We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another snow storm in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Yet another snow storm in Philadelphia”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. The receptionist listened to our request for a corner room on a high floor. She took extra care to make sure we were happy with the room. Once in the room, we found we were looking up Broad Street with a view of City Hall. It was exactly what we wanted. The snow storm must have been extremely inconvenient for staff, yet there was no sign of it. We encountered only friendly, helpful, efficient people from the front desk, the housekeepers and the concierge. We plan to come back soon, in milder weather. We found a lovely jazz club open on Sunday night at 1315 Samson street in a building named Time. (yes there were clocks everywere) It was just aroung the corner from the Hotel. We highly recommend this establishment if you are a afficianando of jazz. The food there was diverse enough for vegetarians and meat eaters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 116lindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful remarks regarding your recent stay. We apologize for the poor weather, and hope you can enjoy Philadelphia with some sunshine on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,291
    553
    218
    97
See reviews for
815
824
243
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, NM, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This may seem minor but on the 21st Floor, my hot water for a shower only lasted 5 minutes. There should be a close hook placed somewhete in the room. Other improvements would be a small refrigerator and microwave. I think these items would be cost effective and please many. That's it! Good stay... HD

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the honest review of your recent stay. Thank you for your suggestions and feedback, as hearing from our guests is the best way that we can improve our service. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

With traveling a lot for business, I expected more from that DT. Upon check in, there was no water available after a long trip. 5 hours later someone came to the room with water, after I walked to the store to buy a few bottles. The room was simply standard, the bathroom faucet in the tub leaked more than what came out of the shower head. The roof in the bathroom showed black mould. I was there for an extended period, and stayed at the Embassy Suites on a prior visit, but wanted a better location. I would not go back to the DT in Philly, and would go back to ES, and walk a little ways to get to where I want to go.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CGodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear CGodin,
Thank you for your comments and alerting us to the condition of your room. We have dispatched our engineering team to that room to make the necessary corrections and repairs. We apologize that that particular room was not up to our otherwise high standards. We hope that you will give us another chance on a future visit and invite you to contact our Director of Front Office sat 215-893-1653 when making a reservation so he can assist you with the selection of your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at property for years. This trip witnessed many service cuts. They may save property money but diminish guest experience. From big things like closing the main restaurant, The Balcony, except breakfast to medium things like eliminating omelet station at breakfast (omelets still available if you know to ask and willing to wait) and insufficient server levels. Small things like no replacement of bathroom items during your stay. Limited hours for exec lounge and no dedicated checkin for HHonors guests.

Property in good location with nice rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. If they bring up service levels again, I would raise my rating back up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Frequent001,
Thank you for the comments. We apologize that you were not satisfied with this visit as compared to your past stays. While we have closed our Balcony Restaurant for dinner, we have not made any other cuts to our service, either in our guestrooms or in our restaurant. Our Executive lounge hours and service’s have actually expanded since last year. Again, our apologies that we did not measure to your expectations and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 1 night to attend the George Strait concert. Overall great experience. Check in - check out was a breeze. We dropped off our luggage and headed out for a bite to eat and adult beverages. Hotel was centrally located for what we wanted to do. Less than 10 min cab ride from the 30th St station. Quick train ride to the concert. Room was nice with a great view of the city, bar was great, bed was so comfortable, gym had new equipment. Great place to stay and we will be back for a warm weather adventure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in Philadelphia and the concert at the Wells Fargo Center. We are very centrally located, and as you mentioned are easily accessible to the train station. We look forward to having you join us in warmer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good quick Check-in. Pointed me to good food for take out to room. Identified al amenities as appropriate. Curb to Check-in was 2.5 minutes. Check-out to cab at 7:30 AM was 2.5 minutes. Price point a little high but reasonable for the product.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay. We strive to provide efficient, quality service to all of our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you on your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Major elevator problems right now. If you need to get somewhere in a hurry, don't use this hotel, or stay on a low floor. asf;lkjaslkdfjjfalskjgd;lkajgslkdjglkajgdlksjgakljg;sdlkgjal;ksjgdlkajg;ldkajgldskjglakjgalds;kjglkasjdglkdsjg

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Tracy W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay. Your arrival/departure dates coincided with our annual State of Pennsylvania elevator inspection/certification which unfortunately caused a delay to some guests, depending on the time of day they were entering or exiting the hotel. We apologize that you were subjected to these delays as we try to schedule these mandatory inspections around our guests schedules. The good news is that we passed our inspection and there will be no further reasons to take our elevators out of service. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,149 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing