We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$290
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
$156
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveler rating
732
398
251
86
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
398
251
86
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef michaeluniversity citythe club loungenoodle housefront deskpenn's campusstreet stationfitness centerhousekeeping staffper daychecking inconvenient locationacross the streetbeds were comfortableenjoyed my stayfew blocksdrexel
Filter
Updating list...
1,170 - 1,175 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for five nights recently. Rooms are pretty basic, slightly run down feel, but nevertheless clean and well maintained. However, I think I might have gotten some bedbug bites.
Bathroom was small and could have been better fixed up but water came out fine so no major complaints. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant downstairs, which was convenient, but there are more choices nearby if you want better food! All in all it was convenient to our needs and staff were helpful. Be warned, though, of the taxis loitering in front of the hotel. Got in and the driver tried to rip me off when all I needed to go was the 30th Street Station nearby. The meter showed $4.77 and he said I had to pay him $9 because he missed his airport customers at my expense! WTF!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear SandraSeattle,
We are genuinely sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel's look and and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Please feel free to contact us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 if you have any further comments or questions.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place is OK if you need access to University area businesses. Indeed, as other reviewers mentioned, I confirm that this place is a bit run down. At least when I stayed here, I noticed staff shortages to the extent that it took not few minutes but more than 10 minutes to check-in. This, because the only single staff available was swamped with others before me and with phone calls. In my 2-night stay, I consistently noticed that it took time to get their attention. But when the staff finally become available, their customer service is great. So if you are looking for the ultimate hotel comfort with classic, on demand and on time service, forget about it. This location makes sense depending on what you need to do. Otherwise, your money is better spent elsewhere to get the bang for the buck you need. I ended up staying here for convenience because the business meeting that i had was held right at the Sheraton. I do agree with other reviewers that this place is "run down" and needs "refurbishment." For breakfast, skip the nearby Dunkin Donuts. There is an independent coffee shop 50 meters away from Dunking down the street. Better coffee and muffins!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear NickTimepass,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations nor our high levels of service standards. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. We appreciate you letting us know that we failed to provide the appropriate staffing and will be reviewing our scheduling practices. Please feel free to contact us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-387-8000, ext. 627 so we can discuss this further, as we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was clean, but pretty small for a fam of 4. The toilet was dirty & needed to be cleaned before it could be used. The shower water filled the tub before maitenance pulled a hairball the size of a rat out of the drain. They were nice and comped us on parking, so that appeased us. The restaurant in the lobby was excellent.

Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Steve I:
We want to sincerely apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay with us. We truly failed to meet our levels of service and standards, as well as your expectations. We are reviewing our inspection procedures to prevent similar experiences. It is nice to hear that you brought the issues to our attention while we were with us and that we were able to make an adjustmet for you. Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We hope to have the oppotunity to host you as our guest the next time you are in Philadelphia.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located 1 block away from U Penn's campus. The room was a basic room which was clean. It was free to park on the street after 8:00 pm and there was plenty of street parking available. Also there were many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Ramadama,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! University City has a lot to offer and we hope you had the opportunity to try a few of the restaurants in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews