We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected-Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I almost never stay at a Rodeway Inn. They are typically the more modest end of the Choice Hotel properties. That being said, my wife and I were looking for a reasonable hotel within walking distance of the historic center of Philadelphia, and this Rodeway Inn was the most affordable for a couple of reasons: 1. the AAA price was $109.99 per night and they offered a subsidized parking rate of $12 at the parking garage right across the street from the hotel. I was quoted as high as $42 for parking at other, more expensive hotels.

While there isn't anything special about this hotel, they have undergone a room renovation of sorts. Our room was a queen bed (typical hotel queen, which is a little narrower than your queen at home) a fridge, microwave, K-cup coffee maker, HD flat screen and safe. The beds have nice new headboards, but the mattresses, while firm, are on the cheap side. The bathroom and shower were fine.

The lobby has yet to be renovated, and currently consists of a free standing desk. There is no guest computer to use at the moment, but they do have free wireless. There is no breakfast, but that's no big loss.

One word of caution. Although I'm sure they would disclose it, rooms 307 and 407 do not have an in room bath. You need to walk past another room to access your private but "detached" bathroom. I assume, but don't know that those rooms are less expensive

The location is great. It's at 12th and Walnut, which is a about a 15 minute walk to Independence Hall about five minutes to the Reading Terminal (see your tour book,) and two blocks to the nearest subway (Broad st. Line)

All in all, a decent hotel for a good price considering the location. I gave it four stars which might be a bit high, but price/location led me to bump it from three.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CT-traveler137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We wanted to be in the city, but couldn't afford the "better" hotels, so we went with this one. The location was fantastic. We could walk to all we wanted to see in the single full day we had, and we could. The room was clean, good bed, had a good fridge. The only complaint was the elevator wasn't working when we wanted to check out, so we had to schlep all our stuff down 3 floors. The we were told we couldn't pull the car up there to load, so had to take our four trips to get it all to the parking garage across the street. Only security complaint was one of the street doors went straight to the stairs, and there was no lock on the door, In the unlikely event of our ever having the chance to return to Philadelphia, we would stay again, but take less luggage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Juliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway2015, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway2015, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank donatellacordioli62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#53 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Address: 1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $101 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing