrobuoni was the Concierge and helped me quickly in getting a document printed out and a few other question that I had. i have been staying here a few times on buisness and have always have a very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

It is great to receive feedback about the employees issuing quick & efficient service. Mary does a great job multi tasking at the Concierge desk with her great smile.We appreciate you staying with us. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was very close 2 all amenties.. The staff were so nice and helpful.. The pool was great 4 my 2 children it was on the 3rd floor. Would def stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: The higher the block the better scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We have just recently renovated our pool and fitness center. Its great to get positive feedback on them both. We are pleased to know that the staff and the hotel location met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and it was a nice hotel with clean rooms. The rooms came with complimentary water bottles. No smoking in the entire hotel, so smokers beware about that.

All around it was a good experience. Just know that Philly can be a rough area and as long as you know that, the hotel is a good place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRoomReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. our hotel is located just 2 1/2 blocks from the Convention center. Our Sheraton property is 100% Non Smoking. Good service and a clean room is ideal during a guest stay. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your future return.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I am a frequent business traveler, living in hotels about 200 nights a year. The Sheraton Downtown turned out to be an excellent find for my needs. The staff is extremely friendly and help full starting with Mary at the concierge desk who always greets you with a friendly smile. The room size is adequate for my needs and room service is not over the top expensive. At about 80 stays this year the front desk has always come through and in a busy convention town, my needs are not overlooked. I can also trust my car with the valets. As a platinum member the club also suits my needs. Traveling for business, the hotel works well.

Room Tip: If available try for the junior suite so you don't have to watch the tv from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to know that the staff take care of you and recognize you as a repeat guest of our property. We appreciate your loyalty to the Starwood Brand. We look forward to delivering only the best to you and all moving forward.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Sheraton Downtown is a standard city hotel - the only way that these larger brand hotels can really separate themselves is the people who work there (besides, of course, the rewards program, which in this case is Starwood and is great). In this case, there are a few standout individuals who make this hotel different from others. Shawn Zenszer, the Club Lounge Concierge, is phenomenal - great service, willing to go the extra mile, and also willing to chat about the local area without making it seem like you are wasting his time. He definitely strives to make you comfortable not just in the hotel but in Philly, which is a good quality for hotel staff since most of us visiting are not wise in the local ways. At the front desk, Hamid and Toni have also been incredibly helpful, whether it is getting extra coffee, making sure a room is cleaned, or just making sure that service is with a ready with a smile. Since I am (still) spending almost two months here, the friendly and helpful individuals have made it much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

It is always great to see the people make the difference for our guests not the location or product.. The staff at the hotel are committed to providing great service to all guests whether its at the Club Lounge or at the Front Desk. We thank you for your patronage.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Phil, the Front Office Manager, Mary, Eric and Chris, the three concierges with whom I had contact during my stay, and Brad, the Director of Food and Beverage, are goodwill ambassadors for the entire Sheraton collection of hotels. These caring, thoughtful people spared no effort to make me feel at home, and they help make the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel the wonderful example of hospitality that it is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. The service you received is the service we starive on issuing all of our guests. It is an honor the staff mentioned to be seen in that light. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,411 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $119 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing