We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently remodeled & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia on a family vacation. The hotel has recently been remodeled and the rooms are stylish and seem brand new. The workout facilities and indoor pool are very nice. Our room 2603 was a king with a sofabed on the top floor. Since we were on the corner, we had an extra window. The view was SPECTACULAR! There was plenty of space for the three of us. TV reception on the flat panel was not great - definitely not HD.

Located on the Avenue of the Arts, the hotel is 3 blocks from City Hall and a few steps from multiple theaters including the Kennedy Center. Several restaurants and shopping are in the same area - Reading Market and Macy's were our favorites. The Historic District with the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall is also within walking distance about 7 blocks away. The local tour bus stop is directly across the street from the hotel (which is nice for a guided tour, but the Phlash is a better value for the money). Breakfast on the Executive Floor was good with all the basic continental fare plus hot egg englsh muffin options.

Compared with other hotel rates in the same area, the price is a good value. However, self parking is $22 per day and wired internet is $10 per day.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnxTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,385)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,947 - 2,953 of 3,385 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

Stayed for one night while attending a concert. The hotel was perfect. Very clean. Rooms were a good size w/ a flat screen TV, comfortable beds, coffee maker & hair dryer. Our room had a great view of the city. We heard no noise from other rooms or from the street unless a fire truck or ambulance went by, but no other street noise. Hotel had a pool, restaurant, etc but we didn't use those so I can't comment on them. Close to very good places to eat & places for night life. Across the street from the Academy of Music and Merriam Theater. Broad St Line subway directly out the door and down the steps. There is a self parking gardage adjacent to the hotel or you can have the valet park for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The location is absolutely perfect - easy access to the garage, a ton of restaurants, clubs, and directly across from the Academy of Music and Merriam Theater. The room was very clean, and the staff were a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgower2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Both my room and the room my friends got were awesome. Clean, spacious well appointed. GREAT LOCATION! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerobicsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. We had a corner unit on the 10th floor that overlooked Broad Street. The view was amazing and the nicely furnished room fit the bill. The bathroom set was nice and everything seemed to be in order. The hotel pool are was ok and the hot was extremely HOT!!!! I’d suggest a bar on the outside terrace. Overall I would definitely stay at the downtown Doubletree and suggest it to anyway planning to stay in downtown Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deonmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

One of the drinking glasses in my room still had the remnants of a dark colored beverage in it- obviously used, but sitting next to the ice bucket with the paper lid on it like it was clean.
Street noise is a bit of a problem if you're a light sleeper.
Upon checkout, there were several charges for movies that I did not incur, and the front desk staff happily removed those. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful.
As a buisness traveler, I would have expected free high speed internet in the rooms, not just free wireless in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights in June. It is not close to museums but is close to shopping and theaters. I found the noise from the street incompatible with sleep. We were on the 15th floor. I think they could use some noise reduction windows. I found the staff not overly helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmagne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $114 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing