We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad hodgepodge of design and fire alarm issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bad hodgepodge of design and fire alarm issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We arrived at the Park Hyatt on Saturday for a quick one nigh stay. First off the Park Hyatt has a great location at the corner of Broad and Walnut Street. The hotel is easy to find but the entrance is located on a side street/alley and not on either Broad or Walnut. You walk into a lower lobby but need to take the elevator up to the 19th floor to the reception area.

The reception/lobby/restaurant area you enter when exiting the elevator is beautiful. The overall decor is very modern but tastefully done like most Park Hyatts. We checked-in without any problems and were upgraded to a Park Deluxe (I am a Hyatt Diamond member) for our one night stay. The room was located on the 14th floor so you have to take an elevator down to the rooms. When the elevator door opened on the 14th floor I thought we had landed in a different world. The decor of the hallways was awful! Think grandma's retirement community!! The wallpaper was teal with gold accents and the carpeting was a horrible blue pattern. The room itself was also very "old world" and not modern at all. I wasn't expecting a new modern Park Hyatt room but the room we had was not even close to the pictures shown on the Hyatt website. The wallpaper was white with green, blue, gold and brown patterns. The room was very large so we didn't get too bothered by the decor since we were only there for one night. I just can't understand that the rooms have not been updated to match the decor of the lobby area. What a hodgepodge of colors and designs!

Didn't get a very good nights sleep due to noise in the hallway and a fire alarm at 4:30am. The fire alarm announcement continued for over 30 minutes before they finally announced that it was a false alarm. I stay at a lot of hotels and a fire alarm seems to be fairly common today but it really shouldn't take over 30 minutes to deactivate the alarm!!

To summarize...hotel rooms need to be updated to fit in with the lobby area and the Park Hyatt vibe. The location however can't be beat! We did not have any issues with the service provided by the staff as others had mentioned. We actually thought the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Outdated decor in hallways and rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    359
    174
    87
    55
See reviews for
261
353
85
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

Site of the first ever outbreak of Legionnaires' Disease, I wondered throughout my stay at the Park Hyatt Philadelphia if it would have been better to have demolished the infamous hotel and replace with a modern facility.

Having stayed at the Park Hyatt in Chicago, I expected a similarly wonderful experience in Philadelphia. Instead, I found myself in a bizarre museum-like facility that suffers from too many ill-conceived reconfigurations and, consequently, exhibits some serious shortcomings, particularly for a hotel that markets itself in the Park Hyatt caliber.

Don't get me wrong -- you'll be comfortable here with good beds and linens, attractive furniture, large rooms and closets, cleanliness, and all the perks you'd expect in a Park Hyatt. But so many other things are out-of-whack here that when you're paying these kinds of rates, you may want to save yourself the frustration and stay elsewhere. For example ...

If you want a comfortable ground-floor lobby in which to relax or meet friends and family, don't stay here. There is no lobby.

If you like having your morning breakfast at a proper comfortable table, don't stay here. Breakfast is served on tiny cocktail tables and low-slung coffee tables.

If you are bothered by peeling paint, beat-up woodwork, and shoddy carpentry, don't stay here. You'll just be endlessly annoyed by the constant reminders of poor maintenance.

But if you desire a great location and intend only to stay in your room and do nothing else, you'll be fine here. Just don't count on a great view -- buildings this old don't have picture windows.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean room.
  • Disliked — No lobby or casual restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

OH, what a GRAND hotel. They just can't build lodging like this anymore. 'old in grace new in face' is an apt logo for her. She is a full-service hotel in downtown Phila. just a block or so from City hall. Near the arts etc. Ask for a corner suite above the 9th floor for the best views. $$$ but its' worth it ,good value.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Dad1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

I was in the Philadelphia area with my girlfriend and decided to stay in the city for a Saturday night. You have to keep your eyes open for the valet entrance, but it is no problem if you pay attention. The building is beautiful and the staff were very helpful. We booked using Platinum Travel Service through American Express and were automatically upgreaded to a suite, but I saw one of the standard rooms and that seemed fairly good size also. The suite was huge, at least 900 sq. ft. The decor and furniture seemed a little outdated, but I think that was due to the hotel keeping with the look of the Beaux Arts building it is housed in. The gym is by far the best that I have ever seen in a hotel and highly recommend Park hyatt for that reason alone if working out is important while on the road.
Room Service was about average for this class hotel.
Service was great.
Rooms very comfortable.
I plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

This hote is a fine propery with good customer service - a great gym - but a hige price tag.

The location is great - right in the middle of the downtown with lots of shops, dining and historical attractions within walking distance (and a Starbucks in the lobby of the shopping mall where the hotel is located).

The lobby is a bit odd - you go into the entrance and then have to go up to the top floor to check in. I found the whole lobby at the top of the building and then having to weave through diners in the lobby/eating area annoying and somehow pretentious - but other than that and the high, high price (possibly par for the course for the location and the fact that it's a full service hotel) I was very satisfied.

The room was huge. Huge. I can't convey it's hugeness. One other problem actually - the huge room I had overlooked a central interior courtyard in which a restaurant is located - this set-up acted like an amplifier so rather late into the night the noise was a problem - a staff member dropping a metal tray sounded like a gong beside my head.

The gym connected to the hotel was incredible - it was a full-service gym with classes and all of the equipment (on multiple levels) you could ever want. You get a day pass from the hotel for free. I have to tell you - even the "gym yoga" class I had was OK ( as gym yoga goes).

nice property - glad I wasn't footing the bill and I wouldn't pony up that sort of cash on my own.

  • Liked — Incredible gym - free access with the room
  • Disliked — Very pricey
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

I was traveling to Philadelphia for a medical conference at the Park Hyatt and decide to stay there because it was my first time in Philadephia and I was traveling alone. What a great surprise. The staff were wonderful, the room beautiful, and the food fabulous. I wish I coule have stayed an entire week instead of only three nights. I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

We loved the Park Hyatt. Our purpose for traveling to Philly was the King Tut Exhibit. The hotel was amazing- great linens, great service,
great room. We were really impressed from the time we walked in. We had a little bit of a problem finding the parking lot- mostly because I left the directions at home. It was a good location. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Great amenities and linens
  • Disliked — Finding the parking lot
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissFarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#24 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#22 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Property: Hyatt at The Bellevue
Address: 200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing