We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough. Nice neighborhood. Great deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough. Nice neighborhood. Great deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just returned from a one night stay in the post office annex. I read a lot of reviews before going and now I see how they come together. This is a small, boutique hotel with fashionable, even quirky decor. We drove into Center City Philadelphia, which took about 30 minutes. The neighborhood was pretty and felt safe.

Pros

The Post Office Annex looks recently remodeled as do the public spaces. (I didn't see any other rooms.) The room had 2 queen beds and a kitchenette. It was retro modern, which was fun in a Mad Men kind of way.

Brittany and Nina were both very friendly and helpful.

I thought the bed was really comfortable, but my husband did not.

High end toiletries. Well stocked kitchenette. Marble bathroom.

Nice area. Farmer's market and restaurants looked appealing.Pretty flowers.

Belgian waffle

Great price

Free parking

Workout room

Cons

Only one person working the desk at a time. Had a hard time getting through on the phone. Long wait to have question answered.

Had to seek out staff for bowls and plates at breakfast. Breakfast offerings nice but very limited. (There weren't very many guests at breakfast. Perhaps putting out more would have been wasteful?)

Could hear traffic going by all night. Did not hear neighbors. I imagine it was quieter than being downtown.

The room was very hot when we checked in around 6:30 pm. 86 degrees! The hall was hot too. It took a while to cool the room down.

The room felt a little small. All of the furniture was petite, apartment-sized. The features were all space saving, which just emphasized the tight quarters.

The bathroom was lovely, but the floor of the tub appeared dirty. It could be that it was as clean as it could get. There was a little pink mildew in the shower.

I would stay there again. My "cons" were minor and were more a product of it being a small hotel. Overall it was a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    85
    31
    16
    15
See reviews for
109
124
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not one thing negative to say about our two-night stay here. Room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor, bed super comfortable and bathroom nice and modern with excellent lighting. Continental breakfast was complete with fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal and even a waffle-maker for those inclined to make their own. I understand parking can be challenging in Chestnut Hill but with the private lot out back for the hotel - this was not an issue. Very much appreciated the service of the front desk staff -- every question and request was accommodated with a smile and a genuine and pleasant attitude. When the hairdryer in my room stopped working and we called the front desk for another - it was delivered to our room within 5 minutes. Never had anything brought to my hotel room that fast! When my niece developed an allergy - the owner of the hotel even called his daughter who was pediatrician to help us out - going above and beyond what I would ever expect. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great option for the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights for local wedding, the staff was nice, the room was modern and clean. Great continental breakfast. The Chestnut Hill Grill restaurant and bar in the same building is not owned by the hotel but it is also nice and has great food and staff. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've stayed in a few comparable hotels to tell that this one was fine -- the quality of the physical plant was nice, but the room looked a little weathered. The dark walnut finished everywhere are my favorite design aesthetic for lodging, but this old hotel might have left a little spiff off the place when it came to the rooms. There was bulging paint on the ceiling which seemed to indicate an old bit of water damage, and the bathroom seemed municipal in the manner it was designed. Also, not a big deal, but there was still some spattered toothpaste on the backsplash from the previous lodger. And, there was some ground-in chewing gum on the carpet. Also -- the wall-mounted AC unit in the next room rumbled like a truck engine all night, vibrating the headboard at 5 a.m. However, the village it's located in is beautiful, and 25 minutes from city center Philadelphia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillScurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My sister and I stay here when we come to visit my Mom and our Aunties, cousins, etc. The hotel was newly "redone" and what an amazingly good job they did. The bathrooms were very well done. I stayed the first two nights in the carriage house and the bath was fantastic - claw foot soaking tub, great shower, high end bath products. When my sis arrived, we moved to a double room that was super fun....may sound odd but felt like we were in South Beach Miami. Really fun colors and art and room treatments. Very clean and beautifuly done. The owner is on site and was very interested that our stay was enjoyable..do not find that too often. Perfect location too....downtown Philly took us 20 minutes. The historical feeling of the street the hotel is located on is also awesome and worth a walk-around. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We couldn't be happier. Beautiful room, very clean and modern. We stayed in the "Carriage House" and loved the contrast between the rustic touches and modern style/accomodations. The room was recently renovated and has all of the modern amenities you need, fireplace, jacuzzi tub, frameless glass shower, and even a heated towel rack. Right in the heart of downtown Chestnut Hill, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanted an authentic Philadelphia experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_carickhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a cool little hotel in Chestnut Hill that has been renovated in the past few years. Our room was small, but clean with a nice bathroom. We will stay here again for sure, as the location is awesome and the charm of the hotel is great. There is a very nice breakfast downstairs in the morning that was included where we made our own waffles. Go ahead and stay here, and make sure you walk around the wonderful town of Chestnut Hill!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you need that. Our room was small, but fine for us for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meemer_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,986 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing