We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodeway Inn Philadelphia = EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Rodeway Inn Philadelphia = EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The accommodations were excellent, newly renovated and very comfortable. The staff was polite and eager to please. Located close to everything important and fun in Philadelphia. Great visit to Philly!

Room Tip: 2nd floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Let us thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn Philadelphia. We are so pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our accommodations and services, and you were take full advantage of our unbeatable location. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. You can trust us to provide you with another superb experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    183
    63
    28
    50
See reviews for
81
155
81
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stay in Choice Hotels all over New England and this hotel surprised me! First off, I got there late my first night. The man at the front desk....most of the time that person is like, "Here's your key." And they just want you out of their face so they can go back to playing Candy Crush or some other game on their phone. NOT MAHFUZ! He's a REAL employeprenure! Totally awesome guy and I ended up talking with him for a while. He made me feel welcome and at home and because I was in Philadelphia for "not a good reason", it was what I needed. Very cool guy.
The room was very clean and neat, which I love and they provided a night time drink that was perfect! In the morning, when I went down stairs, everyone else was very lovely and helpful. I'd go back there in a second.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

I called MahFuz this morning when I saw the review to let him know about it. The staff always appreciates seeing that they left an impression on guests in a positive way. I know he works hard and asked me to thank you for the comments.

Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something we deal with and unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass this is a tough one. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great downtown location, comfortable, but small rooms. Elevator is quite small, since this is an old hotel - BUT - the rooms appeared to be newly renovated. It was quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. All the staff were very friendly and professional, and the reception desk staff were welcoming and more than helpful with regard to dining. Could walk to Reading Terminal Market, (about 2 - 3 blocks) which is fantastic - be sure to try the donuts at the Amish market there!!! Also, the fresh oysters and the many vendors carrying beautiful displays - and plenty of places to grab a bite.. We caught the "Phlash" bus to the Barnes Foundation, and it makes about 20 stops at attractions around the city (Liberty Bell, etc.) - only $5 for getting on & off - unless you're a senior - then it's free! The bus runs about every 15 minutes, and is small and comfortable.
Great trip to a great place with a great little hotel. By the way, when we left they were power washing the sidewalks in front of the hotel! It's a much cleaner and more welcoming city than I remember from quite a few years ago.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosietomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something we deal with and unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass this is a tough one. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location, easy to get to many sights/restaurants/bars on foot. Friendly staff and clean room. Great hotel if you need a place to stay whilst exploring the city. Room a little chilly and tv package basic but would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are so delighted that we succeeded in providing you with a superb experience. Of paramount importance to us is guest satisfaction, hence, we are greatly pleased that we were able to attain our goal.

We appreciate you for mentioning that we have an unbeatable location, being conveniently near many famous tourist sites, bars, and restaurants. Thank you for mentioning as well that we have a friendly and you stayed in a spotlessly clean room.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were incredibly impressed with this newly renovated hotel! We received a very nice room with a European style bathroom. We were within two miles of the Amtrak station, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, US Mint, Ben Franklin's gravesite, Constitution Center, and a wonderful theater. The staff was very friendly - even going as far as getting us a cab before we left. We had spent about 10 nights on the road prior to this stop, and it was by far the best room we had stayed in. The walls were high, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was awesome. We just can't say enough good things about this location. Don't let the outside appearance deter you - it doesn't look like much, but if you don't mind rooms that are slightly smaller than average, it's perfect! Anyone who goes to Philadelphia should really check it out!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It is so nice to hear that you were incredibly impressed by our hotel. We are greatly encouraged by your review to continue reaching for even greater heights. We appreciate you for mentioning that that we are ideally located, our facility is immaculate and comfortable, and we have a very friendly staff. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Philadelphia. You can rely on us to provide you with another exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Brittany greeted us with a smile the second we walked through the door and was so attentive to our needs. We couldn't have had a better host ! I'm always nervous when staying at hotels because of cleanliness but this hotel was very clean and it was comforting ! 2014060895105952.jpg we thank you for the great stay here !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarad42314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.


Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something we deal with and unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass this is a tough one. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brittany Renfroe
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, nice old building. I expected small rooms, small everything, really, but.... Let's start with passing off a double bed as a queen,and then insisting it's a queen, because, get this, the queen size sheets fit it. Continue with the worst towels in the history of hotels. They actually left marks they were so scratchy. The broken window shade so the sun came in nice and bright in the morning, which was really OK since the windows are so cheap that I heard people clinking glasses down at the sake bar til 4am...from the 5th floor. Relatively ow price for the location, pleasant staff, orange water and fresh? fruit in the lobby and free WiFi all made it tolerable for 2 nights since all we did was sleep in it, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croff_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We sincerely apologize for failing to live you to your expectations. We want to assure you that we will give your comments due attention.

We are sorry that you do not agree with our bed size description, but we do not mislabel the bed sizes available in the rooms we offer to simply suit our needs.

Our housekeeping department will be informed of your feedback regarding the quality of the towels and the broken window shade, so they can implement measures that will ensure that our guests are not inconvenienced. Your experience was a deviation from our room standards which place great importance on comfort. Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we may be given a chance to put our words into action and provide you with an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#47 of 86 in Philadelphia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Property: Rodeway Inn Center City
Address: 1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing