We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$290
$256
Kimpton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
$174
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$234
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
343
101
34
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
101
34
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housegermantown avenuefarmers marketfire pitparis bistrochestnut grillbombay roomcin cinpost office buildingnespresso machinemain buildingcharming hotelcontinental breakfastsmall hotelclose to the train stationhistoric charmmake your own waffles
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 512 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Chestnut Hill Hotel served as our base during wedding festivities. Accommodations were fantastic, personal service abounded. No need was unmet. When Hurricane Sandy's arrival disrupted our departure, they were flexible and accommodating. Location could not have been better. Since our last visit, the hotel has been renovated and the results are so inviting. The ownership and management team are highly visible and interactive. They care and it shows. From the early Philadelphia photographs and architectural renderings to the wonderfully eclectic collection of vintage china and place settings for the continental breakfast, every aspect of the hotel exudes warmth, charm, and the warmest of welcomes. The bar off the lobby was a lively gathering place for guest and locals. The Farmers Market and Deli across the patio was a treasure trove of delicacies, and dinner at the Chestnut Grill delightful. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCK012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The historic hotel is a short walk from the Chestnut Hill West train stop. And along that walk you will see all sorts of places to visit: pubs, co-op grocery store, cool hardware store, home furnishings, an actual record store, banks, etc. The hotel's continental breakfast combined the expected food with unexpected place settings -- nice touch. Our room was in the annex building behind the main property, and it was terrific. Modern and stylish. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravelTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This 36 room lovingly restored hotel sits within a wonderful collection of shops and restaurants. Particularly enjoyed "The Farmer's Market" which seemed to me a mini-replica of the downtown Philadelphia Indoor Market! You don't have to walk outside in order to enjoy first class food and drink at "The Chestnut Grill", but if you do walk there are many places to dine within just a short stroll. Our room was filled with wonderful touches - ours had a gas fired fireplace, infra-red "LED" lit mahogany clad closet, bathroom with tony tub and shower, heated towel rack and floor heater etc. toGiven a tour of other rooms we found them all custom finished and unique. We were lovingly cared for by a highly motivated staff. Rating the entire property on a scale of 0 - 10, I'd give the Chestnut Hill Hotel an "11" (translation, 5 out of 5 stars plus)!

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique with different decor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

came for a family celebration which was greatly enhanced by our staying at this beautiful and well run hotel ''chestnut hill hotel''on germantown avenue ,pa.19118.easy parking [free].free breakfast every morning.free internet.an added leisure pleasures.a very useful fitness room with each unit having free tv.very comfortable king size beds with the latest flat large screen tv working excellently.super clean rooms with the latest bathroom models-radio with ipod inputs -thank you for your free newspapers in the morning.you made our trip the very best in traveling experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Leon,

Thank you very much for the nice words ! We really enjoyed having you and your family here during your celebration, and hope to see you again in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel was absolutely lovely. I was lucky enough to meet the owner who was extremely kind and accommodating to whatever I needed. I was able to eat in their restaurant which has wonderful food as well as tour the area around the hotel. All aspects of this hotel are lovely. If you can appreciate unique and elegant design touches you will certainly love this hotel. Not only is the hotel a treat, the staff is just as wonderful. I will certainly recommend this hotel to all friends that come into the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "carriage house" rooms which was lovely. The design touches are beautiful and each room has a unique design & feel to them. I'd suggest requesting one of the carriage house rooms which not only has wonderful elements to them with your every need but a touch of history.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews