We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Annapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location was perfect with a lovely view, the staff was really nice and helpful, and it was a great value. It has an indoor pool and hot tub, gym and racquetball court. The rooms were spacious and clean, beds and pillows were very comfortable.

We got a deal on hotels.com and it included a free buffet breakfast in their dining room - very good! Really, nothing negative to say about this property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear suzt,
Thank you for taking the time to post something about your recent enjoyable stay at the Doubletree Philadelphia. I was very pleased to read how positive your stay was.

We hope to see you soon for your next visit to Philadelphia!
Regards,
Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    1,261
    522
    211
    94
See reviews for
785
788
235
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
305 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Three friends and I stayed here Saturday night during a visit to Philly. The location couldn't have been better: right in the heart of the gay neighborhood, within walking distance to the city's gay nightlife and restaurants. I can't think of a better place to stay for the gay traveler.

A few other things I liked: the chocolate chip cookies at check-in; the fast response to my request for more towels; the friendly staff; the amazing corner view of the city from our room; breakfast buffet included in the price of the room.

A few things I didn't like: the elevator in the garage was very slow and small; the buffet had a lot to offer but the food was only OK; the tiles in the shower needed a little work. Mostly small quibbles.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear NYCleveland,
First, I love that you took pictures! Secondly, it seems like you had an overall wonderful stay with us. I'm so glad that you posted very specifics things that you liked (and didn't like about your stay). Sometimes we aren't always aware of what we need to improve.

I hope you get to come back and visit us again soon! With spring right around the corner you might want to plan another visit. Our location is so great for walking in the spring-you get to see so much just by going a few blocks in any direction. It will be great to not have a winter coat to lug around!

We hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I would like to recommend this hotel due to the great staff - especially the Bell Hops! Each and every morning- these gentlemen helped me find my way around Philadelphia and made sure I knew where I was going! Great staff- Great Hotel!!

K, McClarnon
Pittsburgh

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclarnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear mcclarnon,
Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay. I have already forwarded your kind words on to our bellstaff. They are so knowledgeable and are always learning where to send our guests next!

I hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Bill Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Boro, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Doubletree Saturday evening, January 9th. We were in town for dinner but there seemed to be a lot of charming families with very well behaved children going to the Academy of Music (which is right across the street) and other shows on South Broad Street.

The hotel is literally just down the street from City Hall and is right in the arts district although GoogleMaps made it seem further. Our room was on the 18th floor and as other guests have said was not very quiet but after midnight was like a tomb. The room was small but very functional and clean. We had the health club to ourselves for over an hour and it was very good. Glanced at the pool and it was very nice.

The staff was very courteous, especially at breakfast the next morning which was very nice (but not outstanding, the roll selection was a bit stale). Parking was not a hassle but this was the weekend and Center City was deserted.

For the price it was an excellent deal and I wouldn't look further for a place to stay if you need to be in that part of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagneticCommand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear MagneticCommand,
So happy to read of your recent enjoyable stay with us at the Doubletree Philadelphia. We love that we host families, couples, business travelers and those looking for an adventure. It is what keeps us diverse and on our toes!

I will be sure to pass on your pleasant comments to our breakfast staff-they sometimes are overlooked due to people being in a rush and it just plain being morning...

The staff and I hope to see you again soon! Philadelphia is a great place to visit in the Spring!

Regards,
Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were very pleased with our sunny and large room (#2203). The location was great and the staff was cheerful and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the entire room was very clean. We would definitely stay at the Doubletree again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklasReston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear nicklasReston,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Doubletree Philadelphia. One of my favorite part of reading our guests reviews is how much they all seem to take advantage of our excellent location. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is my third year at the Doubletree for new year's eve and the parade. I have always been impressed with the staff and how the hotel security handles the "people flow" on the day of the parade. The room is a fine size for myself, husband and 8 year old. It is a very busy and fun time of the year to stay at this hotel but if you are wanting to enjoy yourself and the atmosphere, there isn't a better hotel on Broad Street along the parade route (we have stayed at all of them). We were very happy with the complimentary contenental breakfast offered on Sunday morning. My son loved the muffins.

If you are looking for a quiet new year's eve and day, this may not be the place for you. We personally love the fun and look forward to it every year. In fact, I just booked my room for next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Goodtimes,
I'm thrilled to hear of the great time that you had at the Doubletree Philadelphia over the New Years Holiday Weekend! It is such a great place to be right in the middle of all the action. After years and years of hosting many guests for the day of the parade we really have tried to make the flow of traffic of people as seamless as possible. Thank you for noticing-that is one day where all my staff really comes together to enhance the experience of all our guests.

We look forward to having you back next year! Have a wonderful 2011!

Regards,
Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager

PS-Why not come back before NYE???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I have never experienced a Doubletree like this! I may as well have been sleeping on the streets! I tend to take travel reviews with a grain of salt -- I'm kicking myself for not following others' advice about this hotel. While location is decent, that's about all the hotel has to offer. We reserved a "corner" room to watch the New Years Day parade from... we got the smallest room on the floor on the side of the building over an alley. We were quoted one rate - got another when we checked in. Because we were staying over New Year's eve, the hotel more than doubled our rate on that night. Apparently, their computer system is so antiquated that it couldn't handle two different rates for one stay, so it just charged us the doubled price for every night! Ice machines were empty or broken on every floor -- every night. Room service never appeared with the requested ice. Doors have large gaps under them so disruption from even "inside voices" was horrendous! God forbid someone in a room at the end of the hall came in late -- the slamming of all doors (you physically cannot close them quietly) would wake you from a sound sleep! The absolute worst part about this entire stay was the hotel ventillation system -- or lack thereof! The hotel is listed as non-smoking and states that they will charge you $150 if you smoke in the room. However, we were constantly choking from cigarette smoke coming in through the bathroom vent from the room next door. While on the 23rd floor, we were awoken every day around 5 a.m. to the smell of bacon and pancake syrup. While some find that pleasant, it was a bit early to wake up when on vacation. This morning, at approximately 4 a.m., a "trash fire" was reported. The fire department showed up. At 4:30, the smell of exhaust fumes from the trucks below were so bad, we got dressed and went for a walk-just to be able to breathe again!!! There are many hotels in this area -- don't let the Doubletree Philadelphia fool you -- stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear PattiMerritt,
I apologize for your many issue you experienced during your recent stay at the Doubletree Philadelphia. Being a prime Center City Hotel located on Broad St. on New Yers Eve although mostly a positive for our guests can at times present a few challenges.

New Years Eve with the Mummers, many events and weddings at the hotel is exciting; however does brign us hundreds of guests. I understand it can get loud and noisey due to the nature of the night.

I apologize you had an unpleasant experience. Please contact me directly at bill.fitzgerald@hilton.com to see how we can make this right for you.

Regards,

Bill Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing