We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location, easy to get to many sights/restaurants/bars on foot. Friendly staff and clean room. Great hotel if you need a place to stay whilst exploring the city. Room a little chilly and tv package basic but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are so delighted that we succeeded in providing you with a superb experience. Of paramount importance to us is guest satisfaction, hence, we are greatly pleased that we were able to attain our goal.

We appreciate you for mentioning that we have an unbeatable location, being conveniently near many famous tourist sites, bars, and restaurants. Thank you for mentioning as well that we have a friendly and you stayed in a spotlessly clean room.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 581 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were incredibly impressed with this newly renovated hotel! We received a very nice room with a European style bathroom. We were within two miles of the Amtrak station, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, US Mint, Ben Franklin's gravesite, Constitution Center, and a wonderful theater. The staff was very friendly - even going as far as getting us a cab before we left. We had spent about 10 nights on the road prior to this stop, and it was by far the best room we had stayed in. The walls were high, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower was awesome. We just can't say enough good things about this location. Don't let the outside appearance deter you - it doesn't look like much, but if you don't mind rooms that are slightly smaller than average, it's perfect! Anyone who goes to Philadelphia should really check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

It is so nice to hear that you were incredibly impressed by our hotel. We are greatly encouraged by your review to continue reaching for even greater heights. We appreciate you for mentioning that that we are ideally located, our facility is immaculate and comfortable, and we have a very friendly staff. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Philadelphia. You can rely on us to provide you with another exceptional experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Brittany greeted us with a smile the second we walked through the door and was so attentive to our needs. We couldn't have had a better host ! I'm always nervous when staying at hotels because of cleanliness but this hotel was very clean and it was comforting ! 2014060895105952.jpg we thank you for the great stay here !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarad42314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.


Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something we deal with and unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass this is a tough one. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brittany Renfroe
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, nice old building. I expected small rooms, small everything, really, but.... Let's start with passing off a double bed as a queen,and then insisting it's a queen, because, get this, the queen size sheets fit it. Continue with the worst towels in the history of hotels. They actually left marks they were so scratchy. The broken window shade so the sun came in nice and bright in the morning, which was really OK since the windows are so cheap that I heard people clinking glasses down at the sake bar til 4am...from the 5th floor. Relatively ow price for the location, pleasant staff, orange water and fresh? fruit in the lobby and free WiFi all made it tolerable for 2 nights since all we did was sleep in it, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croff_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We sincerely apologize for failing to live you to your expectations. We want to assure you that we will give your comments due attention.

We are sorry that you do not agree with our bed size description, but we do not mislabel the bed sizes available in the rooms we offer to simply suit our needs.

Our housekeeping department will be informed of your feedback regarding the quality of the towels and the broken window shade, so they can implement measures that will ensure that our guests are not inconvenienced. Your experience was a deviation from our room standards which place great importance on comfort. Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we may be given a chance to put our words into action and provide you with an exceptional experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place has only one thing going for it and that is Brian on the front desk , he is charming.
As for the property, we think it had no identity, maybe it should lose the Rodeway brand and go private? they are trying but missing the mark. The rooms are tiny, the wet room really not our bag and it's noisy, if you are a student looking for a place to crash near the pubs, this is OK, but as we are seasoned travellers, it's really not our thing.

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday inn Express !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank row62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you felt you were just staying in an ordinary room and our property has no identity. We want to assure you that we continuously seek ways to improve our accommodations and services to enhance the positive experiences of our guests. Your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies and elevate the level of our services. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel and provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel was close to everything we wanted to see. Since we wanted to spend more money on what we wanted to see and shop than a hotel room this place was very affordable and clean. Breakfast was enough to get you going for the day. Good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We would like to thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Center City. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning that we have an unbeatable location and our rates are friendly to the pocket.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is my first one-star review, and hopefully the last one.

I was waiting in line to check in, and the front desk staff was extremely slow and did not even bother to raise his eyebrow to say hi. An usual line of "will be with you in a minute" seemed too much to ask for. So I waited for quite a while, only to find out he couldn't locate my correct reservation. There was no room ready for check-in either, at 2:30PM. He said he would check me in anyways and asked me to sign a sheet agreeing to a day-off rack rate that was much higher than reserved. I said I couldn't sign it because that was not the rate I agreed to when I made the reservation. He said: "You will HAVE to sign it." with his deeply annoyed tone "otherwise go away from my hotel!" I had no choice but signed it. I then called their corporate company Choice Hotels myself, where the phone agents were not much more helpful either. After spending 2 hours calling 3 or 4 people, some one on the corporate line said they called the hotel front desk and the issue should be straightened. So I returned to the hotel, trying to check in again with a different front desk agent. Unfortunately, she still couldn't locate the correct reservation, and had no idea whatsoever about the corporate call, or even what "Choice Hotels" is. After reiterating the problem once again, she couldn't seem to care less and gave me my checked bag back. I figured at that point it was no longer worth my time to try to stay at this hotel, which has a filthy and ugly lobby, very run-down outlook and cold, unfriendly and unknowledgeable staff. So I got on the next flight and departed Philadelphia one night earlier than originally planned, since the buzz was already killed for my leisure trip in Philadelphia after this frustrating experience at Rodeway Inn City Center Philadelphia.

It is not merely the inability to find a reservation that has earned this hotel a one-star rating; more importantly, it is the fact that no one seemed to care or had the ability to resolve the problem. It absolutely felt lawless (not very often in USA) at some point: we had a contract (reservation) with you, but we can't find it. Go stay somewhere else. "sorry".

To all fairness with Choice, I wrote an email the next day to Choice to complain about the issue and they did offer to reimburse my hotel expense, but I didn't bother: no more business with this horrible brand: Choice Hotels.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank drpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. You can be assured that we will conduct an investigation to determine why your reservation could not be located and why there appeared to have been lack of communication among our front desk staff.

We find it quite surprising that you found our staff to be inefficient and uncaring. Most guests who have stayed with us praise them for being very friendly and professional. Nonetheless, we value your feedback and will give it due attention. We do not condone any behavior that can tarnish the reputation of our hotel.

We hope that you will consider staying with us in the near future so that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel and provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#53 of 89 in Philadelphia
131 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Address: 1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $118 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing