We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnighter in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick overnighter in the city”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked this place out on here and was impressed by the reviews. We walked in off the street and was given a decent nightly rate. The receptionists were polite and quickly checked us in.

The lobby area was clean and straight away sent out the right signals that the rooms would be similar. We were given a room on the 5th floor and was instantly impressed with the quality of the decor and cleanilness. The room contains a flat screen with a range of channels, a fridge and coffee maker. Parking is discounted across the road and is bang in the middle of the city, a short walk to Independence Hall. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and were pleased with the rooms. Please contact us again in the future as we would love for you to stay with us!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    183
    63
    28
    50
See reviews for
81
155
82
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay inn CC for the weekend and everything was either sold out or 300+ per night. Had some Choice Points so...what the hell! Now I won't hesitate to stay here again. Clean, intimate, friendly. Rooms small but I didn't come to Philly to sit in my room. Well done Rodeway! We will see you again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspa929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are really glad that your stay with us was pleasant and that our price was to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at some of the more luxurious hotels in Center City due to his work. They all cost close to $200 per night. We were looking for just one short overnight. Since we already had a rental car we also needed parking. We are Choice Hotel members and they offered the best price! Room was compact but clean, we'll placed furniture. Fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker with Green mountain coffee, two bottles of drinking water to make the coffee, free wifi with a pass code, comfy bed, nice tv! Discounted parking across the street! Friendly and helpful staff. Of course if you are looking for door men and valet parking, and on site bar restaurant you should look elsewhere. There is an elevator although small but it worked. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyvp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you were impressed with the renovations and the amenities that we have in the rooms. Please contact us again when you plan to visit Philadelphia and we will be sure to offer you the same level of great service.

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room was very clea, but it was a little bit small. Two of us had a problem fitting in. Bed was really comfortable and more than big enough. However the lady on the front desk ( with short hair) was impolite and lacked frendliness. She was completely not interested in helping. It seemed like she doesn't want to be there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I apologize on behalf of my staff member mentioned above. Our goal is to go above and beyond to exceed your expectations and it is unfortunate that you did not receive that. We have take the necessary actions to correct and reprimand this employee as we have a zero tolerance for this sort of behavior. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your stay an enjoyable one the next time that you are in the area.

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was travelling on business and I couldn't justify the rates at the some of the other Center City hotels. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Located just a couple of blocks from the historic heart of Philly this place was really cool. It is an older building, but that is part of what I liked. This place has a lot of character! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the employees were friendly and helpful, and the service was fantastic! Thanks especially to Susan for all of your help!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being able to have you as our guest the next time that you are in Philadelphia!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow, for a Rodeway Inn, albeit more expensive than most because of the locale, this far exceeded my expectations. It was clean. There were chocolates on the bed. The bedspread and linens were clean, pretty and of a high quality, not your staple generic hotel bedspread. The bed was exceedingly comfortable! It was s refreshing after having been traveling and staying in other hotels for several days with hard, slanted beds to land in this little slice of heaven for the night. The bedspread even matched the drapes, which had this really interesting texture that was wonderful to touch. The room decor was classy, clean, modern, and they provided complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom was ok. No bathtub, just a shower that needed re-grouting. The hot water did not work when I got up in the morning, though it did work for my partner the evening prior. There was a weird thing with the door, where it wasn't quite cut right to fit the carpet, so it wouldn't swing properly and you had to use your strength to push the door shut, a minor concern, but can be inconvenient when you are loaded down with luggage or you have safety concerns. Also, the elevator entry is so tiny, you almost have to shift sideways to enter. It would not be accessible for someone who is disabled or overweight on any of the upper floors. The biggest benefit is the locale: It is right in the middle of the city center, close to bars, pubs, shops, and restaurants, and rental car facilities all within walking distance. The parking garage is right across the street for $12 per entry...so if you enter once and leave your car there, parking is only $12, but if you leave and re-enter multiple times, it is $12 each day. The wi-fi is free, and the staff are nice. The lobby is pretty austere.

Room Tip: Disabled or overweight patrons should be bottom floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we and hope to see you again soon as we are just about finished with the renovations to the room and would love to have you back to experience the difference. Thanks again!

Thomas
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel and charm with service. On convention from UK stayed at this hotel; not only were we provided with great location, price and service, but also a nice view of the city with WIFI - always handy. The Meatball place across the street was unbelievable (A bit pricy though) and of course there is a starbucks directly across the street. The staff were helpful and friendly and made sure that we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sjpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. Yes, Marabella Meatball is definitely a great place and most of the staff here eats there pretty often. We would definitely love for you to come stay with us again the next time you find yourself in the Philly area and as always we will do whatever we can to exceed your expectations. Thanks Again!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
113 reviews
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Property: Rodeway Inn Center City
Address: 1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing