We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
West NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2005

My wife and I spend a weekend in Philly with another couple the nights of 3/18 and 3/19. The other couple booked the rooms on the internet for $104.00 per night. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that parking at the garage next door was included. We parked the car on Friday and did not use the car until we were leaving on Sunday. The hotel is in a nice area and is centrally located. We were able to walk to South Street, Italian Market, Fabric Row and the Historic Area. I cannot comment on the food because I avoid eating in hotels when there are plenty of places within walking distance. We had rooms on the 21st floor with excellent views overlooking Broad Street. Our tub did not drain after our showers on Saturday, but a service guy showed up 5 minutes after a call to the front desk to correct the problem. I found the hotel to be very clean and the staff warm. I would give the Doubletree and excellent rating but the water in the shower was only tepid on Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    1,242
    512
    208
    90
See reviews for
770
767
230
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Doubletree from Friday to Sunday, March 11th to 13th and we had a great time exploring Philly and also at the hotel! I was worried that we would have a hard time at check in because our flight was delayed and we showed up at the hotel at 11:30 pm, but the desk was friendly and we went up to our room on the 16th floor. We were dubious at first because our room was the one right beside the 4 elevators, but there was minimal noise and we slept well the two nights. The view was very nice and the room was neat and had all the usual hotel amenitites.

Service at the hotel bar was a little long on a Friday night, but the weekend breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant, the Academy Café, was excellent. The pool is slightly small but still enjoyable, the air-jet spa and steam room was also very clean. Didn't use the exercise room but they seemed to be very well equipped with all kinds of weight, running, biking, rowing machines.

Location of the hotel was great. Walking distance to the Phlash stops, taxis passed by the hotel all the time, and near the subway also. Taxiing around the sights from the hotel would cost between $ 5 to $ 9. No hassles with the payment at the desk, friendly bellhops and handy luggage hold option for guests with later flights.

Finally, the event that made me rate this top service, when we arrived late on Friday night and checked in, we did not receive our two complimentary chocolate chip cookies which we had heard so much about. So we were disappointed about that but didn't press the point then because we were both tired from the flight. However, when checking out on Sunday we spoke with Tracy at the desk who was very nice and mentioned that they didn't have any there that morning but to go to the hotel restaurant and ask them to give us some. She also gave us each two coupons redeemable for cookies at any Doubletree hotel for future use (which would have been worthless to us because there are no Doubletrees in eastern Canada). We got the cookies from the restaurant upstairs, a little hard but very good, and went out to enjoy the St-Paddy's Day parade and the city. When we came back later in the afternoon to pick up our luggage for our flight out, we decided to try our luck and redeemed the cookie coupons at the desk and received four more warm cookies! That made our day.

I would recommend the Doubletree for the cost-concious traveller who wants to enjoy the sights of Philly, by foot, bus, subway, or taxi. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k_buddy_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2005

When my boyfriend and I stayed the weekend at the Doubletree in late February, we were pleasantly surprised by the service. First, I would suggest joining the free rewards program on the Hilton website before booking. I believe it makes all difference in the hotel's customer service and all it costs is five minutes. The rate was a reasonable $104.00 a night for a queen room. We were checked in by an efficient and very courteous employee. (We saw her checking in other guests later in the weekend and she was still very sweet. Which I think is rare in Philadelphia.)
Our queen room was quite large with a couch and two chairs. We were placed on a high floor (a request I made on the Hilton reward site) and it had two different and wonderful views of the city. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate.
The only minus was that the hotel's complimentary wireless internet did not work in our room. We called the hotline and were told someone would have to come up and check it out. Rather than disturb our privacy we just dialed up -- and were not charged for the local call. Also, there was no mini-bar. (Which I guess is a good thing b/c do I really need to spend $5 for a can of coke?)
Overall, we both agreed that it was a great stay. We've already booked again for next month. Here's hoping they're consistent!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

We just came back from a 2 night stay for New Years Eve and New Years Day with a view of Broad Street and the Mummers Parade! The view from the room was spectacular. The staff was very nice, not one nasty person the whole two days. And this was a time of stress for the staff, since they had to keep the public out during New Years day since it was only open to the guests. I know our group was breaking a few rules, but everyone just sort of turned their heads in the spirit of the holiday and let everyone enjoy themselves. Rooms were clean, prompt maid service. We had dinner on New Years Eve in the Academy Cafe right in the hotel and it was great, no huge crowds and we really got to take our time. Location is prime. You can walk everywhere. I can't wait to go back for the same two days next year!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

my husband and i stayed 2 nights at the hotel while in town for an eagles game. it was new years eve when we checked in and the hotel was pretty busy but we got checked in very quickly and got to our room. in the lobby there was a live jazz band playing and a huge beautiful christmas tree. when we got to our room we were very pleased with the gorgeous view of the city. (we were on the 23rd floor). the staff was very attentive and polite. the room was very clean. the only complaints i have are small ones. the elevators are kind of slow.. but it was a very busy weekend. the mixed drinks in the hotel bar were not that good. and the food was just average for the price... ( kind of expensive). and we could not play a game of raquet ball because there were kids running around in the court and somebody checked the equipment out and never brought it back. none the less we had a wonderful time. the location is awesome and the hotel is beautiful. we will definatly stay again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2004

We had an awful experience here. The front desk checked us in under a different person's name and then sent us to the wrong room. We got a call at about 9:00 in the evening when the real person showed up, yet I still had to make two trips to the front desk to make sure that I was not being charged for the other person's room--which had originally happened. The hotel is in disarray with dirty carpets and exposed wiring in the hallways. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I can say that after my initial email complaint to Doubletree, I was refunded one night's stay for my troubles, but all in all, I would not recommend this place again, partly due to the awful condition of the facility.

Helpful?
Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2004

Room was very nice, staff was very very freindly. Too bad there was a college student convention going on. The place was filled with loud noises all through the night. Doors slamming all over the place and walls were thin. I'd stay again but first I would check on whats going on there that weekend,

Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing