We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great hotel with a wonderful staff that was very helpful. The newly remodeled rooms were beautiful. I will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. It is in a great location. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    90
    32
    17
    15
See reviews for
118
133
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A group of us had to book a hotel last minute for a convention and didn't want to pay what the downtown hotels were gouging people for. Based on a recommendation by a friend that lived in Philly for a a while we chose this hotel and couldn't have been happier. At first we were concerned about being too far from the convention center, but we were downtown and parked in under 45 minutes during morning rush hour which was acceptable, especially since we were paying under half what the downtown hotels were charging.

It is a smaller hotel with nice rooms and the staff along with Ron the owner were very attentive the entire time we were there. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in, which as a business traveler is a big deal.

It's a great combination of hotel, location and reasonable price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Chestnut Hill Hotel last December (2011). We booked a room at that hotel after visiting the web site and viewing what we thought was a room that would be similar to ours. We were in the Philadelphia area because we were attending a family event nearby and had our small (10 pound) dog with us. When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk and told we were staying in the "annex."

The annex was next door and all the rooms in the annex were on the second floor. There was no elevator in the annex and we had to climb a steep and long flight of stairs to get to our room. The carpet in the hall and in our room had large stains and our room was badly in need of a renovation. The bathroom was tiny and out dated. The hotel was on a busy street and we could hear traffic all night. The walls were thin and we could hear other guests entering their rooms.

The continental breakfast was fine and the hotel owner visited each table. He told us he was aware that the rooms in the annex were substandard and he had plans to remodel them soon. Unfortunately, we paid over $200.00 for our substandard room. We could have understood if we had been charged a lower price because of the condition of the room, but the rates were the same for all the rooms, whether updated or not. The room we stayed in was nothing like the pictures on the web site. We feel we were taken advantage of and will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birdie86509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in the hotel during our wedding week and had the most fantastic experience. From the cleaning crew to the front desk to the restaurant service to the owner, Ron it was by far first class. We have already decided to spend our 1 year anniversary in the carriage house. Thank you so much chestnut hill hotel! You were the most accommodating group of people I have ever come across! See you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmckeon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the rooms were elegant and newly remodeled. I enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to anyone! Also check out the restaurant next door, they have great food and awesome staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motleyl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Owner Ron and staff were most cordial and helpful. Neighborhood was interesting, inviting, and safe. Room was very comfortable. Easy to get downtown on nearby train. Close to a major tennis club. Continental breakfast was quite sufficient. Wendall W.

Room Tip: I liked the room on the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This charming hotel is located on Germantown Avenue which is loaded with cute shops and excellent restaurants. The rooms have recently been remodeled and they have gone high-end on everything. The king bed was very comfortable. The hotel is well sound proofed. We were on the main street side and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was large, bright, and very clean. The lighting was great for putting on makeup. The owner was on premises and daily checked that everything was ok. The price included breakfast, and there is a Farmer's Market immediately behind the hotel. The patio restaurant was very good. We spent four nights and I will recommend this to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing