We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience or comfort? your choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place is OK if you need access to University area businesses. Indeed, as other reviewers mentioned, I confirm that this place is a bit run down. At least when I stayed here, I noticed staff shortages to the extent that it took not few minutes but more than 10 minutes to check-in. This, because the only single staff available was swamped with others before me and with phone calls. In my 2-night stay, I consistently noticed that it took time to get their attention. But when the staff finally become available, their customer service is great. So if you are looking for the ultimate hotel comfort with classic, on demand and on time service, forget about it. This location makes sense depending on what you need to do. Otherwise, your money is better spent elsewhere to get the bang for the buck you need. I ended up staying here for convenience because the business meeting that i had was held right at the Sheraton. I do agree with other reviewers that this place is "run down" and needs "refurbishment." For breakfast, skip the nearby Dunkin Donuts. There is an independent coffee shop 50 meters away from Dunking down the street. Better coffee and muffins!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear NickTimepass,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations nor our high levels of service standards. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. We appreciate you letting us know that we failed to provide the appropriate staffing and will be reviewing our scheduling practices. Please feel free to contact us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-387-8000, ext. 627 so we can discuss this further, as we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KCandG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was clean, but pretty small for a fam of 4. The toilet was dirty & needed to be cleaned before it could be used. The shower water filled the tub before maitenance pulled a hairball the size of a rat out of the drain. They were nice and comped us on parking, so that appeased us. The restaurant in the lobby was excellent.

Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Steve I:
We want to sincerely apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay with us. We truly failed to meet our levels of service and standards, as well as your expectations. We are reviewing our inspection procedures to prevent similar experiences. It is nice to hear that you brought the issues to our attention while we were with us and that we were able to make an adjustmet for you. Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We hope to have the oppotunity to host you as our guest the next time you are in Philadelphia.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located 1 block away from U Penn's campus. The room was a basic room which was clean. It was free to park on the street after 8:00 pm and there was plenty of street parking available. Also there were many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Ramadama,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! University City has a lot to offer and we hope you had the opportunity to try a few of the restaurants in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed at this hotel for one (Saturday) night on August, 2013. We wanted a taste of Philadelphia on the way to New York city. The hotel is easily accessible from the main highway into Philly. Very much like other reviewers, we found the hotel a little tired and in need of new hall carpets and the walls in the room could use a facelift. However, everything was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the price we paid for a room with 2 double beds (using a hotel discount site) was fantastic. Despite the fact that this was move-in week for some U Penn students, we encountered no noise. We very much enjoyed the University campus and the generally quiet location. We went into downtown Philly for the evening and the cab fare was under $10. Tip - parking on the street was very safe and free after 8:00 PM until 8:00 AM next day, thus strategic use of the parking meters could save you a bunch on parking (the hotel charges $25/night). We had breakfast at a great little bakery (can't recall the name) on the list provided by the hotel. Generally a lovely stay in friendly Philly.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher room overlooking the pool, you will get a great view of the Philly skyline.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaFamilyGuy927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear CanadaFamilyGuy927,
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good room, space and rate, but not the best restaurant options. Nice pool and workout room. Unfortunately, the staff and concierge weren't really knowledgeable .We were given wrong information about a restaurant down the street; and after being told that there were no Dunkin' Donuts in the area, we passed one just a block away! I think I'll try somewhere else next time unless the Sheraton rate is too good to pass up. We stayed there to view Drexel U, which was within walking distance (although a good walk).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatsbonbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Eatsbonbons,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as a guest in our Hotel. Your experience is contrary to the high level of service we strive to maintain and of which you have every right to expect. We will certainly review our training and service levels of our concierge and team members to ensure that they are knowledgeable of all that University City has to offer. We hope that you will be back to see the changes. Please feel free to contact us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com if you have any further comments or questions.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at the Sheraton right by the U Penn campus during a two-night stay to drop off our son for his freshman year. Our junior suite was quite spacious and included a dining table for 6 plus a large mini refrigerator and microwave tucked away in a mahogany cabinet, in addition to the living room area with pullout sofa and the roomy king-sized bedroom with desk. Both the bedroom and living area had flat screen televisions. A set of French doors with curtains nicely separated the bedroom and living/dining area. The bathroom was attractively done and not cramped. The bedroom also offered a long desk with workspace for two and specialized computer ports. A bathrobe in the closet and coffee maker setup in the bedroom were both appreciated, as was the free Internet service. The suite was also very clean and the bed and pillows quite comfortable. Our room on the 20th floor had a beautiful view over the U Penn campus and city, plus being on the Club Level gave us access to a nice club lounge for a light breakfast in the morning.and snacks during the day (and with all the walking we were doing, we were happy to indulge in the in the Club Lounge's guacamole and hot meatballs as a late afternoon snack.). We found the attached parking garage convenient too. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Location provides easy access to museums, restaurants and shopping in Center City and the Old City, plus there are lots of dining choices right nearby too. We would stay here again and recommend it if you are visiting the University of Pennsylvania.

Room Tip: A junior suite is well worth the cost of the upgrade, especially if you are traveling with children.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear zoom101,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We hope to host your stay again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,394 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,344 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $161 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing