We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12/13 Check to make sure elevators are all working before booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“12/13 Check to make sure elevators are all working before booking”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our room was perfect - clean, spacious, and including the great view overlooking Avenue of the Arts. However, 2 of the elevators were being serviced. Luckily, we were on the 6th floor, so we would walk down instead of waiting the 10+ minutes or riding to the top to then come down. My advice is stay on a lower floor, see if your room will be discounted because of the inconvenience, or, if you'll be visiting your room lots, look elsewhere until the repairs are completed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us regarding your recent stay. Our elevators were being serviced at the time of your stay, and we understand and apologize for the inconvenience. They are being serviced to improve speed and efficiency so we hope that you will stay with us again to see the improvements completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,290
    553
    218
    97
See reviews for
814
824
243
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Wildwood, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed overnight and was very pleased with the facility. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is centrally located in Center City Philadelphia and we had easy access to everything. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Lynn-
Thank you so much for the excellent remarks about our property. We strive to offer the best service and location to our guests and we are happy to hear you experienced this. We hope to see you again soon. Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice and is situated right in the heart of the city. Stay here and walk easily and safely to restaurants, shops and theatres. The room was very spacious and clean. Asked for extra bedding and it was delivered with no problems. Only knock is that it is time to offer free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Our location in the heart of downtown is great for shops, restaurants, and the theater just as you said! We are happy to hear that our staff was attentive and timely in bringing extra linens as well as we would expect nothing less of our great team. We do offer Wi-Fi free to our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members as of right now, and we will pass along your suggestion for change in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Highly disappointed with this DoubleTree hotel. One of the highlights of staying at DoubleTree is the warm cookie they provide you when you enter. The cookie they gave me might have been warm at some point, but it was rock hard by the time I got it. In addition, there were items in the room that were broken and the cleaning staff could use better protocols as my room was missing numerous toiletries. Lastly, the front desk is extremely biased towards delivery people. I saw numerous Caucasian delivery people pass through with no problem, but when an ethnic delivery person tried to do so, the front desk was EXTREMELY rude. I find this unacceptable and refuse to do any future business with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Eric L,
Thank you for the comments. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We bake our famous Doubletree Chocolate Chip Cookies daily and are surprised you found them to your disliking.
We don’t comment on the specifics of our security procedures and policies in a public forum, but we do exclude/ban delivery people from our hotel who abuse and take advantage our system, regardless of race or ethnicity. You stayed at our hotel for one day, delivery people are in our hotel 365 days a year. We certainly can understand how without the benefit of having a complete understanding of what is taking place that you could come to your misguided conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First - I have a pet peeve with hotels that don't provide free Wifi. That's always points off in my book. Secondly - if you go there when they are busy then get ready to do some stair climbing. Four elevators and you'll be waiting FOREVER!. Once, from the lobby, I said to hell with it and took 19 floors of stairs and still beat my wife and daughter to the room by 4 minutes.
The room was good. The location is great (subway, restaurants nearby).

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fl_vtxfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear fl_vtxfreak,
Thank you for the comments. We apologize that you were inconvenienced by the elevators. We in fact had one of our elevators under repair during your stay and it did cause delays. We appreciate your patience and hope that you give us another try during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Hotel is in a really great location, just down the street from City Hall and some really good sights.

The rooms are not very quiet, we could hear every word our neighbors were saying and maid banging around when we were trying to sleep.

The Rooms were clean and average for a Hilton even though I prefer SPG to Hilton anyday.

The Lobby bars food is pretty bad, drinks are overpriced $21 for a double Jameson.

I suggest if staying here and want a drink or a quick bite head across the street to Perch Pub

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardGilliland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as it is one of the only ways we can improve our service tailored to our guests' needs. We apologize for the noise you experienced. There are excellent dining options all within walking distance of our hotel which are great for a night out if that is what you would prefer. We hope you will choose to stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Always a great weekend stay for annual Army-Navy football game. Only downside was we had a corner room with queen bed that turned out to be a murphy bed. VERY uncomfortable. We've been staying here for years and never had a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest and coming back year and year again for the Army/Navy Weekend in Philly. We apologize for your experience not being up to par this year, and would be happy to make a note in your guest profile to not be in a room with a Murphy Bed for your next stay. Please call for the front desk at 215-893-1600. We hope this experience will not hinder you from your decision to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,149 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing