We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed here on business. Very beautiful, modern hotel right on south broad street. Staff was exceedingly friendly and had warm cookies upon arrival.. Rooms were quiet, clean, large. Internet was 10.95 a day, but honors members can get free. I have zero clue of the cost of saying at this hotel, but it was exceedingly excellent. I had breakfast at the restaruant on the second floor, the buffet for 15 bucks kind of pricey, but the food was halfway decent.

  • Liked — very modern and beautiful
  • Disliked — it's probably exspensive.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank musicmerchkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,279
    545
    214
    95
See reviews for
804
815
242
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

For the life of me, I don't understand why this isn't a better hotel, except for classic apathy. It's not bad. But from the strong smell of mildew coming from the shower curtain, to the one of four elevator banks working during morning rush hour, to the gift shop not giving me change so I could tip a bellman, this is just the classic example of the non-customer focused hotel.

If it were customer focused, it could be great and make a lot more money. It's location in the arts district is supreme and views out of my room anyway can be superb.

Instead, when I walk into an empty restaurant for breakfast, I'm led to a tiny two top directly next to the bus boy's station with clattering plates and cups. Yes, it's one of THOSE kind of hotels.

Not awful. But not worth $200 a night. It just limps along, not really hustling to do above average. Whatever. Good enough. That's the motto of this coulda been a contender hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I reserved a few rooms in June for a group going to a wedding. The hotel is lovely (I especially liked the pool and roof deck), the rooms were nice enough (although try to get one off the avenue side), and the air conditioning was great (it was a really hot weekend), and the people that worked there were helpful, but even with all that I'm honestly not sure I'd stay at a Doubletree again if I can help it. They messed up every single reservation I made, double charged me and the guests I reserved rooms for, wouldn't let them check in without my credit card even though I had arranged for them each to check themselves in and had reserved their rooms in their names. It must be their computer system because I got great service when I made the reservations and the people at the hotel were nice, too, but dealing with the reservations and the bills was a nightmare and not worth it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

My husband and I live in the suburbs and we got married at City Hall in March 2005, then spent the night at the Doubletree in a Junior Suite. He used points from his Hilton membership, which could explain the excellent service we received. Unfortunately, I believe the reviews that cite unhelpful/rude service staff, only because there seems to be a lot of that in the Philadelphia area. The majority are sincerely helpful though. We received excellent service, from the champagne and strawberries that were waiting in our room to the fantastic breakfast buffet. We love the view of Broad Street - and yes, you will hear some street noise, but we are city folk and don't mind. We swam in the pool and the jaccuzzi, although the children that were there made it less than romantic.
We have celebrated our anniversary there as well. The beds are sooooo comfortable! You just sink into them. We will go again as often as we can afford the Junior Suite.

  • Liked — The location and the view.
  • Disliked — The children in the jacuzzi area.
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GMS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here from 5/31 to 6/7 and it was our first time in Philadelphia (we are from California) and our first visit to a Doubletree Hotel. We checked in around 10:30pm and the front desk clerk was not very friendly or informative. He did not give us any information on the Executive Club Level amenties or even bother to offer any information on the hotel, the area, etc...

We got into the room (2617) and there was a VERY strong smell of urine in the bathroom. I could not figure out where it was coming from and we were so tired after flying all day, we decided to wait until the morning to deal with it. The room was fine, nothing over the top, pretty basic and a litle "worn". We slept pretty well that night, the bedding was incredibly comfortable!

The next morning I figured out the smell of urine was coming from the shower curtain. It's a very small bathroom and the toilet is right next to the bath/shower with a cloth shower curtain. I called the Careline to report it and also filled out a form that was in the room. We left for the day and when we got back it had been taken care of.

Our room faced Broad and Locust streets and the street noise in the room was quite loud. It sounded like a window was open but it was not as we were on the 26th floor, the highest floor.

The next day I asked someone at the front desk about the Executive Club Floor perks and he handed me a paper that had all the days/times for the breakfast and evening appetizers. We took advantage of this about 3 days of the 7 days we were there and it was very nice. I'm not sure why this information wasn't offered to us at check in??

Some of the people that work at the hotel are very friendly (the bell staff and the girl tht worked in the Executive Lounge), but quite a few were not and when I asked a simple question, I was given a "curt" answer, like I was bothering them.

Based on our overall experience here, I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to a friend. We were paying Doubletree rates and getting low priced motel service!

  • Liked — The bedding
  • Disliked — Service and noise level
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

I travelled to Philadelphia in April 2008 for a professional conference which was held at the Marriot Downtown, but decided to stay at the Doubletree instead as I am a Hilton Rewards member. The location was excellent within easy access to the convention center (10-15 min walk), attractions, shops, and restaurants. I travelled to Philadelphia from Boston by train (very easy and convenient) and public transportation by subway to the hotel was easy. I felt very safe in the area around the hotel despite some preconceived notions about the traveller safety of Philadelphia. The hotel room was very nice with an excellent view of the city. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable after a long day. The hotel gym was well appointed with treadmills and ellipticals with personal tv units. I didn't use the indoor pool or spa though the guests that I observed that did seemed to enjoy them. My only concerns were that for the price of $200+ per night, a free continental breakfast and high-speed internet ($10 per day) should be included in the price. Also, I did have breakfast at the hotel one morning and the buffet was not very appetizing. The food choices were fair, but the food was bland. I'd skip the breakfast at the hotel or just have the cereal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet not free and breakfast not good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bchotpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Haven't stayed there yet but booked for 5/13-16/08. Found out my business meeting changed. Called on 5/6/08 to try to rebook for 5/14-16/08. Was told that because it was graduation weekend I had to stay 3 nights or cancel completely. Contacted customer service and they were unable to help. Wrote to customer correspondence at Hilton on 5/6/08 and no response. All this and I'm a Hilton Gold Card carrier. Beware business travelers. If your plans change: Hilton is unresponsive. You may want to investigate other hotels before you book here.

Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank toughbroadfrombklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,331 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing