We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for U Penn, Drexel and the 30th street train station” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location for U Penn, Drexel and the 30th street train station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you are visiting University City and $5 can ride from Rittenhouse Square and the shopping and dining area. What kills you in Philadelphia is the parking which can run $40-45 a day. Take the cab from the airport and you can walk or take a cab to most anywhere in the city for much less. The rooms are very nice and modern. Great value given its prime location!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikashc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Owner at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Bikashc:
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    326
    224
    74
    41
See reviews for
365
150
95
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Front desk staff (SPG) was very helpful, friendly, professional. Rooms were very nice, clean, and well designed (nice receptacle access on desk-top for electronics, ethernet cords, etc.). All expectations were met at this Sheraton. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Fins50:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Was in town for the IACP convention, was booked at the Sheraton by the IACP housing department, no way to book my own hotel everything was sold out,
“what a crap of an hotel” Sheraton should be embarrassed to have their name on this building!
Room had a terrible smell, dust everywhere, crappy shower, crappy toilet, fan was noisy and loud.
Beds were comfortable, room service was good, coffee in the room was great, front desk was extremely nice and helpful.

Would I ever stay here again…….not by choice, I feel for $199.00 you could stay more downtown at up-to-date boutique hotels for the same or even cheaper!

Room Tip: any other Hotel would be better than this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear SolkNewYork:
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. The condition and cleanliness of your guest room is not acceptable. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel. However, the lack of cleanliness of the guest room is unacceptable and would appreciate you connecting us directly so that that we can address this immediately.
We are pleased to hear that our front office team provided exceptional service and that you enjoyed our room service.
The next time that you are in Philly, we hope that you will be back to see the changes we are making to the facility. Please feel free to contact us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 if you have any further comments or questions.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights last weekend. We were overall very pleased with our stay and service. Our room was clean, quiet and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Typical Sheraton beds! The room was made up each day and included Starbuck's coffee and plush towels with a large flat-screen TV. It was definitely not a budget hotel.

The hotel is convenient to the Penn and Drexel campuses with transportation always available - cabs, busses, subway all close-by. Front desk personnel were more than pleasant and well-informed. The hotel could use some updating and is not full service, i.e. no doorman, but room service is available and there is a restaurant and bar on premise. The hotel reminded me more of a typical European hotel. Great restaurants were within walking distance. It was a good value for the money, since center city hotels for the weekend were 2.5 x's as expensive per night or more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDallasBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear CharlieDallasBoston:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel's facility. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because my daughter was attending a conference at UPenn. We arrived with our luggage in a taxi and there was no doorman to speak of who may help us. Is this because their guests are students or participants of workshops and have very little expectations of service?

And to make matters worse, our room was not cleaned the following day! My daughter and I left before lunch and came back at 10pm to find our bedroom the way it was when we left it. The following day, I requested the cleaning lady on our floor to make sure she did our room. She was asking me what time we left the day before. We have stayed in many hotels and have left the room late but we always returned to a clean room.

The bathtub/shower in our toilet was also not draining properly. I complained about this and I do not know if something was done because it was still clogged up to the time we left.

I stayed in Sheraton San Diego a few days before I flew to Philadelphia. The service there is exceptional while the service in this Philadelphia branch has to be improved.

I asked for directions from the front desk and this lady was just rattling off the information like a robot. I do not know if the quality of service and even the friendliness of the staff are low because they think that their guests are not discriminating. But nevertheless, I think we deserve more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear MyraJJ:
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While we appreciate your feedback, we are disturbed to learn of your disappointment. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. We truly apologize for this experience and we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail so corrective action may be taken. Please connect with us directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. We look forward speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
362 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to Drexel and has a very good dim sum place in the lobby. There was no minibar or fridge to bring beverages in to the room. The room had a new rug smell which was oppressive but nothing seemed to have been updated in a very long time. The hotel was very friendly though and quiet.

Room Tip: Check and see if there is the chemical smell that my floor had. It wasn't terrible but was unple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear breckbmcq,
Thank you for writing a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our in-house restaurant. We have to agree that the dim sum is terrific!

We also appreciate your comments about the hotel not being updated in a long time. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

If you have any futher comments, please feel free to connect with us at 215-387-800, 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Recently stated for one night and that was it on 09/30/2013. Let’s start off with no bell captain to help with luggage and very few employees. Place is VERY dated and so are the rooms. Enter the room 706 and smells of mold. Mold was located in the bathroom and the thermostat was so old and dirty I didn’t want to touch. Floor was dirty and there was a cock roach that came from a third world country sitting outside the door (didn’t mean to disrespect 3 world countries). This roach was a big as a mouse. The place was just awful.

Room Tip: Not a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mark K:
There is truly no excuse for the incidents you relay in your posting. We appreciated you contacting us directly, as well, so that we could remedy the issues immediately. Please know that we have corrected and fixed the issues to ensure other guests are not subjected to the inconveniences you described. Again, w are very sorry and remain hopeful you will give us another chance on a future stay in Philly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing