We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were there for a quick overnight and sightseeing. The staff outside the front door was extremely helpful in getting us into the parking lot! Our large corner room with parking was a good deal for this city and even though street-side it was quiet enough for easy sleeping. Though not in the heart of the tourist areas it was close enough to everything for walking and the hop-on-hop-off bus stop was nearby if you wanted to see more of the city. We didn't do the over-priced breakfast but found places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMarieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are happy to be able to provide all of our guests with corner rooms, a great downtown atmosphere, and a friendly and knowledgeable staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 3,452 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room was not well cleaned; pricey buffet breakfast- food was well-warmed and no pancakes/waffles...nothing special for the price, some buffet plates dirty with old food stuck to edges; Internet access a bit over-priced $10 daily and have to repeatedly log in to access; front desk staff was friendly and helpful; location is great- close to everything downtown (very close to subway). (FYI- $28.50 flat fee taxi to airport, each way); I would suggest that someone looking for a Philly hotel should try other options first...there are probably better hotels for the same price; but, this would work out okay, if cleanliness issues were addressed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Michael F.,
Thank you for the candid feedback. We appreciate your letting us know about your stay. We have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping and Restaurant managers so that they can address and resolve those issues for our future guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were given tickets to the symphony and booked this last minute. Very satisfied with the facility. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable (and the cookies were to die for). Great location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Clara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are happy you chose our hotel on your trip to Philadelphia to see the symphony and had an exceptional stay. Thank you for the great review! We hope you enjoyed the symphony and we will have more cookies waiting for you on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

positive: Love the location of the hotel. Everything is walking distance. The staffs are very friendly, does not smell, and clean overall. great view from the room. Could see City hall. Negatives: However had bed experience with amenities. Charge $10 for refrigerator, gym machines are broken, not enough weights, room curtain fallen apart, ice machine not working in my floor had to go two floors down for ice, sauna was not on, coffee maker was liking. Could hear the shower on from next room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great beds and pillows
Great water pressure and temperature
Great bathroom lighting, and a makeup mirror is provided
Great staff
Great fitness center hours - 24/7, and the equipment has built in TVs
The free breakfast had a nice selection
I got free parking with a validated ticket and they let me keep the car in the garage for several hours after I checked out.
The coffee maker didn't work, but it was replaced the next day.
I had issues with staying connected to the internet

Room Tip: Rooms ending in11-16 are too close to the elevator. I was in a room ending in 17 and I like that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you sharing your great experience with others. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Philadelphia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The DoubleTree was initially not my first choice, based on location for where I needed to be, but I will be staying here for all future downtown Philly stays. I was really wowed by the allergen-free room; I did not realize what a difference that could make. I knew I had some indoor allergies, but the allergen-free room really brought it home for me. I usually will have a stuffy nose and sometimes be just generally miserable after a night in a hotel. Not this time. Slept like a baby and did not have to use decongestant spray once. And, it was really quiet, despite my room having 2 (yes TWO) connecting room doors with a guest in each room. Of course, the professionalism and kindness of the staff were also a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review Angela. Our PureRooms, which have improved air quality and reduced allergens really are a great solution to frequent travelers. They insure a healthy, relaxing, and enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Located beautifully across from the Academy of Music and other venues located on the Avenue of the Arts, this hotel is adequate. Aside from the warm and delicious chocolate chip cookies, there are no free frills! Pay for internet access and expect very little in the way of bath ameneties. Lighting was okay, better than many other hotels only there was no central switch to control the room lights. One has to go to each lamp to activate. No real problem to do that, except when you come into a pitch black room and are trying to grope for non-existent wall switches and hard to see lamps, this design becomes a safety issue. The Hilton Honors Blue Card level does not provide any perks...one must up-grade for those. Nonetheless, I had a quiet and comfortable night and the location is superb!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of our property. We do have an excellent location in downtown Philadelphia, and strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will bring the issue of the convenience of light switches to our engineering department, as it is important to us to constantly find ways to improve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable and quiet stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,318 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $112 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing