We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a perfect place for my college girlfriends! I live in Chestnut Hill and it is such a pleasure to have this beautiful hotel for out-of-town guests. We were able to walk to everything from the hotel.The night they arrived, we ate dinner next to the hotel, at Paris. We had the Farmer's Market right next door for coffee and pastries on Saturday morning. We hung out at the awesome fire pit and roasted marshmallows another night. There was even a festival on a nearby street with lots of local artisans on Sunday. The hotel staff were gracious and very helpful. I am thrilled to have this treasure in my town! Thank you for a wonderful addition to Chestnut Hill!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Tracey2300,

Thank you for your gracious comments. Paris Bistro is a great new restaurant that opened just a few months ago. They have a jazz club on Thursdays - Sundays so if you did not have a chance to check that out, try it the next time you are here. The fire pit is a new amenity that was added last summer and we are glad you were able to enjoy it. Our staff prides itself on delivering excellent guest service and we are pleased to hear you found the staff to be helpful. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    90
    32
    17
    15
See reviews for
118
133
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here mainly because of its location. From what I can tell, this is the only hotel in the area. The hotel lobby staff were very polite and quick at check in. They let us know of the free parking, free breakfast, and the free internet (be warned the internet is a little slow). Everyone loves free! Our room was modern and comfortable. The bed was a delightful surprise over other hotels and the bathroom appeared to be recently redone. Our room was quiet, other than the occasional door slam or loud car driving by outside (to be expected). The hotels elevator had a carpet that appeared had not been cleaned in quite some time. Not the biggest of deal, but it did kind of smell. Overall we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 305 is a nice king bed that looks out onto Germantown Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Stefan,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area and that you had a positive interaction with our lobby staff. The hotel was completely renovated two years ago, thank you for noticing. We have cleaned the carpet in the elevator.
We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I needed a reasonably priced property for a weekend stay in the Philadelphia area while participating in a local running event. When I priced hotels in Center City, they were out of my price range, and there were no deals to be had. After searching online, I came across the Chestnut Hill Hotel. It was fabulous. I loved that there was a free parking lot adjacent to the hotel, the room was spacious, and it included a microwave, a decent-sized TV, a refrigerator, and very comfortable bedding. There was a Farmer's Market with interesting food vendors behind the hotel, and we sampled the two restaurants, The Grille and Paris Bistro. The continental breakfast was comparable to those offered at chain motels, and the fact that it was served on real china added to the luxurious ambiance. The staff was cordial and accommodating. Once we were in for the day, we parked the car and didn't need to go anywhere else. The only minor things were that the television channels were very limited, a fact we noticed more than usual because my traveling companion was sick and we stayed in a bit more than we might have otherwise, and the microwave door was broken, so we couldn't use it. An in-room coffeemaker, standard in most places, was not here. Still, I give this hotel 5 stars because it was an elegant property in an interesting neighborhood at an affordable "city" price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi JerseyGirl,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We thank you for staying with us and we hope your race went well ! We are happy to be able to offer our guests free parking and we are glad you were able to sample some of the restaurants in the area.
We are sorry to hear that your microwave door was broken and will fix that immediately to ensure no future guests experience the same problem you did. We will also consider your suggestion about the coffeemaker.
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrow ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had stayed in this hotel in the past. It has been updated and modernized beautifully. Bathroom was super.
Contintental Breakfast very nice. Nathan was catering to us and had a wonderful personality. General Manager was pleasant and accomodating.
Chestnut Hill is a great town to walk and browse.

Room Tip: Our room was the Sureme King
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnycash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Jonnycash,
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you had such a positive interaction with our employees and have passed your feedback on to Nathan. Our staff takes great pride in offering excellent guest service and we are happy to have met your needs.
We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is my second time at this hotel. But, the first time in their 'Carriage House'. It was really charming! The rooms are wonderful, and the bathrooms, just stunning! The surrounding area has changed too, and there is now a market right next door that is also fabulous! The Grill, part of the hotel was a great place for Sat brunch, the shops in the area, so cute! Truly loved it! My room had a fire place, that was supposed to start easily eith the push of a switch, I could hear it trying to light, but it just never did....otherwise I would have given 5 stars. The BED was supremely comfortable too! So good, I seriously may buy one. I'd say STAY, I'd also recommend the Carriage House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Annette,
Thank you for staying with us a second time. The Carriage House is a unique building with special rooms that include a fire place, clawfoot bath tub, and white marble bathroom. We are happy you were able to get a good night's sleep in our beds, which are made by Simmons. You can call Simmons at 1-866-926-8233 and give the location code, 65-443, to order the same mattress if you would like.
We are looking into the fireplace switch and will have it fixed. If you ever have a problem like that in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk so we can remedy the situation.
We hope to have you a third rime at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Valley, Pa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

A group of us stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday and everyone was impressed. I live not too far from Chestnut Hill, my favorite Philly neighborhood, so I've never stayed the night. Since so many friends were in from out of town we decided to stay together. My friends wished they booked for two nights because it was such a great place. The breakfast on Saturday morning, including in the cost of the room, was excellent. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful, and they didn't mind that we hung out in the breakfast area for quite a while, while friends slowly departed. The hotel keeps food in that area all the time so you can always have some coffee or tea, with a few other choices. If you stay here you will be happy~ and where else can you park in Chestnut Hill for free yet walk to every fun shop in town?!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliKef44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Alikef44,
We are so happy we were able to accommodate your large group of friends at our hotel and we would be thrilled to have you again for any future events. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and coffee and tea throughout the day. Many of our guests appreciate the free parking and we are delighted you were able to take advantage of this wonderful amenity.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We decided to stay 2 nights while in Philadelphia for a nearby concert. Parking is free, although the lot is small and very busy on Saturdays. The room was clean and comfortable. The hallways and entrance appear to be recently renovated. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast staff was very helpful and attentive. Our room had staining on the ceiling, but was otherwise warm and inviting. The front desk staff was helpful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Travelmom50,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear you would stay with us again. The hotel was completely renovated two years ago, thank you for noticing ! We will pass your kind words on to our staff.
We have noted your feedback about the ceiling stain and cleaned it.
We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing