We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in the carriage house and loved the room. Excellant bedding, marble bathroom with claw tub, unique wooded "barn" type doors for bath and closet. Excellent location. Loved the china set for the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LakeSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Chestnut Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this room for two nights. We had the Honeymoon Suite located in the Carriage House building (though I hadn't requested that room). The rooms in the Carriage House have lots of character (timbers, stone). The king size bed was very comfortable with a nice comforter on the bed. 42 inch tv over the fireplace. The highlight was the bathroom. Whirlpool tub was nice! The shower stall was one of the best showers I've had. The towel warmer mounted on the wall was a nice touch. Modern, large tile throughout. Breakfast was cereal, pastries from a local bakery, waffles, all served on formal plate ware. The coffee was not the best...syrup out of a machine, I think. The surrounding area of Chestnut Hill is quaint and fun to walk around. The hotel has a restaurant which was often busy but we never tried it. We really enjoyed our time there and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We were here for two nights for a convention, we would have stayed in the city center, but everything was booked. Hotel is a little more run down than their website photos, but the nice restaurants and excellent staff make up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoop6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is located in a very pretty area on the outskirts of Philadelphia.
Our stay was a brief one night en route to DC.
The bedroom was located in an annex next to the main hotel so did not see the other rooms which i understand have more character but a very helpful gentleman on reception organised us into that room as we required two beds and this was the last available.
The annex is right next door with one easy flight of stairs to the rooms. The room was very generous in size with two double beds, two armchairs and a dining table. The beds were amazing and deserve special mention as they were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was excellent with good quality L'Occitane products.
The bar in the main part of the hotel was reminiscent of an English pub, was busy but not noisy and served good food.
We were offered a later checkout if required. Unfortunately we slept in (probably due in part to the excellent beds) and missed breakfast but there is a small farmers market in a building behind the hotel or a restaurant about 100 metres away on the main street which served a good eggs benedict!
Parking behind the hotel was very convenient and did not cost extra as it would have done in the city centre.
We were very pleased we chose this location rather than staying right in the city. Village atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed two nights here while visiting Philadelphia. It's a bit of a jaunt on the SEPTA but worth it. Chestnut Hill is a beautiful little village with a good variety of shops and restaurants. My room was large, quiet and very comfortable. The included continental breakfast is very substantial and varied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in Philadelphia on a filming adventure with no knowledge of the city or its suburbs. Germantown Blvd and the Chestnut Hill area are beautiful with lots of history and well maintained historic structures. We enjoyed being out of the city center, but within an easy travelling distance. Found this hotel by accident. We are so fortunate!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireCatSmile_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As other reviewers have already pointed out, this is a well kept and managed boutique hotel in a historic property with a lot of character. The room décor was excellent. The bedroom was separated by the living room by a wall, providing privacy and the feel of being in a small suite. There were 2 flat screen TVs on each side of the partition, one being large. The room charge was reasonable and breakfast was included. I would like to spend a few words on the location. The neighborhood is an elegant, historical district/village dating back from the Revolutionary War, with multiple shops within walking distance (think of Georgetown in Washington, DC) but nonetheless well connected to downtown Philadelphia by train. The SEPTA Chestnut Hill West station is a few small blocks (5 minute walk) away and the train ride is <30 min long. Thus, this hotel is a great choice if you want to be a short ride away from the downtown area, yet a world away in terms of ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,282 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $194 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing