We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed August 5, 2014

When we booked our stay online, the pictures looked great for this hotel... Still, when we arrived, we were taken aback by how awesome this place was, from the modern lobby (complete with fresh fruit and fruit infused ice water), and our room was just as amazing! The beds were heavenly, we had a huge flat screen television, and the room was immaculate. The staff was friendly, helpful and very professional throughout our stay. One of the neatest things about this hotel is that is a classic city building which was completely transformed, yet it retained the charm of the original building (high ceilings, tall street view windows, and classic baseboards and ceiling trim). We will definitely return to Philadelphia for future vacations, and will without a doubt stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback. It is rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. It is always our ambition to give a one of a kind memorable experience. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 560 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

We checked out a lot of hotels online and finally decided to try the Rodeway because of the price and location. When we called the hotel directly, they gave us an even better price than on the web and the $12 parking per day seemed unbelievable compared to the other hotels in the area. We weren't expecting much - just a cheap, clean room for 2 nights. Were we surprised! We had asked for "a room with a view" but Dawn at the reception desk showed us a very small room in the front overlooking the street and suggested another room towards the back of the hotel which seemed twice the size. The room was clean, recently renovated, decorated nicely, spacious and quiet. Even had a fridge and Kuerig coffee pot. No, our floor wasn't on a slope as someone has said. Seemed perfectly level to us. Perhaps too much partying? :) The desk personnel were terrific. They all went out of their way to be helpful. The lobby is small but nicely decorated. No breakfast but they have fresh water and fruit for guests in the lobby. Lots of places to eat around there as others have said and it is in the heart of everything. We kept telling ourselves how lucky we were to find this place. It makes a trip to Philly perfect!

Room Tip: Apparently every room is different. We were told rooms on the front were smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Thanks for confirming our rooms don't slope! Our building is 115 years old but we are solid, safe and charming.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Checked into this hotel and found our room was on a slope. Concerned about safety we called down and spoke to the lady on reception who offered to show us another room. Brian Krason came to the room and told us we could not move as we had unpacked. He told us the room was safe but did not want us staying since he stated he only wants "happy guests" for his reputation so we must pack and leave immediately. We told him that as long as the room is safe we wanted to stay, he said no, we had complained and we had do go. Distressed we rang choice who were very helpful in calling the hotel. He then told us we could stay so we packed our things for another room. Literally five minutes after concluding our conversation with choice he came back and told us "now that you have your things packed you can leave". It was July 4th weekend and we had no where to go. If you value customer service DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!! Horrible experience no one should go through.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank bktraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Encouraging a guest to leave is always the last resort of any hotel operator but sometimes for the benefit of others and someone's own welfare we do in fact ask someone in your apparent condition to not stay. With the amount of stairs we have and the volume of your speech you were anything but easy to try to and work with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a great find in a great location in Philadelphia. I was there for July 4 and their rate was great. Do not let other Rodeway Inns appearance make you not stay here as I have seen some sketchy Rodeways. The staff was helpful, I was shocked when they went outside to hail us a cab. The room was clean neat and appeared updated, reminded me of a small European hotel. Not a ton of amenities but that's not needed when coming to visit Philly. Great finds within walking distance. Not too far to walk to Liberty Bell, South street if wearing comfortable shoes. Close to shopping, Rittenhouse Square, Reading terminal market, Chinatown. Walking distance from septa station. Would recommend for a great room for a weekend of exploring, not luxury but clean, great price and great location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are most pleased to read that you were exceedingly happy with your decision to stay with us. Thank you for commending our staff, rooms, rates, and location which we take immense pride in. We strive our best to give you the best in customer service. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Location couldn't be better. Lots of great restaurants and walked to everything. Park across the street for $12 overnight. With that being said, worst night sleep we've had. We needed 2 queen beds with 2 adults and 2 children. They were overbooked and upgraded us to a suite. We thought that meant 2 queen bed suite...like maybe with a couch. It was one queen bed with a pull out couch. Neither the mattress on the bed nor the couch were remotely comfortable. It's an old building so the floors are slanted which gave us an uncomfortable feeling. We had to request towels for the shower and sheets and pillows for the couch because they weren't in the room. Also, someone left a well looked at Maxim in the nightstand. All in all, location is great, staff pleasant, but we would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masimonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. Your concern about the beds, sheets, and pillows will be forwarded to our staff. Thank you for commending our hotel’s location as well as our staff. We do hope you will return and let us show you a far better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Rodeway is within walking distance to everything! The hotel and the room itself was quite charming. My room had a refrigerator, microwave, kuerig coffee maker, iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi was free. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice and quiet. They keep free fruit and infused water at the front desk for guests.

The staff goes out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. One of the staff members told me about the $10 Liberty Shuttle to the airport when I had mentioned I called a cab. He cancelled the $30 cab for me and called the Shuttle to pick me up.

I will be back! :-)
Cheryl G

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Cheryl,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Glad the shuttle worked out and with you needing to return to Philly from time to time just go to baggage claim and look for the ground transportation desk. Pick up the Lady Liberty shuttle and tell them you are heading to the Rodeway.

See you in a few weeks Cheryl and this time the shuttle is on me!

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel because its location first; the parking at the front made it very convenient too. Room was impeccable (though a little small, but I guess that's what comes with such a classical old building), very clean and cozy with a nice bow-window facing the street.
The AC was a little too high and, though I tried to close the outtakes, the room remained cold during the night which was not a good thing, but I guess that's something easy to fix.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411estebanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#52 of 88 in Philadelphia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Address: 1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $99 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing