We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll continue to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We'll continue to return”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

But I'm still not loving the Front Desk. They appear to be annoyed that you interrupt them. There's no hospitality or welcome there. I don;t understand why they can't find people with better attitudes.

Otherwise, room was clean and comfortable; hallways were filthy; walls were thin and we were next to a family with young active children (ugh).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear, N2NY:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback as it provides us valuable information on areas that we can improve upon for all of our guests. Please feel free to connect with our Guest Service Managers at 215-387-8000, 629 or sheraton@sheruniv.com so that we can discuss the front office team's service further with you.

We look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    358
    238
    78
    45
See reviews for
396
156
99
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
casey5508
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to stay overnight at the Sheraton homecoming weekend. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast provided in the morning was very good. I would definitely recommwnd this hotel to anyone visiting Penn. Very convenient location. Close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey5508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear casey5508~
We hope you enjoyed all of the festivities for Homecoming Weekend! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Penn Campus and University CIty have many wonderful shops, museums and restaurants to experience. We hope to see you for next year's Homecoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We travel frequently to Penn and the Sheraton is always our first choice of places to stay. The hotel has been refurbished several times and the rooms are always well appointed and comfortable. The room views are outstanding. On one side the beautiful Penn campus is in full view in all its glory from Franklin Field to the Vet school. On the other side is Drexel.

The staff is especially friendly and helpful. We go so often this is our "home away from home." Brenda in reservations is attuned to campus events and other happenings and does her best to fit you in if at all possible. This is different from other hotels with national and impersonal reservation systems.

We tried the Inn at Penn once because it was hosting our event and were sorely disappointed. It is plush, but rooms are smaller and most views are of the sides of other buildings.

Room Tip: Penn is on the south side with even numbered rooms and Drexel is on the north with odd numbers. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francie-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Francie-Pete:

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write of your experiences with us. It is our pleasure to welcome you and host you as our guests. It’s always great to hear that one of our team members made such an impression with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is much more like a Motel than a 4star hotel. Small rooms, cheap bathrooms, Only restaurant is noodle bar. Oh and no bar just a small part of the restaurant. The Club level is reputed to be better. They Gym was so-so.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, they will have nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooponopono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear hooponopono,
We are disappointed to hear that our hotel and facilities did not meet your expectations. We receive a number of outstanding reviews on our state-of-the-art equipment and the design of our Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance 24-hour fitness center.

We would love to discuss your experience with you further. Please connect with our Guest Services Managers directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed here a few time while visiting our daughter at school. Rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable. Unfortunately this Sheraton doesn't run any specials...they don't need to. The hotel is a short walk to both Penn and Drexel.

Room Tip: we've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 10 days. It has been very comfortable, and the bed and pillows are great. The wireless internet has been unreliable, and not available every day. However, there is also wired internet in each room, so internet access has not been a problem. The staff have been very friendly and helpful with requests and queries. The equipment in the fitness centre is in good order.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking Chestnut Street and can see a stadium from here. I'm not sure wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A few months ago, I reviewed a hotel near Princeton that had this strange, sort of sterile (but not in a clean sort of way) institutional sense about it. I would have to say, this property had many of those same traits.

It wasn't bad. Nor was it dirty. It just wasn't spiffy. In fact, it sort of felt like a ... University hotel! The best decision we made was to upgrade by $20 for the club level (or whatever they call it,) which meant we got a VERY nice continental breakfast for the cost of a tip. Eggs, cereal, fruit, Starbucks coffee. We left feeling very satiated, and the desk staff was certainly kind and helpful.

Weird, but safe neighborhood. (Near University of Pennsylvania, with some trendy neighborhoods nearby, but you're not quite actually IN one.) Would stay again if the price were right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,378 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,305 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing