We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the least impressive Sheraton Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is much more like a Motel than a 4star hotel. Small rooms, cheap bathrooms, Only restaurant is noodle bar. Oh and no bar just a small part of the restaurant. The Club level is reputed to be better. They Gym was so-so.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, they will have nicer rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hooponopono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear hooponopono,
We are disappointed to hear that our hotel and facilities did not meet your expectations. We receive a number of outstanding reviews on our state-of-the-art equipment and the design of our Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance 24-hour fitness center.

We would love to discuss your experience with you further. Please connect with our Guest Services Managers directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed here a few time while visiting our daughter at school. Rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable. Unfortunately this Sheraton doesn't run any specials...they don't need to. The hotel is a short walk to both Penn and Drexel.

Room Tip: we've never had a bad room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 10 days. It has been very comfortable, and the bed and pillows are great. The wireless internet has been unreliable, and not available every day. However, there is also wired internet in each room, so internet access has not been a problem. The staff have been very friendly and helpful with requests and queries. The equipment in the fitness centre is in good order.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking Chestnut Street and can see a stadium from here. I'm not sure wha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A few months ago, I reviewed a hotel near Princeton that had this strange, sort of sterile (but not in a clean sort of way) institutional sense about it. I would have to say, this property had many of those same traits.

It wasn't bad. Nor was it dirty. It just wasn't spiffy. In fact, it sort of felt like a ... University hotel! The best decision we made was to upgrade by $20 for the club level (or whatever they call it,) which meant we got a VERY nice continental breakfast for the cost of a tip. Eggs, cereal, fruit, Starbucks coffee. We left feeling very satiated, and the desk staff was certainly kind and helpful.

Weird, but safe neighborhood. (Near University of Pennsylvania, with some trendy neighborhoods nearby, but you're not quite actually IN one.) Would stay again if the price were right.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for the past two weekends. I have been happy with each stay. The front desk staff- especially AnneMarie, Vinny and a nice Scottish man-treated us wonderfully. The beds were very, very comfortable. Our rooms were clean but could use a little TLC (peeling wallpaper, thin towels, etc). The parking lot is tight for a big car but was priced well at $20. I am used to the Inn at Penn price of $40 per day. On one of our stays we brought our dog and it was a great experience. I will stay here again. It is probably not as polished as the Inn at Penn but it is fine for us. My only complaint is that I wish the hotel restaurant was not Asian but really, there are so many restaurants around that it doesn't matter that much. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep, you'll be fine here. The beds are very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. For a business trip, that is generally sufficient.

However, the wireless internet was down. The furniture in the room was worn. There were wires hanging out of the heat/AC unit. We waited ten minutes at the bar in the Asian restaurant for a bartender that never came. The entire hotel - even the restaurant - just looks worn out and in need of a face lift. Skip the restaurant and go someplace else for dinner. Breakfast in the Asian restaurant, however, was good, even though I was surprised at their lack of a buffet.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, unless all of the other options are taken.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomrudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived at 9:50 pm and check in was very fast and trouble free. By the time I tried to get dinner, room service was not available at 10:00pm and the only restaurant in the hotel (Chinese) was closing. The manager of the restaurant offered to reheat some already prepared food since the kitchen was closed (a nice gesture). I passed and realized there is no place to eat within a block or two after 10pm. I took a $10 cab ride to central Phila to find a decent restaurant. Turns out there were some places 4-5 blocks away. Room was dated but not too bad. I had a room right near the elevator but it turned out to be quiet enough. The bed comfort was excellent. Overall an ok place for a group rate $159/night hotel. Very convenient to Children's Hospital if Philadelphia and the University City area which does not have the variety of downtown but is quieter.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL-XVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,393 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,338 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $160 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing