We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the vey best in hospitality and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

came for a family celebration which was greatly enhanced by our staying at this beautiful and well run hotel ''chestnut hill hotel''on germantown avenue ,pa.19118.easy parking [free].free breakfast every morning.free internet.an added leisure pleasures.a very useful fitness room with each unit having free tv.very comfortable king size beds with the latest flat large screen tv working excellently.super clean rooms with the latest bathroom models-radio with ipod inputs -thank you for your free newspapers in the morning.you made our trip the very best in traveling experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Leon,

Thank you very much for the nice words ! We really enjoyed having you and your family here during your celebration, and hope to see you again in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 490 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

My stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel was absolutely lovely. I was lucky enough to meet the owner who was extremely kind and accommodating to whatever I needed. I was able to eat in their restaurant which has wonderful food as well as tour the area around the hotel. All aspects of this hotel are lovely. If you can appreciate unique and elegant design touches you will certainly love this hotel. Not only is the hotel a treat, the staff is just as wonderful. I will certainly recommend this hotel to all friends that come into the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "carriage house" rooms which was lovely. The design touches are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Chestnut Hill area of Philadelphia is a wonderful leafy suburb with cobbled streets and lots of small shops and restaurants with the Chestnut Hill Hotel bang in the middle of it all. Its a small hotel made up of three two storey buildings built close to each other including a renovated coaching house complete with winding gear in the room I stayed in. Really friendly no fuss hotel with breakfast included and in an area that's easy to get to. End of the Chestnut Hill West SEPTA line. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Lynton T,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us ! Hope to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

An excellent choice for business or pleasure! You cannot pick a better location. Mica offers haute cuisine and the picturesque views from the hotel are lovely. Walk to train, farmers market, restaurants, galleries and more! Lovely staff; lovely rooms.

A little slice of an NYC village in Philadelphia......

Offers nice continental breakfast, too.

Room Tip: If you need absolute quiet go for third floor. If you need additional space request a suite. They al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear m g,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay ! Hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great hotel with a wonderful staff that was very helpful. The newly remodeled rooms were beautiful. I will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. It is in a great location. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A group of us had to book a hotel last minute for a convention and didn't want to pay what the downtown hotels were gouging people for. Based on a recommendation by a friend that lived in Philly for a a while we chose this hotel and couldn't have been happier. At first we were concerned about being too far from the convention center, but we were downtown and parked in under 45 minutes during morning rush hour which was acceptable, especially since we were paying under half what the downtown hotels were charging.

It is a smaller hotel with nice rooms and the staff along with Ron the owner were very attentive the entire time we were there. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in, which as a business traveler is a big deal.

It's a great combination of hotel, location and reasonable price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Chestnut Hill Hotel last December (2011). We booked a room at that hotel after visiting the web site and viewing what we thought was a room that would be similar to ours. We were in the Philadelphia area because we were attending a family event nearby and had our small (10 pound) dog with us. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk and told we were staying in the "annex."

The annex was next door and all the rooms in the annex were on the second floor. There was no elevator in the annex and we had to climb a steep and long flight of stairs to get to our room. The carpet in the hall and in our room had large stains and our room was badly in need of a renovation. The bathroom was tiny and out dated. The hotel was on a busy street and we could hear traffic all night. The walls were thin and we could hear other guests entering their rooms.

The continental breakfast was fine and the hotel owner visited each table. He told us he was aware that the rooms in the annex were substandard and he had plans to remodel them soon. Unfortunately, we paid over $200.00 for our substandard room. We could have understood if we had been charged a lower price because of the condition of the room, but the rates were the same for all the rooms, whether updated or not. The room we stayed in was nothing like the pictures on the web site. We feel we were taken advantage of and will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birdie86509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
829 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $194 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing