We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This cockroach-infested hotel is an utter disgrace with rude, confrontational staff. Manager unapologetic about the cockroach in our bathroom. Caught staff making fun of us after we complained. Also very dirty under beds and kept awake by loud humming from vending machines.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 337andrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Andrew P,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the issue of the pest that you found in your room. This is certainly not acceptable. We offered compensation for your incovenience and explained that the credit would need to go through the tour operator, as discussed with you and the tour leader.
If you have any further comments, please feel free to connect with us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here twice for two days each while I had treatment at nearby Penn Presbyterian Hospital. We used Penn Tower in the past during family hospital stays, but sadly it is now closed. We stayed in a club room each time for the hospital rate of $199 (plus taxes), which is very competitive for Philadelphia. Front desk staff were extremely cordial and helpful and efficient, especially the small woman on duty in afternoon. Bellman was efficient. My wife encountered some hostility from staffer in club breakfast area one morning on first stay. The rooms were comfortable and reasonably quiet for a big city. Bathroom was snug. Shower head was clogged and unable to adjust. It looks classy in room and club lounge to have real glasses and silverware sitting out, but it is not very sanitary. We did not use the Japanese restaurant in the hotel. There are numerous eateries nearby as this area is home to several universities. They were good experiences. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get on an upper floor on side away from Chestnut Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear James R.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here off and on over the past 5 years when making trips to Philly. This hotel is my first choice b/c of location to the hospital and how nice the room is, but there are 2 other hotels not much farther away, so we stay there instead b/c they're nice as well. The price difference is usually $50-$75, so worth walking the an extra block

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevandme96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton University City while attending to business at Penn. The hotel is within walking distance of all of Penn and Drexel. On a nice day we walked to the Liberty Bell.
The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. Included free Wifi (occasionally slow) and coffee. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Noise was not a problem.
Breakfast was not included, but there are several restaurants nearby including several Starbucks. There is a restaurant in the building, but we did not eat there. Recommend Sabrina's Café on 34th.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear johnrw52,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

For the last 5 years I've worked on the 4th of July. This year I wanted to see some fireworks. Locally, Tropical Storm Arthur was on his way. At the last minute my husband and I decided to travel to the home of Brotherly love. Yes, Philadelphia Freedom and the home of Rocky Balboa. My husband did an internet search for hotels and found the Sheraton in Philadelphia's University City. This hotel is centrally located and only a short walk to see the amazing fireworks over the Philadelphia Museum of Art. This hotel was welcoming, clean and pet friendly. The room was comfy, quiet and clean. All the extras that most hotels say they have in case you forget something; well the items were already in the room. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant which we didn't try because right outside the front door there was an amazing pizza cafe. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katzret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear katzret:
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms are nice and clean, decent size. However, the rooms do not have a mini fridge and you are charged to have one in your room even if it is for medical purposes. I have to be away from my infant daughter for several nights and have to have a fridge to store pumped milk. It's disgraceful that a hotel would charge you to have an amenity that is vital to storing breast milk for an infant. If you are a breast feeding mom who will need to store milk, stay at the Hilton a few blocks away, the mini fridge is provided for free!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Pam0509:
Thank you for sharing your comments. We do regret that you were initially charged for a refrigerator for infant milk. A management team member did remove the charge after being notified of your needs. We do understand the importance and necessity of refrigerators for medical needs and do apologize for the mistake. We are reviewing the policy with all team members. We do hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and in Philadelphia. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to connect with our Guest Services Team at 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

3rd stay at hotel since 2010. Hasn't changed much. Given a room on the club floor with great views. Air conditioning still a little noisy. Unfortunately there was no fridge. Located near UPenn and the hospitals. Great chinese restaurant Sang Kee within the hotel. Good restaurants can be found along nearby Sansome Street too.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MikeWangLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#4 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,436 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,411 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $153 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing