We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good but with a few puzzling deficiencies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
lexington,kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good but with a few puzzling deficiencies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked with Priceline for $70/night and certainly the room was large with high ceilings, a comfortable bed and nice old classic hotel feeling with a good location and nice staff at check-in. The management seems to be a little lax, however, when all the makings for complimentary room coffee are there except the actual coffee maker! A waste of my time searching for it and another person couldn't find it either. In the bathroom, the shower curtain barely reached more than 1/2" below the top lip of the tub, making it a challenge to avoid a large puddle on the floor unless one angled the shower head toward the wall rather than in the center. More time wasted using the a towel to dry up the water on the floor. Still, I would book again if I could get a room through Priceline but I wouldn't pay the going rate. I stayed at this hotel when it was a Park Hyatt and I remember all the details as working much better back then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stemcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you fo taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We would like to apologize for the poor condition of the room, including the lack of a coffee maker and the length of the shower curtain. We appreciate your feedback as this is how we improve our hotel. I do hope that if given an opportunity to visit Philadelphia again you will consider our property and give us an opportunity to provide you the level of service Hyatt prides itself on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    304
    143
    66
    44
See reviews for
188
282
70
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a renovated "suite" to avoid the peeling wallpaper and chipped paint cited in other reviews. Our 12th floor "suite" with a balcony faced the atrium-- sounded great when we booked. Actually, the balcony was level with the floor of the dimly lit large space with no plants or decor, but with foot traffic and haphazardly placed chairs yielding no privacy. The black shades on the windows are necessary for any privacy, but make the room even darker. We glimpsed into a room facing the street, which looked brighter, but not updated.
And although the room wewere in looked renovated and was advertised as allergy friendly, the dust mites must be rampant because I had a severe allergic reaction whenever I entered the room and took lots of allergy medication to be able to sleep. The elevators are impossibly slow.
Do not be swayed by the advertisement of an old and gracious hotel. The current lobby is one quarter of the size it used to be with no where to gather and,again, little light. What used to be the elegant hotel lobby, is now a municipal lobby with a food court and Starbucks. The crystal chandeliers from a time gone by remain near the Starbucks.
We had tickets to theMummers parade, we certainly could not have seen it from our window.
The restaurant on the 19th floor is nice and the Captain, Wilmer,personifies the best of customer service. Visit the former lobby, but if you are averse to allergic reactions and dreary rooms, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clean4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and had an allergic reaction to dust in the room. I do hope that you will consider giving us a second opportunity to come visit us, we do have newly renovated rooms that face the outside which will give you more light. I encourage you to reach out to me via the hotel, I would like to offer my personal apologies to you and discuss your concerns further.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hyatt at the Bellevue is centrally located and apparently refurbished. Service personnel were excellent; very attentive and eager to please.

Our king-sized room appeared to be recently redecorated in a contemporary minimalist style. The bed and bed linens were very comfortable. Flat screen tv with HBO… free wifi.

On the downside, the water temperature in the shower was “variable” so I was constantly adjusting, looking for a happy medium between hot and cold. Also, one of the light bulbs in the bathroom mirror was out and the toilet tissue holder was partially unscrewed from the wall, which made it a little tricky to use. These are small things, and it is an old hotel… still, it IS a Hyatt and I would have expected housekeeping supervisors to check for such things and notify maintenance.

Even so, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Philadelphia.

A few other helpful notes: Parking is $28/day for self park and $37/day for valet. And… the entrance to the hotel is actually around the corner, on the side street just after you pass the entrance. The “Gourmet Food Court” is NOT Gourmet… it is not even appetizing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent New Years Eve and Day at this gorgeous hotel. We had a wonderful dinner at XIX at the top of the hotel. Our high-ceilinged room was huge and beautifully furnished. On New Years Day we were able to see the spectacular Mummers Parade from our hotel window. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

the hotel was great. Had a vintage feel to it and perfectly positioned in Center City to where you can walk to get restaurants. I would stay again. The employees where professional and personable. The only knock would be the not so fast elevators. Great place though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very close to all the historic sites and Jefferson University -- great old classic hotel with outstanding service - built in 1902 and architecturally preserved so it is beautiful -- renovated to modern standards so quite comfortable - highly recommend place if you need to stay near the historic district

Room Tip: Can be noisy from "canyon effect" of narrow streets and tall buildings so choose a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here on Nov 23rd for one night. Huge room with 2 queen beds. Had a marble bathroom and lots of very nice amenities. Great location if you want to explore downtown Philadelphia and the historical sites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1dervol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,946 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#38 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,547 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#16 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Property: Hyatt at The Bellevue
Address: 200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing