We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great staff, comfortable stay - a little rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice location, great staff, comfortable stay - a little rundown”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had some business near by and this was the most convenient hotel. The self parking was easy and the garage secure. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and said hello which is nice.

The hotel and rooms are clean and I would stay here again if business brings me back to the area. With that said, the hotel rooms are in need of a refresh ... baseboards, wallpaper, caulking, etc. has seen noticeable wear and tear.

I noticed several families and realized many parents and children stay here during the summer to assess the nearby colleges for future enrollment. I'm guessing some of these rooms have seen a party or two.

Again, worn down doesn't mean dirty. It is a clean but dated hotel and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear James S:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    349
    235
    78
    43
See reviews for
383
156
97
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my second stay at this lovely little hotel. I stay there as it is just up the street from Drexel University. Rooms are compact but nicely appointed with nice furnishings and a large flat screen. The bathroom is also small, but well designed. The beds and bedding are impossibly luxurious and comfortable, This is the only hotel where I am guaranteed an immediate and restful sleep. There is a very nice pool and excellent workout facility. The hotel is extremely understaffed. If you have a late arrival it is is probable that desk staff is away doing something else, and that there will not be a bellman. The last time I arrived, the bellman (singular) had left, and the desk clerk helped me with my luggage. These are minor complaints, asI can be sure that I will return,

Room Tip: There are always good AAA rates that can get you a great rate, and superior roon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northsoutheastwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear northsoutheastwest:
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. We will certainly be reviewing our staffing levels to ensure that we provide the highest level of service at all times.
It is nice to hear that you have had an opportunity to experience our pool and fitness center. They are great places to unwind!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went to the University of Pennsylvania in 1983 and it was my perception that this hotel was in poor shape and might be purchased by the University and converted to a dorm. Not only was this not the case, but I found this Sheraton to be above average as a Sheraton. As a Platinum Starwood member, I was upgraded to the Club Floor and the exact type of room I requested . While the AC was not great in the club lounge, the evening and morning offerings were above average. The cupcakes were great snack. The highlight of my stay, was that while they had a 45 foot pool to do laps, it was not avilalable until 8:00 in the morning. I asked if the pool could be opened earlier the the night manager made arrangements to open early. This gave me time to take care of everything I needed and I am extremely appreciative. BTW the fitness center, pool and deck looked like they were recently renovated and exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: I suggest a room facing Chestnut Street for both the view and avoiding noise from the trollies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Larry G,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. We are please to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is best place to stay for you if you want to be near the University of Pennsylvania. You can walk to Chestnut street and catch the bus and subway to the center of city. All in all, it is clean with friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Omid13:
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write of your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean. A great location for U of PA visitors. A variety of restaurants are within easy walking distance. My only complaint is that parking is expensive and not free for guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel! The young man who was at the Front Desk the night of 7/5 was super helpful. The hotel has one of Philly's BEST Chinese restaurants, "Sangkee", it was suberb! I asked (and paid) to be upgraded to the Executive Level and it was fantastic to have that extra room to lounge in with it's great views, in the afternoon they served the most AMAZING cupcakes by a Pastry Chef who has been associated with the hotel for awhile but his cupcakes were mod-looking and WOW to how he gets his flavors MEMORABLE. I felt secure, well-rested and totally and pampered. There was one gentleman that worked as a Bellman/Assistant, he was extremely welcoming to my friend and I, I believe his name was Curtis, he's an asset to your team, a lovely kind person! Thank you for a wonderful wonderful stay and for the fancy robes we got to use during our stay! We love the Sheraton Philadelphia University City, let your Front Desk Staff sit on chairs in front though!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCarnationReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

OK, I have to admit that the hotel was far behind some other facilities that I would rate 4 stars, but given the premium location if you have business at U Penn, my rating is rounded up to 4. There are Pros and Cons like any other facility. The pros are location, friendly staff, free internet, acceptable room size and that is it. The cons are weird and outdated air conditioner that literally is out of your control, no safe deposit in the room and no minibar as well. I was charged for a bottle of water that should have been complimentary. The check in was smooth but at the check out I had to wait 20 min. just to hear that they will not issue a receipt (not even for room service charges!?) since I had reserved through a third-party. Overall, no big issue except for the aircon. Perhaps the hotel is slightly underrated on Trip Advisor, but there is durely a reason for everything!

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner is controllable (temperature, fan) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,340 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,329 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,923 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing