We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell Jct, NY
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We always stay at the double tree when visiting my brother in philly because his college is right in the same area as the hotel. We vistied during easter weekend, it was busy then. When we checked in it was late but the front desk was welcoming and we got our free warm cookies as usual. We had gone up to our room on the 21st floor and it was a nice room. It was one of the rooms they renvoated, there in the process of redoing the rooms not all are done yet. It was a small room but it was nice and clean and have very comfortable but no room for a cot because there was 5 people staying in the room. Which when we made the reservacation they knew 5 people where going to be staying in the room and they had it in the computer that we needed a cot. So we called the front desk and told them, thankfully we were able to move to another room, they had told us they where ajoing rooms but it turned out it wasn't one room was near the elevator and our room was on the other side. The night manager didnt read the map right of the hotel. So we stayed in the room the one night and then the next day after breakfest we moved to another room that was an ajoing room which was nice. We luckly didnt get charged for the two extra rooms because the manager during the day said it was there mistake. Which was nice of them to do. We enjoyed the rest of our stay at the hotel, the staff was great with helping with anything we needed. The restraunt standing o is really good place to eat, there food is good. They also have another restraunt called acadmey cafe which is open for breakfest lunch and dinner but standing o is open till 1am. They also have an indoor pool, jucuzzi, raquetball courts, tanning bed and work out facility. If you want to play raquetball you can ask the front desk to rent rackets and they are free of charge to you. They have so many ameanties to help you with your stay even if u forogot something they have a list of what they can provide for you. This hotel is worth staying at and i will be staying her for time to come. I would come back here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Supachic311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    1,302
    562
    220
    97
See reviews for
831
835
244
936
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree for a night because of a wedding that we were attending nearby. It was not the hotel that the bride and groom chose for their guests but we got a great deal through priceline that was hard to pass up.

The hotel really is in the middle of all the action in Philly. It is walking distance (across the street) to some theaters and surrounded by some great restaurants and local eateries. We decided to try to check in before the wedding ceremony (at 1pm) eventhough we knew that the rooms probably wouldn't be ready yet. We arrived at the hotel at noon and the staff found a room on the 9th floor for us! Ofcourse their signature warm chocolate chip cookies were another huge plus. The concierge also were happy to give us directions to the church where the wedding was to be held.

The room is very traditional- not huge but definately more than enough room for two people. The windows for most of the rooms are very large with nice views of downtown. But best of all the beds are luxurious and comfy. I did not find the room to be dirty in any way but the decor may need some updating.

The only problem we had during our stay was the parking garage. It was rather narrow and had a very strange and confusing floorplan. (We walked around for 15 min trying to find or car) They also charge $18 to park in the garage- which I think it typical for Philly.

We were very happy with our stay at the doubletree and wouldn't mind going back. We do prefer our previous stays at the Westin and Sofitel better but for the price- Doubletree was the best deal.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank boochi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Stayed in room 2118 over weekend -and came home sick! VISIBLY dirty bathroom light switches, unwashed dirty closet door facade -why did I not realize that meant general lack of cleanliness? Now on my 8th day of Bronchitis, I can only imagine what germs were on their telephones, TV remote, door handles, etc.

  • Liked — helpful doorman
  • Disliked — careless front desk service and lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiL.A.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

I travel to Philadelphia frequently on business and pleasure, so I have stayed in many of the hotels there. Usually it is pretty good value and I am well satisfied.

Last weekend, I stayed at the Doubletree and was very nicely impressed. I certainly would seek out the Doubletree again, and would even pay extra.

There were many little "extras" that I thought were very nice.

Location. You can't beat the location. Right on Broad Street about 2 blocks from city hall, in the middle of all the nightlife. Yet, very quiet and restful.

Lobby. An impressive lobby which is a bit different than most.

Front Staff. Very personable, helpful, friendly, professional.

Cookies. They provide warm, fresh, chocolate chip cookies to each person checking in. What a nice touch! Did I mention that they were delicious.

Elevators. I stayed right next to the elevators, which I hate, because you constantly hear the elevator signal and the doors. The Doubletree had thoughtfully toned down the elevator signal so that it was very slight, and the doors were just about silent. I could not hear a thing from the elevator and I was right in the room next door. Oh, and the elevators were high speed, so no waiting ten minutes for the elevator.

Room. The room was very good size, and the bathroom was rather impressive. The bed was comfortable. Everything was organized, and it wasn't your usual "cookie cutter" room. The linens and pillows were impressive, and it was nicely finished off with a extra pillow that wonderfully said "Sweet Dreams."

Like I said, I will be back to the Doubletree Philadelphia again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank saint82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This hotel was niceley maintained. The room was beautiful with some of the best views of Philadelphia available.
It is located in the theater district and one block away form the subway, making all of Philadelphia available to us.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank PMcGloneLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

I just returned home from a visit to Philadelphia and we stayed at the Doubletree hotel. We were part of a large group and stayed two nights at this hotel. We arrived rather late in the evening after several flight delays. We were welcomed by the valet and checked in with courtesy at the front desk. Each of us received a room on the higher floors. The room was very clean and I found it to be very comfortable.

The hotel is centrally located in town and easy access to many local attractions and great restaurants. The housekeeping staff was very professional and every employee was quite friendly and helpful to our entire group. Many of the staff actually remembered my name and greeting me personally.

As a Hilton Diamond member I was provided with a breakfast coupon. I ate at the restaurant on the second floor and found the staff to be very nice and the food to be very good.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at this property and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank luvtravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

The stay was wonderful,the 05 rooms do have the best views of Broad St the city,and the staff were the best help.They treated me like I was someone,which in this day of travel is a more than welcome expetience in itself.I9 stay at the Doubletree at least 4 or 5 times a year.It feels like a home away from home for me,as a matter of fact,I had spine surgery this past summer(a decompression of # 5,as well as a fusion of 4 / 5)for those of you are old enough,or unfortunate enough to understand) and chose the Doubletree as my re-hab hotel.The staff were unbelieveable in my getting back on the road to being my old self,And I mean from the housekeeping staff all the way to the front bellman.So as far as I am concerned,there is no other place for me to stay in Philly,and coming from a person who has stayed in alot of finer hotels,this one hits a home run for me !!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank toms901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
972 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,306 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing