We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed March 7, 2009

It's an oldy but goody. Great location in Philly, easy walk to most sites. The interior of rooms were nice, and everything worked well. I was on an inside interior courtyard, so no natural light. Fairly quiet overall, but easy to hear people in the hallway. Decor is dated. Poor wayfinding. Best feature: complimentary access to one of the best health clubs in the country. I would only stay here if someone else was footing the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

This was our second visit to the Hyatt. While we enjoy an overnight in Philly for the shopping and dining, the hotel was far from the highlight. We checked in at 4:30 to be told they were cleaning our room. We went out and got a call at 6:30 pm that our room was ready. Waiting in the lobby, there were many other couples (valentine's day) in the same boat as us. The room was fine. The hotel you must remember is old and a big musty. Only two elevators so there's often a long wait to get downstairs. The plus was the gym downstairs, a private club that the hotel has access to. The hotel's best feature. We went downstairs for the breakfast on Sunday around 10 am and waited about an hour and a half to be served eggs. The buffet was not restocked which had guests waiting for fruits and vegetables to accompany their meals. I was glad to be staying only one night. I would probably find another location in center city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed here for a few nights for a friend's wedding. The hotel was excellent - a huge room, with a fantastic en suite.

What really stood out for me was the food. We had several meals here - including the wedding rehearsal and main wedding dinners - and it was some of the best food I have had in the US.

The staff were excellent and without a doubt this is a hotel with class. I would definitely recommend the Park Hyatt and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

First we arrived to a beautiful building and great bell man services. After we checked-in we entered the room it was quite beautiful and just our liking. The view was a ball room. I would of prefered a city view though. Overall it was a good stay and a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelGuy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I stayed at the Bellevue twice. It is relatively expensive; the decor of the brunch room and the restaurant are fabulous. The rooms are quite stuffy and old, the building is "under-elevatored" and there is no impressive lobby. All in all, not a bad experience, but there are probably better options in downtown Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cf778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We were really looking forward to our stay in the Park Hyatt, based on the hotel website. We booked online and received a (correct) confirmation by email. However, when we checked in, we were informed that we were sharing a room with two strangers. When we said this was wrong, the staff treated us as if it was our mistake and were extremely offhand. At no point did it occur them to apologise for the mix-up or the time it took to put it right. The room was quite nice - very small but well decorated on the whole. However, instead of the city view we had requested we were on the floor of the conservatory, looking into the central space but with a tall screen immediately outside our window so that we didn't even get any of the secondhand light from the glass roof several floors above. The breakfast is quite nice (although they can't poach eggs properly) but definitely not worth the high price and the service is very slow. The location of the hotel is good, but Philly is so small you can pretty much stay anywhere without too much inconvenience - don't stay here unless you have no other choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this hotel for six nights.
Origionally, we had a basic room with falling plaster and poorly cleaned but, after one night, we were upgraded to a deluxe queen room which was lovely. It was a much bigger room and in good condition.
I like this hotel.
The staff were very helpful.
The restaurant was lovely.
There are several shops on the ground floor and a good food court on the level below which makes it easy to grab a snack or cheap meal.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $186 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true grandeur, historic style and unrivaled service at one of the most iconic hotels in the all of downtown Philadelphia. Situated on the famous Avenue of the Arts, Hyatt at The Bellevue seamlessly blends old-world architecture with modern interiors to provide a stay that epitomizes Philadelphia luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing