We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviceable Sheraton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Serviceable Sheraton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Sheraton is right next to the University of Pennsylvania. It's a little tired in it's decor and layout, but is a decent place to stay. My favorite part was the Chinese restaurant in the lobby. The woman who checked us in was also very helpful. They can do better with their map of the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear CaTraveler7777,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Our lobby restaurant, Sang Kee Noodle House, is a great place for Asian cuisine in University City! We hope to have you back as a guest soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    328
    224
    74
    41
See reviews for
365
151
95
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was here for a recruiting event at the hotel so booked it out of convenience.

Pros
- Walkable to great restaurants!
- Very helpful staff
- Free parking and plenty of it
- Good hotel height and views in most rooms

Cons
- No breakfast included and no fridge in the room.
- Overpriced for what it is (Unless its the season I went)
- Slow-ish housekeeping
- Small and few elevators

Room Tip: Book on spg website, it ends up being cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3s3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear 3s3:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Reviews such as yours help us to see areas where we are meeting guest expectations and where we have opportunities for improvement.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Got this room at the last second because there were no rooms available in phily due the Philadelphia marathon this weekend. We paid way too much for the club level room which was very below par. To call this a club level room is ridulous. The room was dirty and things were worn. ripped wallpaper, scratched doors, and dirty old looking sheets. When we first got to the room there was food on plates outside the room on the floor from the previous guests and no one bothered to clean it up before we got to the room. The club lounge was old and dingy and the hor d"voures were pathetic. To pay the extra money for the club lounge is not worth the money for anyone staying at this hotel because the rooms are NOT nicer and newer and the club lounge is below par. I would never stay at this hotel again. Unfortunately this weekend there absolutely no choices and I came to visit my son at UPenn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The good:

Very convenient to Penn
Comfy beds
Reasonable water pressure for an older hotel
Quiet
Good, attentive service at the hotel restaurant

Things that can be better:

Smallish room
Older hotel
Compatibility with some networks--access to my work network connection was intermittent--had to keep logging in every few minutes
Smoky lobby
Noisy young ROTC/military tyoes
Hotel restaurant breakfast adequate

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiealum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel has an optimal location and has been nicely refurbished, but little else. All kindsof problems with my exec level room from a shower that trickled, clogged drain, no bathrobes both nights, toilet that ran. Worst of all Internet that was so problematic that I was unable to work.
Drain was fixed but the Internet lack of access brought my productivity to a screeching halt. Very hard to get front desk to even answer phone! Real shame as this used to be a fav spot many years ago.

Room Tip: Seriously, I recommend you stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stay here every year for Exhumed Films' marathon at the International House... so the location could not get any better than this. This hotel is smack-dab in the middle of University City, so there are a ton of college students everywhere, which can actually get annoying very fast. However, the hotel itself is great. The staff is super friendly and the check in could not be quicker. They usually are very good about accommodating what ever requests we have. Our room this time around was spacious and nicely appointed. The main room was very clean, but for what ever reason, the bathroom was a little dirty. The floor and sink were kind of crudy, but as I said, the main room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and room service was polite and on time. Parking is always a little tight and expensive, but in Philly, that is expected. Overall, we really like this hotel and would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenniferNYC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I went to the Sheraton University City after having worked a very long shift at a nearby hospital in University City due to hurricane Sandy. The staff was very friendly and helpful upon my arrival. I stayed in a suite which was nicely furnished and featured many modern amenities--desk area, refrigerator, microwave, large dining room table, pull out sofa bed, king size bed, 2 large screen TV's and a nice, modern bathroom as well. My room was very quiet--I did not hear anyone in the adjoining rooms. It was so nice to have the breakfast bar on the 20th floor as a place to eat instead of having to go somewhere else given the bad weather conditions. It also offers light dinner options in the evenings along with a wide variety of beverages including a Starbucks coffee machine where you can make lattes etc. The view of University City including Penn's campus was beautiful from my room. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel when you are visiting the Philadelphia and/or Penn's campus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing