We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very Bad Hotel:
1-WiFi is Dial up speed
2- The Furniture is not well maintained and dirty
3-Dead insects in my Bathroom
4- A big Cockroach in the hallway enjoying itself
5- Staff are so unprofessional
6-Charged my credit card without giving me a bill to sign on; he charged 15 extra dollars that when I asked him about he said these are extra charges for verification (???)
7-Asked for a bill, he said will send it by email, (DID NOT send anything); I asked for a hard copy, they gave it to me on the next day, without the 15 extra dollars
8- I reserved online Bed and Breakfast, then the next day I asked the receptionist where is the breakfast, he told me there is a restaurant next to the hotel (????)) what???? No comment, No breakfast served
9-I took a water bottle that was there on the room table, after checking out, 4 dollars were deducted from my card, Very VERY unprofessional and Overpriced.
Please stay away from this hotel, there are tens of other hotels, if you are concerned about the location, the city has an excellent transportation system with a metro that covers all Market street for 2.30 dollars and stopping at every station

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Tamer A,

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

In the meantime, please allow us to address a couple of your concerns. Please know that we are working with our internet service provider to resolve the slow internet issue. We truly apologize and understand that this is an inconvenience for our guests and are working diligently to get it fixed. As for the rate that you reserved online, the room rate included parking only. Breakfast was not included. Our restaurant serves breakfast daily and can be purchased a la carte. We will certainly review our procedures to ensure that the room rate package elements are communicated clearly to our guests online and upon arrival.

Since you have mentioned a number of other items in your review, we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly. You can reach our Guest Services Managers at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I plus another couple went to "check out" Philadelphia this weekend. As such, we spent most of our time walking around the city and very little at the hotel itself. We stayed two nights. We had one, minor, incident where the power went out on the wall with the TV. Unfortunately, that wall also had the communication center and other outlets that were powering our cell phones and cameras. So, we lost that charging opportunity. We reported it to the front desk and they addressed it. We did not have an issue the second night. - Otherwise, all was very good. The (king) bed was comfy, the room thermostat worked, the shower and plumbing were fine. We did not make use of the pool or other big amenities, except parking. And even there, we stuck with public transportation so I didn't use my car, Overall thumbs up!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor, far away from the elevator and facing the street. We experienced no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gus_Sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Gus_Sanchez:
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the power outage in your room and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to resolve the issue. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been to philly a number of times but this was the first time staying in the Penn/Drexel area. Hotel was great and the area had a great feel with two schools near bye. It was very close to 30th street station and those traveling by train were able to just walk over.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear bryan d:
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! The University City area is a great part of the city and we are thrilled you gave us an opportunty to welcome you. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This cockroach-infested hotel is an utter disgrace with rude, confrontational staff. Manager unapologetic about the cockroach in our bathroom. Caught staff making fun of us after we complained. Also very dirty under beds and kept awake by loud humming from vending machines.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 337andrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Andrew P,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the issue of the pest that you found in your room. This is certainly not acceptable. We offered compensation for your incovenience and explained that the credit would need to go through the tour operator, as discussed with you and the tour leader.
If you have any further comments, please feel free to connect with us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here twice for two days each while I had treatment at nearby Penn Presbyterian Hospital. We used Penn Tower in the past during family hospital stays, but sadly it is now closed. We stayed in a club room each time for the hospital rate of $199 (plus taxes), which is very competitive for Philadelphia. Front desk staff were extremely cordial and helpful and efficient, especially the small woman on duty in afternoon. Bellman was efficient. My wife encountered some hostility from staffer in club breakfast area one morning on first stay. The rooms were comfortable and reasonably quiet for a big city. Bathroom was snug. Shower head was clogged and unable to adjust. It looks classy in room and club lounge to have real glasses and silverware sitting out, but it is not very sanitary. We did not use the Japanese restaurant in the hotel. There are numerous eateries nearby as this area is home to several universities. They were good experiences. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get on an upper floor on side away from Chestnut Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear James R.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here off and on over the past 5 years when making trips to Philly. This hotel is my first choice b/c of location to the hospital and how nice the room is, but there are 2 other hotels not much farther away, so we stay there instead b/c they're nice as well. The price difference is usually $50-$75, so worth walking the an extra block

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevandme96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton University City while attending to business at Penn. The hotel is within walking distance of all of Penn and Drexel. On a nice day we walked to the Liberty Bell.
The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. Included free Wifi (occasionally slow) and coffee. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Noise was not a problem.
Breakfast was not included, but there are several restaurants nearby including several Starbucks. There is a restaurant in the building, but we did not eat there. Recommend Sabrina's Café on 34th.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear johnrw52,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,400 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $161 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing