We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised Clean, Safe and Easy Train Access to Old City!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I booked this place through a Priceline bid and was pleasantly surprised! The hotel is within a sort of "Corporate Park" surrounded by other mid-price hotels such as Embassy Suites. The Front Desk guy was very helpful and the hallways were well-lit, super clean and quiet. The room I got was very big and had a pretty elaborate kitchen set-up with a huge refridgerator/microwave, coffee-maker (gotta supply your own coffee tho') and a new Flat-screen TV. It's an easy 3 block walk to the Train Station which is across from a 24-hour Wawa Market (Philly's local 7-Eleven type place). This hotel above all is totally safe and totally clean, a big plus for a solo traveler! Big thanks to the sweet art student who works the Front Desk at night!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringaGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at out hotel and for recognizing the efforts of our staff, especially our Front Desk Agent. It is so rewarding to know that your stay with us was enhanced by the friendly service, in-room amenities we offer, the standard of cleanliness we keep and the properties general location. Thank you for such wonderful feedback!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. With all hotels in Philly booked for a 9/11 event, I was left no alternative but this hotel. I figured, by the airport, priced right, looks OK from the outside...boy did I figure wrong. I will start with the services offered:

- No Wakeup call
- No transport to the airport...a mile away
- No ability to print a boarding pass
- No phonebook or menu for food

Now the facility:

- Horrible beds - boardlike is a compliment
- Filthy room - the comforter had a stain on it, I dont want to say what it is...but I will share, I slept fully clothes for fear of catching something.
- No shampoo at all - one tiny bar of soap...
- Peeling walls
- A dirty chair in the corner
- Peeling walls in the room and bathroom

Literally, the inside of this facility, from the lobby to the rooms was "institutional" at best - think a '60's era minimum security prison or psych center. Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at - am I have stayed at truck dives in the Carolina's, so I am saying a lot.

I cannot underscore how bad this one is...With any luck, it will be plowed under soon and nobody will ever be tempted to even roll the dice on this place. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecseps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-PCH, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

"Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Philadelphia - Airport. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked this room for an overnight stay and was a little nervous because of some of the reviews i read. However, I have to say that I did not experience the same problems as some of the other reviewers. Check in was quick and the lady behind the counter was pleasant. My room was not above average, but it was nice. I liked having a little kitchen, everything was clean, there were no unpleasant odors, and NO bedbugs. The linen was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only slight negative feedback i would give is that the carpet by the air conditioners was damp. But the actual air conditioner worked like a charm. All in all, I had a very good experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly3b2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish a positive review of your stay at our hotel. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future and correct any issues that you may encounter. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was in town to celebrate my birthday with family and needed somewhere affordable to stay. I stayed at the Extended Stay Deluxe before, wasn't impressed but it was okay. We decided to stay here since the prices were reasonable. The good thing is the size of the rooms was great. The kitchenette was even okay. The bad - the bed was horrible. It was like sleeping on wood. The other problem is why can't they offer continental breakfast, coffee, tea, etc. on the weekends? The TV ads indicate continental breakfast but they don't tell you it's only available on weekdays. In addition, you cannot have your room cleaned if you stay less than three days. That would have been nice to know when we checked in. The decor could also use updating, it looks dingy and they leave the door open where you can see the huge washer, which is behind the front desk. Nonetheless, it's a half decent place to stay if you are on a tight budget or for emergency.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at our hotel. I know how committed we are to satisfying our guests. I want to let you know that we truly listen to our guests and are in the process of upgrading our hotels with new beds, flat screen TV’s and a "grab and go" breakfast. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is a dump. We needed to stay near the airport and were traveling with our dog so that's why we booked despite the lukewarm reviews. A huge mistake. The room didn't look clean and my husband wouldn't even use the glasses! The bed was creepy but we were so tired we could overlook it. No shampoo, no hairdryer and only one bar of soap. My husband's sister heard her neighbor snoring all night. Luckily we were only there overnight - if not we would have had to leave no matter what. All this for just under $100 a night. Eeech.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates.

As well, our staff strives to ensure that each of our guests are not disturbed during their stay. The noises within the Lobby and throughout and the property are policed so everyone has a good nights rest; however, sometimes these sounds can be out of our control.

I take seriously your concerns, and assure you that we work very hard to improve. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't stay here.
The room smelled like greasy food, the stove was filthy, the blanket had a "sex" stain on it, the doors to the rooms don't open and close properly, the outside door bangs shut and people from the "seamier side of life" are actually "LIVING" here.
I left the very next morning because I was too tired to drive away on the evening that I checked in.

Room Tip: Try another facility near the airport if that's where you have to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I tried this hotel back in September & wasn't impressed. Much so, I turned around & left after inspection of the room and went somewhere else. However, this time, after looking @ the room, I decided to stay. The a/c worked perfectly; actually iced cold. I had to turn it down because it was too cold for me. The bed & linens were clean and bedbug free, thank goodness. I would've wanted more pillows but I made do with two. Bathroom was very clean but there was no soap. No biggie for me, I had my own. Nice, clean towels & plenty for me. There was a full sized fridge, a 2 burner stove, sink & microwave. I didn't use any of these but it was good to have if I did. Big room with lots of space & flat screen TV. The only negative would be the front desk reception. No one was there when I arrived & I had to wait until she got back & this was 5pm in the afternoon. When I went down for change, for the vending machine, the other clerk cut me off before I finished asking the question. Clearly, she doesn't like her job. This didn't bother me, as I have a thick skin, but good customer service is important in the hospitality business. I would recommend this hotel and next time I'm in Philly, I would stay here. Negotiated this room on Priceline & got it for $48! I got my money's worth & more. Even though the interstate is right beyond the parking lot, didn't hear any of the traffic. They're many options for lodging in the immediate area but I will, more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baesheart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review about our hotel. We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I do appreciate the opportunity to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described. I truly understand your aggravation and the inconvenience you experienced. The circumstances you have detailed are, of course, unacceptable and highly regrettable. It is our goal to provide a pleasant and relaxing environment where our guests can feel at home when they’re away from home. And we recognize that in order to achieve that goal, we must provide outstanding service.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. I hope you will give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand locations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Airport
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
#46 of 89 in Philadelphia
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.

Address: 9000 Tinicum Blvd., Philadelphia, PA 19153-3101 (Formerly Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $85 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. Parking: $10/night up to 7 nights. Shuttle Bus Service Monday- Friday 5am-10am and 5pm-10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Philadelphia - Airport Hotel Philadelphia
Extended Stayamerica Philadelphia Airport
Extended Stay Philadelphia
Philadelphia Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing