We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick In Bed Not Enough For Sheet And Pillow Case Change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sick In Bed Not Enough For Sheet And Pillow Case Change”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great design and atmosphere and the stay was great with one disturbing exception. I was sick on Saturday night and left a mess on the bed sheet and a pillow case. It was quie obvious. To my surprise on Sunday evening when I was pullling the covers back I noticed that the sheet and pillow case had not ben changed. I mentioned this to staff at the front desk and received a sincere apology. As late as it was, I had to sllep in it. I should receive some kind of discount for that night at least, don't you think? Loved the hotel and this is not what I normally experience at Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the four star review of your recent stay. We genuinely apologize that you were ill during your stay, and for any inconvenience you experienced with your bedding. We hope you feel better, and come back soon to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    1,302
    562
    220
    97
See reviews for
831
835
244
936
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The stay was fantastic from checking in to leaving at check out. The staff always had a smile on their faces, the accommodations were spectacular and the location couldn't be beat. We were right in the Atrs district and there were plenty of things to do. The public transportation system was so easy, we never took our car out of the garage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. We do have a very convenient location in the heart of downtown, and a subway stop just out the doors of the hotel to get to the Wells Fargo Center and other major attractions. Be sure to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree in downtown Philadelphia for the second time in 6 months and I wrote a review the last time, as we so enjoyed our stay. I am writing a confirmation that the great time we had in November wasn't a fluke….we had wonderful service (especially from the front desk clerk, Kim) and from the whole staff. Our room was spotless and the location for the hotel was perfect for seeing the sights of Philadelphia. It was right on the subway line and we could take our grandson to the baseball game and the sightseeing bus stopped at the hotel. Everyone was pleasant and I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We will be sure to pass your thanks along to Kim, and the rest of our staff. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a whole my experience at DoubleTree was permeated by a problem I encountered everyday the whole week I was there. My key did not work on a daily basis, and after going up to the 24th floor with all my heavy work bags everyday, my key would not work and I would need to go back downstairs with all my bags to get it fixed. The receptionists were not sympathetic but insisted it was my fault (because I had kept the key next to a phone or credit card). When they said this, I was offended. In fact, I kept my key in my coat pocket. Everyday, they would say the same thing to me (it's my fault for keeping it near magnetic things), and everyday I told them that the key was in my coat pocket not near anything magnetic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Hannah S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We apologize that you had difficulties with your room key during your stay and the desk staff gave you the impression that it was somehow your fault. They were going off the fact that the other two guests sharing your room did not have the same problem. None-the-less, they should have politely remedied the situation. Our Engineering Team did replaced the lock on that particular room as a future precaution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was a little surprised that the usual things, like in room reference to services, I expect in a 'by Hilton' hotel weren't all available. It was a clean, quiet and comfortable room. The bar/restaurant has an excellent selection of wine and the food was great. Parking is a little inconvenient as the pull off area to register is just past the parking lot on a one way street, so you have to drive around the block to get back to the garage after you've checked in. There isn't a direct entrance to the hotel from the garage, but it is next door and I (single female traveling alone) felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review, and sharing your comments on your recent stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience on our parking arrangement, as we are located right downtown with multi-lane streets. We do offer valet service as well as the ability to park your car right alongside the hotel in the garage while unpacking upon arrival. We hope this will add some convenience on your next trip to Philadelphia. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Doubletree City Center has an ideal Broad Street location and, as we were there for a sporting event out at Wells Fargo Arena, just a short walk to the Orange Line subway.

There were four of us staying in two separate rooms, and upon check-in the desk attendant was nice enough to put us in adjoining rooms with a shared doorway. Our two rooms had large corner windows which made the rooms bright and pleasant. Rooms seemed quiet, even when bothered by typical hallway noise.

Some quibbles.... Like most "high-end" hotels you have to pay for Wi-Fi service. We opted not to, as it's free in the lobby. Ice machines are not on every floor. Ice is on even numbered floors, vending on odd numbered floors. We often encountered guests wondering where ice machines were located.

Still, we were happy with our stay overall.

Room Tip: Check and see where the ice machines are located. We noticed, for example, that rooms 801 and 802 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Philadelphia's Doubletree by Hilton is generally excellent value. The location couldn't be more central, and the staff are extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. The minor quibble I had was the lack of a bar fridge in my room. Otherwise, everything was superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Ross-
Thank you for the great comments regarding your recent stay. We apologize that there was no refrigerator in your room. On your next visit, with a quick call to the front desk or housekeeping, we can address this issue. We hope this does not hinder your decision to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
972 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,306 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing