We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old-world hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful old-world hotel, great location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful old-world hotel in the center of Philadelphia, in close proximity to City Hall, Rittenhouse Square and the restaurants and shopping on Walnut Street. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is pleasant. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff treated you as you deserve. We are also glad that our Center City location met your needs and hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    374
    186
    93
    61
See reviews for
283
372
88
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is like part of this giant building that also is a mall. That in itself is not much of a selling point for me. The hotel parking was very expensive but parking in downtown Philly is a nightmare. Up to you how you want to solve that problem but bringing a car to this hotel is not the best idea since you would have to solve that problem.

The room we had was spacious and we actually even tried the lounge on the top floor. Skip the lounge. Expensive food with not-expensive views. Stick to this hotel as a, "I can trust the rooms to be spacious and clean, and no frills."

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators. i don't know how you can request that, but it's loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsedToSmallSpaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding you recent visit with us. We are pleased that our room accomodated you, however, disappointed that you were not impressed with our XIX lounge.

We also understand that paying for parking may be an unexpected cost, we wanted to inform you that although there is a $28 fee for self parking nightly, we are proud to offer on site parking to our guests.

We do hope that despite your disappointment with our lounge that you will consider us if your travels ever bring you back to Philadelphia.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to spend a wonderful evening at the Hyatt at Bellevue--what a treat! We entered into an impressive marbled food court area and were escorted to the main lobby. Employees were helpful and expedient. Being granted a room on the 17th Floor, we waited patiently for the elevators--the elevators are NOT very efficient when it comes to timing. Upon entering the elevator, we quickly saw that it was well worth the wait. It was like something out of the turn of the century...all rich woods and mirrors...truly a delight. We arrived at the 17th Floor and walked down a long, well appointed corridor to our room.

The room was an ample size with a king-sized bed, living area with desk, couch, and coffee table, walk-in closet that was really another room, and bathroom. There was a shelving unit with coffee service, ice bucket, and other accoutrements. We were disappointed there were no water bottles. The room was beautifully decorated, but the couch showed signs of worn. We were later informed that in December, 2013, the entire hotel is being redone from top to bottom (I hope they don't lose the charm of the elevators!) While the room had its own temperature control, we had difficulty getting it cool enough for my liking. The hallways and elevators were rather warm as well. The room had a window, but it looked out onto a white brick wall. The bathroom was very, very nice (though the toilet seat cover seemed about flimsy in contrast with the rest of the room). They even supplied toothpaste!

We took the elevator up to the 19th Floor to check out the bar area...WOW!!! Exiting the elevator, we walked into a circular-shaped room with excellent views of the city. Down a hallway, we found the posh bar area. High ceilings, huge windows offering a great view, rich dark woods...it was truly beautiful. Our bar tender, Dan, became a fast friend. As we are currently looking at colleges with our son, Dan shared a great deal of his knowledge of the schools in the area (University of PA, Drexel, School of Arts...) We reluctantly parted ways to prepare for an event we were attending in the ballroom that same evening.

The ballroom, located on the 2nd floor, is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed a cocktail hour with blow-your-mind hors d'oevres, in the "balcony" area which overlooked the main banquet hall. When the time came to go to our tables, we went down a staircase to a very, very nice banquet room. Initially kidding each other that we were going to a "rubber chicken" dinner, the offerings were anything but! Each course was delivered with finesse--and each course was better than the last. It was a night to remember.

The next morning, we enjoyed breakfast in another room on the 19th Floor which had a huge rotunda-like ceiling. I could literally hear the conversation of the table across the room from us! Once again, the food, service, and ambience were top notch. It was with regret we returned to our rooms to pack our bags.

While we did not have the opportunity to use the gym facilities, other guests raved about the size and offerings of the gym. Each guest we encountered were just as happy as we were to stay there. One caveat I must admit: we were in town for my cancer treatment center's (CTCA) Celebration of Life--a celebration of the fact that I and about 30 other patients have been living with late stage cancer for five years (!) As such, we did not pay for any of this world-class treatment--which made it all the more special. Still, especially given they are renovating soon, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who was seeking a step back in time to opulence and world-class service.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, as our room looked out onto a white, brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad that you appreciated the history of our hotel. Hyatt at The Bellevue have a lot of pride in the history of our building and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for the compliments to our Banquet and Culinary team and are glad that you enjoyed your experience here.

Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your five years, keep fighting.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

You know that panicked feeling you get sometimes when you travel like, "oh man I know I forgot something..." You do not have to think twice about it when you stay here. They thought of everything, and can get it right to you because the staff is phenomenal. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Everyone. Yes it needs some updating in certain, but it sounds as if they are working on it. If the rooms turn out like the 19th floor... It's going to be amazing. I actually wished I had more time to hang out in the hotel. When can you say that!?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkinney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations in customer service. Hyatt at The Bellevue pride's itself on our customer service and we will be sure to share you positive comments with our staff.

Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again in Philly soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a nice hotel! It was the biggest single room I've ever stayed. It had glorious sheets, pillows and duvet, a desk and chair, a dining table, 2 living room style chairs, a foot stool. It's in a great location, walking distance to the convention center, restaurants, bars, and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad that your guest room exceeded your expectations and that our location met your needs. We hope to see you here again in Philly soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The lobby is lavish and beautiful and the shops in the hotel were an added bonus. Our room was quite spacious - surprisingly so. Nice and quiet too so we got a fabulous (and much needed) night's sleep. Cannot beat the location! We walked just about everywhere, from the liberty bell to Chinatown to town center to Reading Terminal. The dining on the top floor, xix, offers a variety of scenes from formal to tiny bites to cocktails outside, high above the city. Definitely a Philly gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loria1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and good nights rest. We are glad that you took advantage of our locaton and saw as much of our city as you could.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Philly you will choose our hotel once again.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a grand old hotel rebranded as a Hyatt. There is a fantastic restaurant on the top floor that is worth a visit just for the architecture. Throughout the hotel the service is excellent. There is an upscale shopping arcade with Tiffanys and Teuscher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your visit with us. We appreciate the compliments to our Restaurant XIX and our staff. We hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,440 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,228 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Property: Hyatt at The Bellevue
Address: 200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing