We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were staying 3 nights in center city for a family wedding. This hotel was more economical than where the other folks were staying, and very clean. The staff were very helpful, especially Brian and I forget the maids name on the 3rd floor, but she was very helpful and worked with our flexible schedule. It reminded me of a European hotel; small but clean. The soap bars and shampoo were small but good quality and the only shortcoming was the size of the bath towels. The deal the hotel has with the parking garage across the street is also great...only $12 a day!! The hotel is going thru some renovations, but the rooms have everything we needed, e.g. refrigerator, microwave, big screen TV (sans HD) and Keirig coffee maker. The location was perfect. We put the car into the garage Friday night and didn't take it out until we checked out Monday morning. Plenty of local bars and restaurants within walking distance. GREAT VALUE!!

Room Tip: We slept well. It was not a noisy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamMc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

I am so glad we hit the right mark with you and your family while you were here with us last weekend. What a great city to come to for a wedding with the architecture and history. It was certainly my pleasure to serve your family while you were with us and I am glad judging from your review that you found the RodeWay Inn to be the hidden Jewel of Center City Philadelphia.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend the VIP rate.

See you at the RodeWay Inn where the only thing we overlook is Center City Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services Director
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    173
    59
    25
    47
See reviews for
78
145
76
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed at many fine hotels and resorts, my stay at rodeway was wonderful Bryan was on duty and treated us like old friends. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Directions where spot on. We will be using rodeway as our go to place when in the city. We could use the gym and pool up the street for $12.00 and parking was dicounted. The area is full of great eateries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jmoore406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

I am so glad we hit the right mark with you both while you were here with us last weekend. I also hope you enjoyed Mama Mia as it is such a great show. It was certainly my pleasure to serve you while you were with us and I am glad judging from your review that you found the RodeWay Inn to be the hidden Jewel of Center City Philadelphia.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend the VIP rate.

See you at the RodeWay Inn where the only thing we overlook is Center City Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services Director
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice entry, east to get to from Vine Street with parking directly across the street for $12. Brian at the front desk was very professional and friendly. He made you feel like your satisfaction was of utmost importance to him. He offered services I did not know were available, like hold my bags while I attended a business meeting the next day so I would not have to take them back to my car. Room was small but for the price how can you complain! If you do not need a fancy name and a large room, you cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from Walnut street, as it can be a bit loud - but this also happens at h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank fogghogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

No problem holding your bags and thanks for the positive review. As a small hotel we really do rely on word of mouth and comments like this go a long way for us; so thank you.

Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something we deal with and unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass this is a tough one. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a weekend trip and I've to say I was very satisfied with every aspect of my stay. Although the price was a bit high, but for this location its not only the cheapest you could find but it is well worth it. The hotel is located right in the center of the city with everything (attractions, nightlife, restaurants, shops...etc) within a walking distance. The hotel is also 7min walking from market east train station from which you can go to the airport & other areas around Philly.
The room itself was a bit small, but has everything you need (Tv, fridge & microwave) it was also very clean. The bathroom was of good size and was perfectly clean & everything worked well. The heater in the room worked well but you can't control from your room but in case you need adjustment, the staff are more than willing to do it for you. Finally, the wifi was fast with no problems with the connection.
Moreover, the staff were very helpful & always there to provide any help if needed.
Maybe the only problem with this hotel is the noise from the street because my room was facing the street but this what you get with a very central location, but maybe if you asked for a room at the back of the hotel the noise will be that loud.
All in all, I was very satisfied with this hotel & its location helped me explore the city & make a good use of my 2 nights stay so I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Operating a first class hotel in a one hundred plus year old building we are faced with some obstacles. As you said city noise from the street is something unless you are built recently and use sound proof glass. We feel we have maintained the old Philadelphia character of the building and added some great modern amenities. Although most of the challenges the guests don’t see when something goes wrong we haven’t done our job and by evaluating comments we see how we can do it better next time. Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will hit the right mark with you.

Thanks for the review!

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Older renovated building in excellent location. Friendly staff. Discounted parking garage across the street. Small but clean and newly renovated room. Big minus is no individual room thermostat. We slept with window open all night to cool off the room.(January) Had to deal with the city noise or wake up in a pool of sweat! No free breakfast as in other local hotels. Free wifi and basic cable . No pay per view movies. Fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee maker included in room. If you have more than a night or two, suggest another hotel with more creature comforts,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rodeway Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and were pleased with the rooms despite the heat situation. We look forward to seeing you again!




- Holly
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here 4 days for a conference.. this place is really well located in the downtown..and is pretty cheap for its location and quality of rooms.. though the lift is cramped and creaky.. that doesnt matter much.. I met a wonderful guy at the reception who was extremely helpful.. he went out of his way to help me fix my laptop in the dead of night.. I cant thank him enough

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rodeway Inn and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the staff. We look forward to seeing you again!


-Holly
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a great little hotel right in the heart of the action in Philly. Perfect for anyone going to a show at either the Forrest or Walnut Theater. It's a small place, the hallways are very narrow and the elevator is small. But, it's inexpensive ($130/night for 2 queens) and in the heart of the action. Right around the corner from El Vez (great Mexican), across the street from Starbucks, a quick walk to Macy's and the shopping in Philly.

In the rooms, it was clean and nicely appointed. One nice plus were the free bottles of water, and the mini keurig for coffee. Ice machine is on the 2nd floor. Water pressure was great in the room. Sheets were clean and fresh and the staff downstairs pleasant and accommodating.

It's a definite recommend for someone looking for a good value in the city.

Parking is across the street in the garage, make sure to get your ticket validated by the staff at the front desk to pay a discounted rate.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are a little noisy, you are in the heart of all the action in Center City, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank for taking the time to review The Rodeway Inn. We appreciate your honest feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the price. We look forward to seeing you again soon !


- Holly
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Property: Rodeway Inn Center City
Address: 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing