We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$290
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
$156
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveler rating
732
398
251
86
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
398
251
86
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef michaeluniversity citythe club loungenoodle housefront deskpenn's campusstreet stationfitness centerhousekeeping staffper daychecking inconvenient locationacross the streetbeds were comfortableenjoyed my stayfew blocksdrexel
Filter
Updating list...
1,246 - 1,251 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We travel frequently to Penn and the Sheraton is always our first choice of places to stay. The hotel has been refurbished several times and the rooms are always well appointed and comfortable. The room views are outstanding. On one side the beautiful Penn campus is in full view in all its glory from Franklin Field to the Vet school. On the other side is Drexel.

The staff is especially friendly and helpful. We go so often this is our "home away from home." Brenda in reservations is attuned to campus events and other happenings and does her best to fit you in if at all possible. This is different from other hotels with national and impersonal reservation systems.

We tried the Inn at Penn once because it was hosting our event and were sorely disappointed. It is plush, but rooms are smaller and most views are of the sides of other buildings.

Room Tip: Penn is on the south side with even numbered rooms and Drexel is on the north with odd numbers. All the rooms are high enough to have good views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francie-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Francie-Pete:

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write of your experiences with us. It is our pleasure to welcome you and host you as our guests. It’s always great to hear that one of our team members made such an impression with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is much more like a Motel than a 4star hotel. Small rooms, cheap bathrooms, Only restaurant is noodle bar. Oh and no bar just a small part of the restaurant. The Club level is reputed to be better. They Gym was so-so.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, they will have nicer rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hooponopono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear hooponopono,
We are disappointed to hear that our hotel and facilities did not meet your expectations. We receive a number of outstanding reviews on our state-of-the-art equipment and the design of our Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance 24-hour fitness center.

We would love to discuss your experience with you further. Please connect with our Guest Services Managers directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed here a few time while visiting our daughter at school. Rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable. Unfortunately this Sheraton doesn't run any specials...they don't need to. The hotel is a short walk to both Penn and Drexel.

Room Tip: we've never had a bad room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 10 days. It has been very comfortable, and the bed and pillows are great. The wireless internet has been unreliable, and not available every day. However, there is also wired internet in each room, so internet access has not been a problem. The staff have been very friendly and helpful with requests and queries. The equipment in the fitness centre is in good order.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking Chestnut Street and can see a stadium from here. I'm not sure what the noise level would be when there is a game on.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A few months ago, I reviewed a hotel near Princeton that had this strange, sort of sterile (but not in a clean sort of way) institutional sense about it. I would have to say, this property had many of those same traits.

It wasn't bad. Nor was it dirty. It just wasn't spiffy. In fact, it sort of felt like a ... University hotel! The best decision we made was to upgrade by $20 for the club level (or whatever they call it,) which meant we got a VERY nice continental breakfast for the cost of a tip. Eggs, cereal, fruit, Starbucks coffee. We left feeling very satiated, and the desk staff was certainly kind and helpful.

Weird, but safe neighborhood. (Near University of Pennsylvania, with some trendy neighborhoods nearby, but you're not quite actually IN one.) Would stay again if the price were right.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews