We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt at the Bellevue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hyatt at the Bellevue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, the architecture, the size of the rooms, the light. The reservation process had significant problems that did not go away during our visit. The front desk check in was also problematic. The people smiled and then didn't do what they promised. We were asking for two reservations each for consecutive nights to be put together. Doesn't sound so difficult but apparently it was beyond the ability of multiple service people over the phone and in person. We were locked out of our room after an event on Saturday night in the late evening that required us to go to the front desk to get a new key. When notifying the front desk of the television not working, the comment from the service person was "Oh, electronics...."

Room Tip: The rooms were lovely but I would go to a different hotel to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twizzlertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    360
    175
    87
    55
See reviews for
262
354
85
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here last weekend after visiting a friend in West Chester, PA. Location was superb, but it turns out everything in philly on Saturday closes early! We ended up going to Monk's cafe for drinks and belgium food which was awesome because it was so close to the hotel. After several drinks we were able to stumble a few blocks back to the hotel.

Only advice for the hotel is that the staff needs to be more informed. We were told the pool closes at 11pm and that would be awkward for us to be in our bathing suit wandering to a closed pool.

Room was decent size, bathroom was an odd design, but spacious. The only downside was that the pool closed early (7pm) so we were not able to enjoy it. Other than that, I had a great night sleep (love Hyatt's bed). We were also on the upper floors so it was nice and quiet. Overall had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tafanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Classic old hotel in excellent location. Comfortable beds. Short ride to all major attractions. Food destinations abundent in area. Need to step up concierge, conflicting information given. Before you leave Philly find a Federal Donut, if you like donuts you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_nyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt at the Bellevue from May 31 - June 2, 2013. It had been a few years since I stayed at the hotel and I found it is in need of a facelift. (This used to be my favorite hotel in Philadelphia and I have stayed here approximately 4 times.) The last time I was there, they had just renovated the restaurant XIX and it was a beautiful space. Upon my return, the restaurant looked run down compared to what it had been. The rooms are also a little run down. It is a shame because I really love the location but I will not return unless there is a major renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am glad to hear that our location met your needs. I also appreciate you feedback regarding our XIX Lounge. I am sorry to hear that the lack and location of electrical outlets caused an inconvenience for you. We wanted to inform you that we will be undergoing a full renovation towards the end of this year. This will include our guest rooms, corridors, elevators and hotel lobby. The furniture that will be chosen will offer our guests more accessibility to outlets and will be more user friendly.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Philadelphia you will consider visiting us.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

In it's day this probably was a beautiful hotel (and could be again if it was renovated). Positives: It has large rooms. The architecture is interesting. A good location if you want to be near City Hall, Broad Street businesses, or the downtown historic attractions. The 19th floor bar is attractive. Negatives: There were no free power outlets in my room except on a wall far from the chair, desk, or bed. That's right - no power at the work desk. I had to pull a heavy chair all the way across the room to use my laptop when plugged in to recharge. Even the bathroom outlets were weird - instead of being next to the sink (for a razor or hairdryer), it was on the wall 3 feet directly above the toilet, and probably 6 feet above the floor. The layout is confusing - not all elevators go to every floor, and they are hidden away, not where you would expect them. The reviews commenting on the dirty carpets and rundown elevators are not completely right but not wrong - I found the carpet in my room and the hotel halls to be completely clean but old, tired, and out of date. This is a Hyatt in name only.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GateE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Hyatt at the Bellevue is in a great location in downtown Philly. This is a property rich in historical elegance. Because of the age of the hotel, it is quirky and charming. Case in point, there are 3 elevator banks, but they don't all go to the same floors. That took some figuring out. It's a hotel with personality, and lots of details worth noticing. The ballroom is breathtaking, and has hosted events with scores of US Presidents. Ask a staff member if they'll show you the control board for the lighting system. Fascinating.

My guest room was small but had everything I needed, including a great view of the city. The room, and the hotel, showed its age, but it's a reason to stay here if you appreciate history.

Hotel staff are friendly and go the extra mile to help out.

Don't miss the serenity of the 12th floor conservatory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the history of our building. The Hyatt at The Bellevue was built in 1904 and we are very proud our history. While we will maintain the integrity of our history, we will be undergoing a renovation towards the end of the year in an effort to improve our product.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.

P.S. Did you know that Thomas Edison designed the lighting panel in the ballrom?

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 5 nights here and really loved the feel of the old world charm of the building. That charm though does extend to fairly slow lifts and some what tired structure suchas wall coverings and doors. The electronic card reader on my door failed 4 separate times but was "repaired" very promptly by willing and friendly house staff. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Good location with shops and servicable food court down stairs. Excellent gym next door which you get free access to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medalsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the history of our building and that our service met your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the multiple issues you experienced with your keys, I am glad the staff was attentive, however, 4 times is certainly excessive.

I wanted to inform you that we will be addressing your concerns regarding the wall coverings and doors in our upcoming renovation which is scheduled to begin at the end of this year.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#24 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Property: Hyatt at The Bellevue
Address: 200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing