We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited this hotel two times for business training. The first time I felt the room price was a little high for what you got (over$300) but my most recent visit was under $200 and felt that was a much better value. I have eaten breakfast and lunch in their mezzanine restaurant and the food is delicious. The rooms are nicely sized and well maintained. The staff is very accommodating and I would consider using this hotel for a family vacation as well as long as the rooms were a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are glad to hear that you may be bringing your family back on your next visit! We strive to give the best service at the best value. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,391 - 2,397 of 3,449 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is an old hotel. There were some upgrades made in the lobby, but it had not necessarily reached my room. The ceiling in the bathroom had visible rust and the wall was peeling. The television was old and had very limited channels. The room was drab and unappealing. I had to retrieve ice from the floor below. Keep upgrading it and maybe it would be worthy of another star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's been updated with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we continue to work to improve our guest experience. We are in the process of renovations as well as adding an additional suites and we hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is data, the paint was pealing off the ceiling of the bathroom. Noise was a problem in the hall, we were next to the ice machine that we could hear very clearly throughout the evening. Staff was friendly and food was good. The sauna didn't work. The hotel is right downtown so it's convenient to get to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We appreciate the fresh set of eyes and are currently working on plans to move the ice machines into a closet to reduce noise. We hope you join us again soon to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Location means a lot to people travelling andf this hotel is in a prime location. Close to theatres, restaurants and all that you will ever need. Will recommend to family and friends. The staff are all wonmderful and some that I talked to had been there for a number of years. It gave you that home away from home feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank BermudaCharming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are so glad you felt at home away from home at our hotel! Our staff is just the best and we love when our guests get to find that out for themselves! We look forward to seeing you and hopefully friends and family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

you can walk almost any where. Great location and a nice hotel. I am a well over 60 and felt very safe. The staff was very helpful and the price was great for a last minute trip. The room had a great corner window with a great view of the clock.

Room Tip: loved the corner room but next time no ice machine please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrolljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We strive to provide the best service and a safe environment for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We traveled to Philadelphia for a concert at Lincoln Financial field. I purposely chose this hotel as it appeared to be close to the subway line which goes straight to the stadium and that worked out perfectly..the steps right out the door lead to the subway to the field. That alone made this hotel worth it. The lobby is open and airy. On check in (right at 3pm), I was disappointed that we did not have connecting rooms as I had requested...instead our rooms were down the hall from each other. I got the feeling that the front desk clerk made no effort to find connecting rooms. We had purposely arrived early for check in to that end. Our room with two queen beds was nice and had a great view of the city. Our king bedroom was tiny. So tiny, I asked to be moved but the second room was no bigger (just at the other end of the hall) so I went back to the original. The bellhop said the rooms at the ends of the hall are smaller so be sure to request the larger king rooms. The hotel was clean and restaurant was adequate. I will try another hotel next time I head to Philadelphia but would't be opposed to staying here especially if headed to the fields.

Room Tip: do not stay on the ends of the hallway near the ice maker (floor 19 and maybe some other floors) mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize the rooms were not to your liking. We do have a great location to take the subway, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in town for a game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently visited Philadelphia after 28 years and loved this hotel. Close to all attractions, Independence Square, Liberty Bell, July 4th Celebrations, great restaurants, historical sites. Service on the front desk was excellent - friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Great little pub right around the corner! We had a room on the 18th floor- nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in Philadelphia. Hopefully it will be sooner than 28 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $112 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing