We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the roast pork!”
Review of Tommy DiNic's

Tommy DiNic's
Ranked #27 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: City Center East
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get the roast pork!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We found a spot at the bar almost right away, which was a surprise on the weekend of the 4th.

On a friend's recommendation, we shared a roasted pork sandwich with greens (get the broccoli rabe) and provolone. In a word: DELICIOUS. Each flavor was amazing. Not cheap ($13.00 for the sandwich and two drinks) but with every penny to share with a friend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    199
    91
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reviews are right. Great pulled pork sandwich”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow, best sandwich I had tasted. We drove 2 hrs to try and it was worth it. Pulled pork very tender with cheese and greens it was perfect. Will never be able to look at a cheese steak same way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brentb1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best sandwich in the world”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

this place was rate the best sandwich on travel channel and they were not lying. i waited in line for about 20 minutes and it was completely worth it. the roasted pork is delicious and the combination of sharp provolone makes it melt in your mouth. the rolls are fresh baked and delicious. i can't wait to go back and try the brisket and roast beef.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CP6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich? It just might be”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My brother and I each ordered a sandwich, one with roast pork, spinach and sharp provolone, and the other with beef, broccoli rabe, and the provolone. Both were unbelievably good. As with any sandwich, the bread tells the tale, and this bread was excellent. Get there early to avoid the line, but if you have to wait, it's certainly worth it. You won't need dinner after putting one of these away. A true Philly classic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jt4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than CheeseSteak”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Saw this place on a show on Food Network channel. Wanted to try this place and was glad I did. I liked the Cheesesteak from Jim Steak on South Street I had but this sandwich was a lot better. It is a small place and you just sit at the bar and place on order. It is in the Reading Terminal Market and so it is busy. There is a different line ot place orders to go. I waited less than 5 min to get my sandwich after ordering. It is not cheap but worth a try. It was $11.50 for the pulled pork and drink. This was the best meal of the weekend and will probably make this must eat when in Philly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krisencalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tommy DiNic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing